Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would you sign The Declaration?
If you haven't yet read one of Gemma Malley's books, you're missing out. Her ideas and view of the future are nothing short of terrifying, and both make for compulsive reading.

The Resistance picks up a short time after The Declaration ends, and this time mainly focuses on Peter rather than Anna. I loved The Declaration, but I enjoyed this sequel more. It's...
Published on 28 April 2009 by Jenny, Wondrous Reads

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok reading
Not as good as the first but an easy read all the same. Peter's character annoyed me but came good in the end.
Published 11 months ago by mrs samantha j mayne


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would you sign The Declaration?, 28 April 2009
By 
Jenny, Wondrous Reads (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Resistance (Paperback)
If you haven't yet read one of Gemma Malley's books, you're missing out. Her ideas and view of the future are nothing short of terrifying, and both make for compulsive reading.

The Resistance picks up a short time after The Declaration ends, and this time mainly focuses on Peter rather than Anna. I loved The Declaration, but I enjoyed this sequel more. It's exciting and original, with more shocks and revelations than I thought possible.

Peter is working with the Underground, a group of resistance fighters opposed to the Longevity drug (Longevity is a drug that makes you live forever, and can only be taken if you give up your right to have children). Together they try and take down Pincent Pharma, the company responsible for producing and distributing the drug.

Quite a few questions are answered in this book, though you could argue that even more are raised. The whole world that Malley has created just scares the life out of me, and I hope things are never like this by the time we reach the year 2140. There's definitely room for another sequel, and I hope we see a continuation of the story at some point. There's so much left to explore... Will the Underground prevail? Will Longevity be eradicated? All are valid questions I'm dying to know the answer to.

So, Gemma Malley, if you read this: please write another book. I'm not opposed to begging, and, if I have to, bribery could be arranged. As long as I don't have to sign the Declaration, I'm all ears!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 11 Aug 2009
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Resistance (Hardcover)
THE RESISTANCE is the much-anticipated sequel to THE DECLARATION. It picks up where THE DECLARATION left off and is told through Peter's eyes.

He and Anna live together with Ben, Anna's brother, in a rundown house trying to keep out of the way. Peter and Anna aren't comfortable being Legal yet, and find the stares and nasty comments coming from the other citizens unsettling.

Peter and Anna work for the Underground whenever they can. They both want to see the Declaration a thing of the past.

Peter gets his chance when his grandfather, head of Pincent Pharma, offers him a position at the company. Pincent Pharma is responsible for Longevity, the drug that makes an extended life possible. Peter uses this opportunity to get information for the Underground.

What he finds causes him to question his beliefs about the Declaration, the Underground, and his relationship with Anna. It takes uncovering a horrible secret to put him back on track.

THE RESISTANCE was just as good as THE DECLARATION. The suspense keeps you turning page after page. Peter's character is so likeable and his devotion to Anna is heartwarming.

Gemma Malley leaves it open for another story, and I for one can't wait to see what happens next.

Reviewed by: Karin Librarian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The future of the world...?, 1 Nov 2009
By 
Miss Leola (York, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Resistance (Paperback)
The resistance is the brilliant, brilliant sequel to the utterly amazing The Declaration. I love both of these books so much. The concepts, the ideas and how terrifically deep some of them are. Gemma Malley has created a perfect piece of dystopian fiction for both older teens and adult to ponder.

The Resistance offers readers a morally challenging story, which makes us question ourselves, our society and what we believe. The story itself is very good. At first it felt a little slow but once it got going, the book never left my hands. I would suggest trying to read it in one day, as I had a very sleepless night, dying to know what would happen. This book absorbs you. Beware. Also, the book covers some very sensitive and quite disturbing incidents/ideas but they help make the book what it is.

Just as poignant and thoughtful as The Declaration, The Resistance creates a deep connection with the reader. Exciting and moving, these two books are the best reads I have ever had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good sequel, 22 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: The Resistance (Paperback)
This is the sequel to The Declaration and it doesn't disappoint. It is clearly intended for those who have read the first book so, whilst you probably could enjoy it in its own right, it makes far more sense as a sequel. The author raises some good questions about the purpose of medicine, the ethics of stem cell research and very current issues of what we as a society would hope to achieve from such drugs.

The book focuses on what happens to Anna and Peter after they become 'legal' , trying to make a life together bringing up Anna's baby brother, Ben in a society where it is illegal to have children because everyone is taking longevity drugs to defer death indefinitely. Even though Peter and Anna are now classified as legal they are frowned upon by most of society as freaks and a generation to be feared (youth is a rare commodity in 2140 where most people are well over 100 years old). Babies, rather than being welcomed to the world, are seen as a drain on increasingly scarce resources which are now tightly rationed; redolent perhaps of the way that many people view immigrants in present times. The dehumanisation of youth in the treatment of the 'surpluses' serves as a wider metaphor for what happens when we allow people to be treated as 'other' and look for ways to rationalise our hatred. The plot revolves around the development of the next generation of longevity drugs to replace the current version which, although prolonging life indefinitely, are not perfect as they do not repair external signs of ageing such as wrinkles and grey hair. Consequently Pincent Pharma, along with the malevolent 'Authorities' , are seeking the next pharmaceutical breakthrough using stem cells to create more powerful drugs that will maintain a youthful outer appearance for eternity. Peter is the grandson of the MD of Pincent Pharma and infiltrates his grandfather's company to try to help the Resistance who want to destroy longevity, but then finds his resolve wavering after discovering that both he and Anna are infertile. However, the shocking secrets he uncovers at Pincent Pharma change everything for Peter and Anna. The plot moves quickly but Peter's character, with all his adolescent angst and rage, is still well developed and convincing.

I wouldn't hesitate to buy this book for a teenager but would caution on two counts. The first is that there are some quite graphic and horrifying accounts of what goes on at Pincent Pharma, it would be a spoiler to reveal the nature of this but could be disturbing to younger readers (and possibly to some more squeamish adults). The second is that, whilst it is entirely appropriate in the context of the plot, I do have some anxiety about a book for a teenage audience (girls in particular) that portrays childbirth as the ultimate act of heroic rebellion and the only way to find true meaning in a flawed world. This, coupled with the deeply unsympathetic portrayals of career women, could give out a slightly strange message to young women at a time when you would want them to be focusing on their own studies and future careers before thinking about motherhood. However, overall it is testament to this writer's imagination that I consider the book could be so influential, and would hope that most young people reading this would be able to make the distinction between the present day and this nightmare vision of the future. This is a more action packed adventure than The Declaration and is more likely to appeal for boys as well as girls. It would also make an excellent film or TV drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent sequel..., 24 April 2010
By 
Lovely Treez (Belfast, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Resistance (Paperback)
This is Book Two of a Young Adult trilogy by Gemma Malley, the first being The Declaration with the final instalment, The Legacy, due for publication in Autumn this year. It's another futuristic, dystopian thriller set in 2140.

We are reacquainted with Anna and Peter who are now Legals living on the Outside but life is not exactly carefree for them given that young people are viewed with distust and suspicion and having Ben, Anna's baby brother, living with them makes them even more conspicuous. Peter, working as an agent for the Underground takes on the task of infiltrating Pincent Pharma Corporation which manufactures the longevity drugs crucial for maintaining a society intent on the pursuit of immortality. This mission is both enhanced and hampered by Peter's turbulent relationship with Richard Pincent, his grandfather, who is determined to make Peter and Anna sign the Declaration (agreeing to take Longevity) using any means necessary.

If you haven't read The Declaration you will be totally confused as the author assumes prior knowledge of previous events and characters - it can become a tad distracting at times even for those of us who have read the first book! Again, there are a lot of serious questions raised about good versus evil and the morality of scientific progress - would we really want to live forever? How can we reconcile one tribe, those who have signed the Declaration, having eternal life whilst the dissenters, the Surpluses, are rendered extinct? Of course, we would be blind if we didn't see the similarities we share with this future world - apartheid, segregation and xenophobia are hardly new phenomena.

Some scenes might be considered unsuitable for sensitive young teenagers due to the graphic descriptions of some experiments at Pincent Pharma but overall, I think this is an excellent book for teenagers as it raises a lot of important social and political questions. The most frightening aspect is that this story, set in the distant future, doesn't seem that far-fetched. It is refreshing to find a YA novel suitable for both male and female, this second volume concentrates on Peter's story whilst the first volume focused more on Anna. I'm looking forward to seeing how the author concludes this series with The Legacy - I'm not expecting a neat and tidy ending! If you enjoyed The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Attwood and/or perhaps Under the Skin by Michael Faber and you don't have an aversion to Young Adult reads, I think you'll really enjoy this very readable series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wave goodbye to your productivity until you've finished reading!, 5 Sep 2014
Another amazing book from this immensely talented author. Everything you look for in a great dystopian novel. Danger, gritty bad guys you can really get your teeth into hating, a cause worth fighting for, well rounded and compelling characters. I couldn't put this book down. Is there anything this author cannot write?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read., 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Resistance (Hardcover)
This book was very nice to read, the story was really a page turner, making me finish the book in just one sitting.
The characters were lovely, even though at times did seem a little young.
Will definitely read more books from this author in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 27 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Resistance (Paperback)
This is great, entertaining book. It came in a perfect condition (no little folds or creases, etc.) and makes a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the resistance, 24 Feb 2014
By 
Susan (Liphook, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Resistance (Declaration) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this trilogy very much and highly recommend this for all ages not just the young a really good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Resistance (Declaration) (Kindle Edition)
Great series! If you like this genre I would recommend the whole series. Would read other books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Resistance (Declaration)
£3.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews