Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third book in the great Empire series - now it's the cavalry's turn!
With no time for us, or hero Marcus Aquila, to draw breath, the third instalment in Anthony Riches' superb Empire series pushes Centurion `Corvus' even further north, beyond Hadrian's Wall, in pursuit of lord Calgus, who has now committed more than one personal atrocity against the young, wronged Roman officer. Some we know about from the previous two books in the series...
Published on 29 Mar 2012 by Kate

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Riches fails for the first time...
The first two books by Mr. Riches concerning Centurion Corvus are of an un-typically high standard. It would be rude to name names, but Mr. Riches' first two books are richly superior to the books of other - much more famous - writers of historical fiction.

Characterisation was key in the first two books. Plot came second, providing a platform for the...
Published on 22 Mar 2012 by Ronald Boyd


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third book in the great Empire series - now it's the cavalry's turn!, 29 Mar 2012
By 
Kate (Oxford, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With no time for us, or hero Marcus Aquila, to draw breath, the third instalment in Anthony Riches' superb Empire series pushes Centurion `Corvus' even further north, beyond Hadrian's Wall, in pursuit of lord Calgus, who has now committed more than one personal atrocity against the young, wronged Roman officer. Some we know about from the previous two books in the series but the latest is a shocker and sets the pace for Fortress of Spears. However, too merciless even for the locals opposing Rome, Calgus is now a prisoner of the very tribes he sought to unite. They head north and the Second Tungrians, including Corvus, are on his trail. Their goal is the Fortress of Spears, the northern fort of Dinpaladyr, famous for its deadly defences.

Life is even more complicated for Marcus now, he is in love with Felicia, the soldiers' doctor. The possibility of future happiness tantalises Marcus but Rome and Commodus are getting nearer and are more determined than ever to uncover the identity of the supposed traitor Marcus Aquila. Two frumentarii - corn collectors or spies - are sent after Marcus, travelling relentlessly though this most dangerous of borders, accompanied by murderers and rapists. There is one clear way for the spies to distract Marcus from his determined quest for Calgus and that is to kidnap his love. But Marcus is not alone. He is surrounded and supported by a group of prefects, decurions, first spears and centurions that we have grown to care deeply for over the preceding two books. These feelings only intensify in Fortress of Spears.

Wounds of Honour: v. 1 (Empire) focused on the infantry, Arrows of Fury (Empire) has Syrian archers at its heart. In Fortress of Spears, it's the turn of the cavalry and, as with the previous two books, there is much to be enjoyed from Anthony Riches' descriptions of life in a different unit. This is particularly pleasing here, because Marcus is followed on to horseback by some of the larger than life figures that make this series especially enjoyable, notably Arminius and Martos, who have sworn to defend Marcus to the death despite a natural hatred of Rome.

I've said it before and I'll say it again until I'm blue in the face, Anthony Riches' military expertise makes every page both gripping and informative. As the series progresses, you're placed deeper and deeper within the dangerous, vibrant and remote world of the Roman border during the 2nd century AD. You also get a sense of the many different peoples, brought together from across the empire, who manned this border - apart from Rome and yet within its grasp. Marcus and his group of centurion friends are well known to us now and while, in some ways, this third books ends with some closure, their stories thankfully are set to continue in next year's fourth novel The Leopard Sword.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fortress of Spears!, 12 May 2011
By 
Je Salter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In the third book of the series, I think Anthony Riches has surpassed the previous books with the story and the first two were fantastic. The action comes thick, fast and quickly, as soon as you open the book and that's fast and there's little let up throughout in an intriguing story that gets better with each page. The bone crunching, blood letting and all out fury of ancient warfare is brought to life so vividly that you almost have to check yourself to make sure you haven't been splashed with blood or wounded whilst reading.

It isn't all smash and gore however, as Mr Riches combines those elements with a story that splits into different arcs where he introduces new characters, kills some off and has laugh out loud humour in certain things the characters say to each other or 'at each other'. Ultimately the story brings all tribal elements and Romans together for the final battle and a few issues that need to be dealt with at The Fortress of Spears.

Central to all this is Marcus Aquila, aka Centurion Corvus who has been taken refuge with the Tungrians after the murder of his father in Rome. As the Hyenas of the Praetorian Guard close in on Aquila and his allies on their mission to destroy him and those who have given him shelter, the book takes you way beyond Hadrian's Wall and deep into enemy territory where the hostile environment wears the soldiers down and those with Calgus are on home soil and work to eliminate those who are not indigenous to the region and some who are.

I won't spoil the story for those who want to read it with specific details but suffice to say, if you like a fascinating story that's authentic, action packed, full of humour, a torrid journey in a horrible environment and descriptive scenes that may make you wince, Fortress of Spears is a book for you as it was for me. Anthony Riches has without doubt ramped up every element in this book, buy it, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Right up there with the best..., 29 May 2011
By 
JPS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'll not paraphrase the praise that has been heaped on A. Riches for Fortress of Spears but will only make a few comments. First, it is relatively rare for the third installement in a series to be as good as the first two. For me at least, only Scarrow, Cornwell and Cameron have managed to do this. Second, one of the author's forte - which he almost overdoes at times - is his very realistic descriptions of the horrors of war. Somebody has compared him to the lamented Pressfield and there is something to it, although Gates of Fire - for me at least - is still a notch above. Nevertheless, it is superbly written but with a few cliches (the blue-eyed hero fighting gladiator-style with the two swords etc...), although these may be difficult to avoid. As another commentator mentioned, the frumentarii (a mix of secret service and imperial assassins) are depicted as having little choice than to carry out their orders and do their job. However, this is not entirely true since they also seem to take great pleasure in it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fortress of Spears, 29 April 2011
By 
Rb Whitfield "Russ Whitfield" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Fortress of Spears" marks the third outing for Antony Riches' erstwhile hero, Marcus Aquila - aka Centurion Corvus - of the 2nd Tungrian Auxiliaries, set in 2nd Century Roman Britain.

Fresh from the climatic battle of "Arrows of Fury", Riches wastes no time in throwing young Marcus back into the fight and the opening of `Fortress' is a bloody mosaic of shield crunching action. What sets Riches apart from many of his peers is his ability to write the big set-piece piece battle, the one-to-one fight scene or the dirty little skirmish with equal aplomb. Anyone who has read the author's previous two works will know that his brand of action comes with a healthy dose of realism. In Riches' world, war is a stinking, filthy business - and a dangerous one to boot.

Riches is heartless with his readers in this aspect: characters - well loved characters in some cases - are killed. Sometimes with drama, but more often than not, with little ceremony in the prose. Someone falls in battle scene, we're not sure who, only that it's a centurion or a tribune (for instance)... only later do we discover who has died and the impact it has on the men that have lived with, worked with and fought alongside him for long.

For me, this is one of Riches' greatest strength as a writer: his merciless pragmatism about the horror warfare. The reality he brings to these action sequences, the confusion, the fear and indeed the heroism of the men - on both sides - is brought into stark relief in a way I've not read since Pressfield's "Gates of Fire."

All that said, it would be wrong to think that this novel (and the others in the "Empire" sequence) survive on action alone. Each of the characters are well drawn and fully realised. The hunted Marcus Aquila, the indefatigable Dubnus, the grizzled Frontinius and more, each has their own motivations and raison d'etre that go far beyond simple plot mechanics.

In this latest outing, Riches throws some new faces into the mix, the nominal villains Rapax and Tiberius Varius Excingus. I say nominal, because in Riches' brutally real Britannia, these men are only serving their emperor and doing what it takes to get their job done.

In this case, their job is to hunt down and kill Marcus Aquila. And they're fully prepared to do what it takes to get it done.

It's rare that so much care is lavished over the antagonists, and I can't help but think that the author was particularly gleeful in his execution of these two `frumentarii' (translated literally as `corn collectors' but this was a nom de voyage for the emperor's secret service). Rapax and Excingus blaze a bloody and ruthless trail through Britannia, using every advantage available to them to bring their quarry down - up to and including the kidnapping of his pregnant wife-to-be. Nice guys these are not, but as depicted by Riches, you understand why they do what they do. Except, perhaps, these chaps enjoy their jobs a little too much for you warm to them!

The plot of Fortress of Spears is multi-faceted, taking us with Marcus on his journey to the titular stronghold, the quest of the frumentarii to bring him down, the newly made Centurion Dubnus and his mission to retrain a failed squad into effective soldiers and much more besides. By focusing on the auxillaries rather than the legions, Riches affords himself - and us - a broader range of military action than would otherwise be feasible. Anyone that has read the first two novels in the series will realise that Riches is taking us through the various arms of the Roman military. "Wounds of Honour" is primarily an infantry novel, "Arrows of Fury" focuses on the archers and here, in "Fortress of Spears" we get a grunt's eye view of the cavalry unequalled since Breem's "Eagle in the Snow."

I think that with "Fortress of Spears", Riches has come of age. The Empire series as a whole are amongst the finest historical fiction novels I've ever read, but "Fortress of Spears" is the best to date. A good sign, as the author is getting better and better, book by book.

Riches writes with an effortless style but his works are anything but light-touch. Sumptuously researched, action-packed and containing plot lines that twist, turn and surprise, these novels are a must for any reader of historical fiction. No longer a new voice in the genre, Riches is setting a new benchmark in quality for the action-historical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Riches fails for the first time..., 22 Mar 2012
By 
Ronald Boyd (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first two books by Mr. Riches concerning Centurion Corvus are of an un-typically high standard. It would be rude to name names, but Mr. Riches' first two books are richly superior to the books of other - much more famous - writers of historical fiction.

Characterisation was key in the first two books. Plot came second, providing a platform for the brilliant, careful development of wonderful, distinct characters. Mr. Riches took his time. This is the opposite of many other books in the historical fiction genre, where plot comes first by a long shot.

Mr. Riches holds up Pressfields 'Gates of Fire' as his bar, and in his first two books he didn't fail.

In his third book, I feel he has failed. Or at least stumbled.

Sorry, but in the third book, he has apparently decided that we know the characters well enough, and it is time for some turbo-charged plot.

From other writers, this change wouldn't register. From Mr. Riches, it jars considerably.

The plot whistles along so fast that I felt disconnected from the characters.

Worse, the killing of a great character gained nothing. It was pointless. Marcus feels bad for a dozen or so pages, then apparently forgets about the loss of this person. Dubnus, well, we aren't even blessed with his reaction. As I say, it gained nothing in terms of plot or characterization that I could discern.

And we know Marcus is a deadly swordsman, but defeating six Celtic warriors alone? That scene for me drifted towards fantasy.

I love the first two books, and I return to them.

Don't see me returning to this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 May 2011
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third book to feature Roman troops in the vicinity of Hadrian's Wall. An added complication to this series is Centurion Corvus who is hiding amongst them under a false name as he is under a death sentence as a result of politics back in Rome. Sent to Britain to be out of the way, his exploits keep bringing him back to the attention of those who want him dead.

So here we have a rather nasty team sent from Rome to capture him amongst the running battles with the local barbarians.

I enjoyed this as much as I enjoyed the previous two books, the author writes with an easy but compelling style and handles action and character very well. The `brotherhood' of the Roman troops, the banter, loyalty and affection is perfectly blended with the action and a sense of loss when characters we have grown fond of do not make it.

I think Anthony Riches is the equal at least of the other famous names in this genre and I incline towards the view that he is probably better, but that is down to personal taste. At the end of this book it looks like the troops might be heading for Germany and that's probably a good move, not many Brits actually left to crush! Were I to offer the author some gentle advice, it might be to park the fugitive aspect of his hero as the formula has been repeated (although very effectively) through three books and Mr Riches obviously has the talent to refresh the series with some new elements for us to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty and compelling historical fiction at its best., 7 Mar 2014
Another excellent sequel from the author, gritty and compelling historical fiction at its best, highly recommended.
THE PERFECT COMPANION TO THIS EXCELLENT SEQUEL IS THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars JOLLY GOOD READ, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my Husband,it was the last book of a trilogy He enjoyed it very much,and has said any reader who like a good read with plenty of action will enjoy Anthony Riches books very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top storyteller, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anthony Riches seems to get better with each book. The tale goes at a good pace with action all the way through. Characters are believable and heroes die as the saga unfolds. Would highly recommend the book but start the saga with book 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feedback, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Currently half way through this story, and I am finding it more difficult to put down. Hopefully the seconf half will match the intensity of the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fortress of Spears: Empire III
£3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews