Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected
I'm not a big fan of body swap comedies and this one didn't look like it would be a particularly useful addition to the genre. However, what it has going for it is a very good cast of comedic talents. Jason Bateman in particular really shines in this film. The first ten minutes or so nearly put me off. The jokes with the babies weren't to my liking at all, but once I got...
Published on 14 Aug. 2012 by Gary

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars AD NAUSEAM
If you haven't grown tired of watching movies where people trade places, i.e. their brain in someone else's body, then you haven't been watching enough movies. Tom Hanks gave us perhaps the best of these movies. In this version it is "married man" swapping with "college buddy" although they have known each other since the third grade. I watched the unrated version. They...
Published 19 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected, 14 Aug. 2012
I'm not a big fan of body swap comedies and this one didn't look like it would be a particularly useful addition to the genre. However, what it has going for it is a very good cast of comedic talents. Jason Bateman in particular really shines in this film. The first ten minutes or so nearly put me off. The jokes with the babies weren't to my liking at all, but once I got past that I found this to be a highly amusing gross out comedy. It's not a classic but it's a pretty good way to pass an hour and a half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars AD NAUSEAM, 24 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The Change-Up [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
If you haven't grown tired of watching movies where people trade places, i.e. their brain in someone else's body, then you haven't been watching enough movies. Tom Hanks gave us perhaps the best of these movies. In this version it is "married man" swapping with "college buddy" although they have known each other since the third grade. I watched the unrated version. They wish for each others life while urinating in a park fountain...which is gone the next day and no one knows where it is at!!!! At least until Vic ( city official) gets back off vacation. Ryan Reynolds plays Mitch who is an actor...but now has trouble playing a lawyer. Dave (Jason Bateman) is a lawyer married to Leslie Mann. They have twins. He suddenly becomes a single man. Their goal is to try to get by day by day until they can locate the magical wishing fountain. Of course this doesn't last for one minute as the lawyer has turned into an f-bomb throwing idiot, and we find out Mitch stars in soft-core films or lorno (light porno) as they are called in the movie.

When the movie is not being crude and sophomoric, it works fairly well. The guys get to see how others view them, for better or worse. Mitch discovers he is way too juvenile and needs to grow up. Dave discovers life is more than status. The extras include a deleted scene and a gag reel not worth the view. Not as good as either "Hang Over" film, more akin to "Hall Pass."

Excessive F-bomb, sex, toilet humor, nudity (Leslie Mann, Mircea Monroe, Taaffe O'Connell, Olivia Wilde? brief body double?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as critics said, 7 Jun. 2013
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Change-Up [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I feel that this movie would've been better if they'd focussed on it being a body swapping comedy. The plot became a little convoluted by the family/personal drama that was involved and this detracted from the comedy. Whilst this film was really funny in places, there were also parts that were really emotional and just I don't feel that this parts really meshed very well with the sort of film that this was supposed to be.

Both Reynolds and Bateman are both brilliant actors who I love but I just don't think they really delivered in this film. Their co-stars included Leslie Mann and Olivia Wilde who started out great but by the end of the film I just found their characters highly irritating. I don't think that the acting was particularly bad; however, I think bad script and general plot line made it impossible for them to do any really good work.

One thing that really stood out for me in this movie was how bad they were at pretending to pee in a fountain. It was so obvious that the two men hadn't even pulled their flies down and that they were actually holding some sort of tiny water pistols in their hands. Though, it's not like this ruined this film, it was just another thing to laugh at.

Whilst I didn't think that this movie was as bad as the critics made it out to be, I didn't think that it was particularly good either. The film is largely unmemorable apart from a few moments which were simply ridiculous so they're probably memorable for all the wrong reasons. Given that this was written by the same guys who wrote 'The Hangover', this film could have been so much better than it was. I wouldn't bother watching The Change-Up unless if you really, really, really have nothing better to do with your time as it failed to meet its initial potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny!, 18 Aug. 2013
By 
In My Honest Opinion (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Change-Up [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Another 'body/life swap' film. Nothing original about it but I found it laugh out loud funny. I like both Reynolds and Bateman but felt Bateman looked a bit too old for the age he was supposed to be playing! However, Bateman was the better of the two at getting the mannerisms down pat. He actually made Reynolds character seem a bit camp (which he was in my opinion!).

There are two choices to watch. The Theatre version or the Unrated version. I watched the unrated version. As a parent I did cringe a bit at how Reynolds character treats the baby twins in the film and some parts were too much for me and I thought the writers took some aspects too far (the electrocution). Although I haven't watched the theatre version I am hoping these parts may have been cut out.

The swap is only supposed to have taken place over a week in their lives but I noticed a few mistakes in the timeline of that week. Also some aspects were too far fetched but this is a comedy film so I went with it!

An enjoyable watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars modern freaky friday, 30 July 2012
This review is from: The Change-Up [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This is a mondern version of freaky friday for those that remember that. But this one is very funny and contains the hot ryan reynolds. Great chick flick for girly nights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for a laugh, 11 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Change-Up [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
No this isn't the funniest film I've ever seen and sometimes it goes just a little too far, but I enjoyed it. All of the actors are great and it's very funny in places. All said and done, it's got Ryan Reynolds in it looking just too cute - so give it a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny!, 1 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Change-Up [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of Ryan Reynolds and this film doesn't disappoint! It's funny and predictable, but a perfect comedy to watch any night of the week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dirty, sexy, funny body swap comedy, 24 Jan. 2012
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Change-Up [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
The Change Up follows two close childhood friends, Dave Lockwood (Jason Bateman -Horrible Bosses) & Mitch Planko (Ryan Reynolds -The Proposal) who live very different lives. Dave is hard working and has been all his life, he is a very successful Lawyer with 3 young children & a beautiful wife. And then they're is Mitch, he is the playboy who has absolutely no responsibilities in his life and cannot commit to anything for very long. Oh, and he is also obsessed with sex.

So, having grown apart over the years, they decide to get together like in the good old days, with a night on the town. This culminates with them towards the end of the night peeing into a fountain & arguing to each other that the other has a great life & vice versa... bish bash bosh, the next day they wake up to find that they have swapped bodies. And comedy & mayhem ensues as they have to live out each others lives, seeing the other side of the coin & track down the mysterious fountain which has been relocated.

Overall it's your basic body swap comedy of old like the original Freaky Friday with Jodie Foster, which has been done in various ways over the years since, but this is very much an adult take on the concept. I thought it was well done & hilarious in places that had me screaming with laughter(the lorno scene), the baby changing scene early on sets the tone of how the film intends to carry on. The two leads get on very well & have a good chemistry, while the support cast is not too shabby either, with the very beautiful Olivia Wilde (Cowboys & Aliens) as Dave's assistant & Leslie Mann (Funny People) as Dave's Wife. Also a cameo from Alan Arkin (Get Smart) as Mitch's dad.

The one thing that i didn't like was the excessive use of foul language. The film had enough about it to be funny, and the constant F bombs were unnecessary. One particular example i thought highlighted this, was the scene with Jason Bateman & his young daughter in a car, where he uses profanities infront of her constantly. I don't know if the young girl was actually in that part of the scene, or they filmed it with Jason alone and edited it in. That is what tarnished it a little for me.

In conclusion, this is a very adult yet funny take on a body swap comedy concept. It maybe too gross out for some tastes, so if you dislike rude & crude humor it's best to avoid. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some good laffs, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not quite as funny as the best Judd Apatow movies (eg. Knocked Up etc), but the humour is definitely in the same veign (ie. shamelessly crude). If you liked Horrible Bosses, you'll enjoy this - in fact that movie would make a pretty funny double-bill with this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bad quality dvd, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Change-Up [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I love this film but the dvd i received was scratched, and jumpy and didnt work properly very very annoyed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Change-Up [DVD] [2011]
The Change-Up [DVD] [2011] by David Dobkin (DVD - 2012)
£4.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews