Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant 60's Sci-Fi 'B' movie, if you persist.
Although this is what can only be called a low budget "B" movie from the 60's with a silly plot, it is quaintly entertaining and watchable with reasonable though not exceptional acting from some (for the period) famous names and fairly watchable special effects for it's time.

The plot is hardly intellectualy challenging and revolves around the quest for free...
Published 20 months ago by P. Davis

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Is there anything we can do?" "Pray."
"Suppose the Macedo trench splits open under the ocean? A crack a thousand miles long, bringing superheated magma in contact with the ocean... Earthquakes, tidal waves, mass destruction on an apocalyptic scale!"

1965's Crack in the World was a decade too late for the 50s sci-fi movie craze and a decade too early for the 70s disaster movie revival, but it's a...
Published on 18 May 2012 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant 60's Sci-Fi 'B' movie, if you persist., 12 Nov 2012
By 
P. Davis "llmac" (Kingston upon Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although this is what can only be called a low budget "B" movie from the 60's with a silly plot, it is quaintly entertaining and watchable with reasonable though not exceptional acting from some (for the period) famous names and fairly watchable special effects for it's time.

The plot is hardly intellectualy challenging and revolves around the quest for free thermal energy from the earth's magma core. Only one lone scientist sees the possible dangers and attempts to halt the experiment conceived by a dying project manager determined to go down in history. When a nuclear warhead is used to punch through a drill-breaking layer the resulting explosion cracks the mantle and this gradually creeps around the world despite all efforts of the main character and his love interest to put a firebreak in it's path. Eventually though the crack goes full circle and rips a chunk out of the earth's surface and... well, you will have to watch it won't you!

If one grew up, as my brother and I did, in the pre-Star Wars/Jurassic Park era then this film comes pretty high in the entertainment stakes and even now is a fine distraction despite it's vintage. Absolutely no 'stop-motion' and what few models there are would be recognisable to fans of Gerry Anderson.

Unfortunately - and for some inexplicable reason - this film follows in the steps of Monte Carlo or Bust (USA-Those Jolly Young Men In Their Jaunty Jalopies) in that it is ONLY available in America(?) Anyway, I would have given this DVD 5 stars as it's so watchable despite it's age but must bring it down to 4. Whilst I can forgive it being region 1 only I must bring it down 1 star for being in such a peculiar format that on some DVD players you may find it 'stutters' as though there are missing frames. I found this most obvious if played on a computer.

A worthy addition to any dedicated classic sci-fi fans collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suppose the Macedo trench splits open under the ocean?, 1 Jun 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Crack in the World [Blu-ray] [1965] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Crack in the World is directed by Andrew Marton and written by Jon Manchip White and Julian Halevy. It stars Dana Andrews, Janette Scott, Kieron Moore, Alexander Knox, Peter Damon and Jim Gillen. Music is scored by Johnny Douglas and cinematography by Manuel Berenguer.

Dr. Steven Sorenson (Andrews) plans to tap the energy magma source deep in the Earth's interior by exploding a nuclear device down in the core. In spite of desperate warnings by fellow scientist Ted Rampian (Moore) that it will cause a disaster, Sorenson proceeds after getting the backing of his superiors. The experiment causes a crack to form in the Earth's crust, which starts to escalate and threatens to split the Earth in two. Can the scientists come up with something to avert the catastrophe they have created?

The science might be hokey but the premise is a "cracker" in what seems to be the forgotten film of the sci-fi/disaster movie splinters. Much time is afforded to human interactions and discussions of the science involved, and of course the repercussions of man's inherent need to tamper with the world we live in. When the effects come they are excellent, aiding the drama considerably, there's even a bit of model work that nods back to a time when such a thing was a staple of genre movies. There's a tension fuelled love triangle going on between the three main protagonists, and one of them is ill, very ill, this adding spice to the human drama as the world starts to come apart. The clock ticks down and as the jeopardy rises so does the excitement, leaving us with a tense finale that rounds the film out as a more than worthy film for genre fans to enjoy. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Is there anything we can do?" "Pray.", 18 May 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Crack in the World [Blu-ray] [1965] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
"Suppose the Macedo trench splits open under the ocean? A crack a thousand miles long, bringing superheated magma in contact with the ocean... Earthquakes, tidal waves, mass destruction on an apocalyptic scale!"

1965's Crack in the World was a decade too late for the 50s sci-fi movie craze and a decade too early for the 70s disaster movie revival, but it's a fairly decent entry in the End of the World As We Know It stakes even if it is largely forgotten these days. As usual in the post-nuclear age, man and scientific arrogance are to blame for the impending disaster when an attempt to harness the liquid magma at the Earth's core as a power source goes spectacularly wrong when decades of underground nuclear testing and one nuke too many create a crack in the world that, if not stopped, will split the Earth in two. And, of course, there's nothing they can do to stop it...

The influence of George Pal's When Worlds Collide [DVD] [1951] is keenly felt at times, but the film lacks the spectacular effects that he brought to his films. For the first hour the devastation is limited to radio reports and a brief bit of newsreel footage of the aftermath of a quake accompanied by increasingly worried discussions, with the audience pretty much having to take the end of the world on faith until the last half hour when the crack comes full circle and all Hell breaks loose at the complex. It's pretty good destructive stuff when it comes even if some of the effects, like a doomed train falling off a collapsing bridge, show their age as decent but not hugely convincing model shots.

Until then most of the money goes on the film's cavernous underground research center as the film largely concentrates on the human side, with the conflict between Dana Andrews project director and Kieron Moore's dissenting scientist aggravated by the torch the latter is still carrying for Andrews' wife Jeanette Scott (you'd have thought after finding a way to defeat the carnivorous plants from outer space three years earlier in Crack producer Philip Yordan's troubled The Day of the Triffids [DVD] [1962] they'd have stuck together). Although they're stock characters, they play it as if they mean it and Andrews gets the best of it as the dying scientist in a hurry because he doesn't want others to finish his work only to find he may have finished off the planet instead, and along the way acting as the inspiration for Michael Jackson's signature look with his one white glove and dark glasses.

It's not a great movie and it certainly never rises to the heights of The Day The Earth Caught Fire [1961] [DVD] in the dread and impending doom stakes, but it's a still a well-crafted slice of old school Apocalyptic sci-fi, and Olive's Region-free Blu-ray offers a decent widescreen transfer (albeit the limitations of the original photography mean the picture quality is never spectacularly detailed n the extreme long shots) with no extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It was only a film I'm still here, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crack in the World [Blu-ray] [1965] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
I remember this film from my childhood. I was really scared that the world would end.
Not the same this time round, but I enjoyed the fact that the bluray version has got very good colour and definition.
If you like old B movies especially disaster or science fiction ones you should like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Thank God It's Only A Motion Picture", 26 Oct 2013
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This long unseen Sci-Fi Thriller comes courtesy of OLIVE films, and is good quality,picture and sound 1.85:1 Ratio. It's a bonkers plot, fairly typical of some other "End of the World" films, but, if you completely suspend logic, it is a very entertaining 96 mins. Dana Andrews succeeds in avoiding cliche as the dying scientist who risks the end of the world when he decides to explode a nuclear bomb on the Inner Magma surface!! Janette Scott, with weird makeup (the eyebrows!), is his loving wife, but finds it hard to forget Ex Kieron Moore, who is against the Bomb. Some excellent sets, a pretty good mix of SFX (1965 remember), and newsreel all help the plot move along to it's rather odd climax. I enjoyed this a lot with my wife and a bottle of wine (neither being necessary for you to enjoy it too).(NB This review is not for the BLURAY)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars B movie action and thrills, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A chance encounter on late-night TV in the 1980s sered this 1960s sci-fi action movie into my mind. Good action - male/female relationships a little cliched when viewed from today. Effects good for their time and nice use of locations. Dana Andrews gives good mad scientist throughout! Recommended to those who want a snapshot of how science was supposed to fix everything but was feared at the same time. See also Doomwatch (TV) from the 1970s and similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good film to enjoy, 17 Dec 2012
By 
M. Clark (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this film, its one you can sit, watch having a beer and be entertained. Has its serious moments, great emagination stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A cracked love story, 1 Aug 2011
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
In an attempt to harness the world's magma core for heat and elements by a top scientist, Dr. Stephen Sorenson (Dana Andrews), a sort of surprise creates a crack in the world. Meantime Dr. Maggie Sorenson (Janette Scott) the scientist's wife is torn between two powerful men the scientist and his number two, Dr. Ted Rampion (Kieron Moore) also divided by the crack.

Can they join forces and save the world? They better get cracking.

This film has all the elements of 1965 science fiction. Aside from Dana Andrews you will had fun trying to remember where you have seen the actors before.

As with most sci-fi if the time let this be a warning against being impetuous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars crack in the world, 10 May 2011
By 
Wayne Allen (wa uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
a great little gem of a disaster movie from the 1960s made by paramount pictures.good cast and very good for its time,even by today's standards,special effects.the story is simple but efective,a plan to utilize the geothermal energy of the earth's interior by detonating apowerful thermonuclear device deep within the earth's core,and guess what,it all goes wrong.highly enjoyable,a must have for fans of this kind of movie. nice presentation,widescreen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I love this film, they ruined it here., 5 Nov 2012
By 
B. J. Davies "EntilZha" (The Rhondda, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crack in the World [Blu-ray] [1965] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
I'm not going to go into a technical description of the qualities of the transfer to Blu-ras, or into the story as there are many superb reviews here that do that and anyone looking at this film already knows that they like it. On this subject I can confirm that it will play in a UK non-region free blu-ray player.

My gripe with it is simply that it has been cropped to make it into a 16.9 presentation. Personally I do not like this being done, I would have much preferred it to be in it's original format. That said, buying this is really the only option if one wants a decent copy of this film, although it is ruined by the cropping it is still better than the old Video Tape I still have of this film recorded from BBC more years ago than I can remember. I do not understand why they cannot make these old films available as a choice on the disk between original and cropped format, I would be more than willing to pay a small premium for this choice. After all, 'The Day The Earth Stood Still' is still in it's original format in the Blu-ray transfer, why not this film?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crack in the World [Blu-ray] [1965] [US Import]
Crack in the World [Blu-ray] [1965] [US Import] by Dana Andrews (Blu-ray - 2011)
Used & New from: 10.06
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews