Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hadn't read this for years, great to revisit
I had read it before, I enjoyed it this time and I expect to enjoy it several times in the future. I just love having all these books available to me at the touch of a button.
Published on 28 July 2012 by Gaye Sissons

versus
33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an essential book for emotional recovery
Mary Stewart is a master (or mistress) of romance. Although her books do not deal with important issues, or are culturally relevant they are beautifully constructed fantasies with a fantastic sense of setting. Stormy Petrel is no exception; I have never been to the Scottish Isles but this book made me feel as if I had. Nothing much happens - a robbery, a bit of smuggling...
Published on 12 May 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an essential book for emotional recovery, 12 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Stormy Petrel (Paperback)
Mary Stewart is a master (or mistress) of romance. Although her books do not deal with important issues, or are culturally relevant they are beautifully constructed fantasies with a fantastic sense of setting. Stormy Petrel is no exception; I have never been to the Scottish Isles but this book made me feel as if I had. Nothing much happens - a robbery, a bit of smuggling and a very staid romance. It doesn't matter - beautifully written and utterly gripping against the odds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hadn't read this for years, great to revisit, 28 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormy Petrel (Kindle Edition)
I had read it before, I enjoyed it this time and I expect to enjoy it several times in the future. I just love having all these books available to me at the touch of a button.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good story, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormy Petrel (Kindle Edition)
A really enjoyable book, set on a remote scottish isle.You can imagine the lovely atmosphere and scenery. Good characters and interesting story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read by Jean McFarlane, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormy Petrel (Kindle Edition)
Rating chosen because I've read even better Mary Stewart books. Her books are easy reading but gripping, good for forgetting one's troubles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of Stormy Petrel by Mary Stewart, 27 April 2014
By 
J. Holmes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormy Petrel (Kindle Edition)
I really liked this book. The descriptive passages were delightful, and the story line had just enough mystery and romance in it to make it a good read. I'll be getting more of Mary Stewart's work in due course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mystery and romance, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormy Petrel (Kindle Edition)
This is another entertaining and well written story by Mary Stewart. It will appeal to anyone of her existing fans as well as to any woman who enjoys romantic fiction set in the era of her
mother or grandmothers young womanhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric romantic novel, 24 May 2013
By 
Alison "Alison" (Ellesmere, Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormy Petrel (Kindle Edition)
Mary Stewart specialises in novels which have you alternately holding your breath as to what might happen, or chuckling yo yourself. This is one of her best and her description of the island is superb, you can even smell the flowers and feel the midges. One of those books you can't put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic, 9 April 2014
By 
AllieN "Allie" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormy Petrel (Kindle Edition)
I read this book many years ago when I was young. I enjoyed it very much then and enjoyed reading it again. Her stories are engaging and well written but very much of their time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stormy Petrel on tape, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am so pleased to find this as I love all the modern Mary Stewart stories and read them all madly. So nice to find this one which I'd never seen in audio before. Loving it and hoping to find the last few on tape or cd too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars One of Mary Stewart's classics, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormy Petrel (Paperback)
I read M.S's books some years ago and discovered them again via Amazon - I enjoyed this rather old-fashioned story which makes a change from the current genre of blood, gore and violence in some novels. I bought a hard copy for a relative who often stays on Coll as I thought she might enjoy the book too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stormy Petrel
Stormy Petrel by Mary Stewart
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews