Customer Reviews


189 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An updated version of the model
There are a few different versions of this drive with slightly different geometries (a few more or a few less sectors) and different buffer memory.

This is the OEM version which is usually supplied in an anti-static sleeve and sold in bulk to computer builders. As such, it will not have the normal retail packaging, fixing screws or the information leaflet. You...
Published on 28 April 2012 by Andy_atGC

versus
202 of 221 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Slower than previous model. Poor UK warranty support
The drive I received is WD20EARX-00AZ6B0 manufactured in Sep 2011.

It is officially the replacement for the WD Green WD20EARS. Having owned several WD20EARS, I expected this drive to be similar or perhaps better. However the drive I received is massively slower than my existing WD20EARS. Average read speed is 84MB/s according to HD Tune, compared to 106MB/s on...
Published on 9 Nov 2011 by Snrub


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An updated version of the model, 28 April 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: WD Caviar Green 2TB SATA 6Gbps Power Saving Internal Hard Drive OEM (Personal Computers)
There are a few different versions of this drive with slightly different geometries (a few more or a few less sectors) and different buffer memory.

This is the OEM version which is usually supplied in an anti-static sleeve and sold in bulk to computer builders. As such, it will not have the normal retail packaging, fixing screws or the information leaflet. You can buy the screws in packs of about 100 quite cheaply or you may be able to beg a few from anyone who builds or repairs computers. Functionally, there is no other difference between OEM and retail versions. The OEM version tends to be slightly less expensive.

As it does not have the normal protection that the retail pack would normally provide and it has been known for some sellers to do rather stupid things when despatching OEM drives. If you should be a victim to one of these sellers, and purchased via Amazon, I would suggest that you return the drive for refund, purchase from a supplier with more understanding of the product and complain to Amazon!

The distinguishing feature of the Caviar Green series is that the motor speed is not constant. In normal use when writing or reading, it will operate at it maximum rotational speed but when inactive, the motor will slow. This will save a proportion of it its normal wattage. It does mean that the drive needs a moment to reach maximum speed from a lower one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


202 of 221 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Slower than previous model. Poor UK warranty support, 9 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar Green 2TB SATA 6Gbps Power Saving Internal Hard Drive OEM (Personal Computers)
The drive I received is WD20EARX-00AZ6B0 manufactured in Sep 2011.

It is officially the replacement for the WD Green WD20EARS. Having owned several WD20EARS, I expected this drive to be similar or perhaps better. However the drive I received is massively slower than my existing WD20EARS. Average read speed is 84MB/s according to HD Tune, compared to 106MB/s on my WD20EARS. 22MB/s, big difference!

I was also disappointed to note that it has 4x500GB platters. This is old technology, Western Digital introduced 667GB platters in late 2010. Why they would put these old components in a brand new drive with faster interface is baffling.

You should care about this because with 667GB per platter you only need 3 platters for a 2TB drive, hence they have less components and are more reliable. Also higher density platters generally have better sequential performance (assuming the rotational speed is the same). Finally, less spinning mass = less vibration and less power consumption.

*UPDATE 3/12/2012*

This drive has since died. It lasted a little over 1 year.

The warranty replacement service in the UK is very slow. It took over 3 weeks to receive a new hard-drive. The drive I received was a newer 3-platter version WD20EARX-00PASB0
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent again, 15 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar Green 2TB SATA 6Gbps Power Saving Internal Hard Drive OEM (Personal Computers)
This is the second drive I have bought as the first one works very good, data transfer is fast and since I use a H D D docking station so that it essentially act like an external hard drive.So saying that I would recommend it as an internal drive as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid performance, 14 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar Green 2TB SATA 6Gbps Power Saving Internal Hard Drive OEM (Personal Computers)
Purchased over 8 months ago and still performing well. Relatively silent and handles all the work i throw at it. Not using as a boot drive but as storage it works a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great backup device, 23 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. N. Coleman (SW England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar Green 2TB SATA 6Gbps Power Saving Internal Hard Drive OEM (Personal Computers)
I have just reviewed a USB 3.0 docking station with USB card reader and my review is in relation of this HDD with that utility. I have had for a couple of years now, an eSATA docking station so that I could use drives without the need for opening the PC case. It was OK but firmware issues meant I had to reboot the PC if I wanted to change the disk, hot swapping wouldn't work.

With the USB 3.0 one, this has changed and opened up horizons for out-of-caddy drives. Enough of the prequel. I already have one of these drives (WD20EAX, so very slightly different). This I use for backup of my home-studio which generates something up to 100GB of data per song (96kHz) where a single instrument in one track easily surpasses 200-300 MB. This data is precious and irreplaceable as you can imagine, so reliability is the word. The studio has the performance scratch disks so what I needed was efficient, dependability. These drives deliver that in abundance. Low power and on the USB 3.0 docker, backups churn away quietly at a respectable 100 MBpS which means I'm not waiting around forever. I have a couple now so take one off-site to ensure that if there is a fire or some other disaster, I have backups to a few days ago secure in another location.

I wouldn't use one of these for a scratch disk for video or audio work but they have a huge thumbs up for storage & retrieval. 10/10 WD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 100% failure rate!, 27 Sep 2012
By 
S. W. Garrington (Cardiff, Wales.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar Green 2TB SATA 6Gbps Power Saving Internal Hard Drive OEM (Personal Computers)
I bought 2 of these drives from Amazon in June 2012 and BOTH had failed by September! I have bought dozens of drives in my time and I have had drives fail before, but not this quickly and not 2 at a time. Looking online I find that I'm not the only one that this has happened to. They were being used purely as storage, my OS is on an SSD. Look elsewhere for your internal HDDs, you have been warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent PVR HDD, 19 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. K. Dobson (Thame, Oxon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar Green 2TB SATA 6Gbps Power Saving Internal Hard Drive OEM (Personal Computers)
I bought this to update my Sky HD hard drive. It has been in the Sky box for two weeks now, performing flawlessly.

I would recommend this for any PVR use.

Update - 24 Apr 12. As stated above, still performing flawlessly. The drive is very, very quiet in operation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE!! FAULTY in 5 DAYS!, 22 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar Green 2TB SATA 6Gbps Power Saving Internal Hard Drive OEM (Personal Computers)
I have bought 2 of these drives last week and they were intended for a backup solution using a Synology DS411 NAS Drive, working in parallel. The drives were delivered promptly (last Friday). The packaging was good . BUT as i decided to continue with the installation today (Monday), one of the drives was showing a S.M.A.R.T. failure! This is not acceptable!
The drive is hardly a few days old and I should have listened to the warnings of the previous reviewers!
Dealing with a replacement case now!! NO BACKUP for a few days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice item, but the packaging could have been better..., 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar Green 2TB SATA 6Gbps Power Saving Internal Hard Drive OEM (Personal Computers)
I would have given 5 stars for this if it were not for the fact that the packaging was nothing more than cardboard inside another cardboard box.

To be a little clearer, the HDD was wrapped in one smaller-than-A4 piece of bubble wrap, put in a cardboard box and then placed in another bigger box with a nest of brown paper put around the edge. Not the best for a hard drive to be shipped in.

As a result, I felt it necessary to run diagnostics on the drive to satisfy my concern that something could be wrong.

I'm not going to comment on the speed of the drive, as I am going to use this in a RAID 1 array for backup purposes.

Otherwise, the item itself is as described and shipping was quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great as a main drive, 10 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Caviar Green 2TB SATA 6Gbps Power Saving Internal Hard Drive OEM (Personal Computers)
These drives are low performers, and by all account here they don't compensate with reliability (as of writing 12.5% of Amazon reviewers reporting failed drives). This is different to actual failure rate, and according to behardware the overall return rate of this exact model is 2.31% and that's not bad (great is 1.80% for the Samsung SpinPoint F4 EcoGreen 2TB, disaster is 7.53% for the Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB SATA ).

However I'm not really happy with this purchase and it's destined for an external USB enclosure to store low-value data such as downloads.

If you Google out "wd green parking" you'll see they also have overly aggressive head parking resulting in LLC (Load/Unload Cycles) counts that can pass MTBF within just a few months.

There is a wdidle3 utility released by the manufacturer that can be used to reduce parking to a more reasonable 120secs (instead of the factory setting of just 8secs) but that's a right pain as it needs to be booted in DOS.

For the curious, here are the manufacturer return rate overall for hard drives:

- Samsung 1.23%
- Western 1.63%
- Seagate 1.89%
- Hitachi 3.95%

Do bear in mind that each manufacturer is still liable to produce a really bad model with nearly 10% return rates. You need to Google the exact model number (e.g. WD20EARX) in your research to avoid these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews