Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love at first listen
I came to this album completely cold, having previously been aware of the reputation of EN as pioneers of 'found' instruments and extreme noise terror, particularly in performance, and having mentally filed them away under 'probably more entertaining in theory than in practice'. But the combination of Blixa Bargeld's other job as a Bad Seed and the utterly under-whelming...
Published on 13 Aug 2001 by KalteStern

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ding dong
I am relatively new to the einsturzende neubauten experience but have listened to enough to say that I definitely prefer the later stuff to the old pvc wannabe industrial.
Silence is sexy is a mature with hints of blixa comedic german wit. 'Reduckt' is a particularly great neubauten song with tension being built through the use of custom built instruments.
The...
Published on 13 Jun 2002 by Mr. David Chapman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love at first listen, 13 Aug 2001
By 
KalteStern (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silence Is Sexy (Audio CD)
I came to this album completely cold, having previously been aware of the reputation of EN as pioneers of 'found' instruments and extreme noise terror, particularly in performance, and having mentally filed them away under 'probably more entertaining in theory than in practice'. But the combination of Blixa Bargeld's other job as a Bad Seed and the utterly under-whelming state of much mainstream album chart material lead me to try this, particularly as I already have plenty of 'minimalist' music in my racks. So, at first listen I thought - oh yes, yes indeed. Pretty accessible in fact, and not especially scary or 'difficult' at all, with the notable exception of the final track 'Pelikanol', which I assume is an interpretation of the headache which follows sniffing or eating the school glue for which it is named. That's the bad news then, and as it comes on a separate CD you could always use it as a coaster. As for the rest of it - there are recognisably real melodies in there, many of them of a slow burning nature that matches the generally sparse arrangements. Blixa Bargeld, although not a true baritone (wish there were more of them!) favours singing softly in that low register that sounds oh-so-typically german somehow, and his voice often has a wonderful, velvety, purring quality. Many of the songs are in english, and the sleeve notes give helpful translations of the german ones. But as any fan of classical liede will attest, german really does sound pretty good sung. All the elements that you might reasonably expect, given EN's reputation, are in there too of course, including a considerable emphasis on percussion, use of unconventional instruments (including metal sheeting, pneumatic piston, T-beams and a TV set, and a lot else besides according to the sleevenotes) and a wide range of lyrical subject matter. There are even a couple of up-tempo numbers, and what sounds suspiciously like humour in places, particularly the singing concert audience at the end of 'Silence is sexy'. Personal favourites for me include the opening track 'Sabrina' and the perfectly marvellous atmospheric drone of 'Sonnenbarke'. Overall a very pleasant surprise, rather than the unlistenable po-faced teutonic noise assault that less sympathetic reviews lead me to expect. Well worth a listen, if you usually like this sort of thing, or if you just fancy exploring an eddy just outside the music mainstream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album of 2000?, 15 July 2001
This review is from: Silence Is Sexy (Audio CD)
I first heard the name Einsturzende Neubauten a while ago, namechecked by someone who was into the industrial scene. After a long search, I found this album in my local record shop and was instantly impressed with what was contained within. Starting with the very mellow, and prehaps the only radio friendy track, Sabrina (I Wish This Could Be Your Colour), Neubauten create an album that is totally out of place with todays easy to digest manufactured pop and nu-metal. As the album progresses the songs change tempo and all kinds of noises are present over the album. Just check at the notes to each song to what is used - jet turbines, springs and drills. This album was my first Einsturzende Neubauten CD and it won't be my last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent, subtle and beautiful., 8 Dec 2000
This review is from: Silence Is Sexy (Audio CD)
Einsturzende Neubauten continue to evolve, and this is an extension of the territory they started to explore with Tabula Rasa. Some people think EN have lost their harshness and that this invalidates them. Not true, they simply refuse to repeat them selves and are creating beautiful, subtle music that will not leave your head. Once you understand what they are trying to acheive you cannot fault their vision. Also this album shows more of their humour and Blixa's voice, which is alloed more room, showing an ever greater ability to express himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as experimental as I had hoped., 31 July 2000
This review is from: Silence Is Sexy (Audio CD)
I listened to this CD all the way through as soon as it dropped through my letter box. . . and was initially disappointed.
After all I had heard about EN - the percussion found from junk-yards, the pnuematic drills, etc., etc, what I first heard was a slightly ordinary album with the occasional slightly strange noise and some lyrics in German.
Then I listened to it again, and again and now I can't get it out of my player. Its not classic Einsturzende but every band has to move on from the past and EN have, and it is good.
I just got to get some of the experimental stuff to satisfy my noise for noise's sake tatse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't get enough of this, 27 Oct 2001
By 
E Parry (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silence Is Sexy (Audio CD)
The only previous Einsurzende album I'd heard was Tabula Rasa, which had some great tracks but overall I wasn't terribly pleased with. However, this is along a similar line but much much better. While there are elements of other bands I have never heard a band that sounds like this. This is by no means what you would expect to find under the term Industrial, it has many of the elements of what I love about bands like Godspeed You Black Emperor, Mogwai, maybe even Pink Floyd, but a sound all of its own. The found-sounds are not always obvious but always used to the best effect to get the right texture. This album is very intelligent both musically and lyrically. I don't even speak German, but just by reading the translations you can marvel at how Blixa gets such fascinating subjects into a few lines of a song. Redukt, for example, has some of the most thoughtful lyrics I have ever read.
The second disc, Pelikanol, is not something I would listen to again. It's very repetitive and very long, it's an experiment which doesn't really work in my opinion. However, the first disc alone is a fairly long album by itself, and yet I always want more by the time it finishes. Brilliant, and a terrible shame this band isn't more well known.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars beautiful sound, 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silence Is Sexy (Audio CD)
a great album. a little bit different from the others but...what a great music. blixa's voice is alwais great and the bass sounds of this album are fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stripped but Still Throbbing, 31 Jan 2010
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Silence Is Sexy (Audio CD)
After Tabla Rasa with Blumen a shift occurred. The Kango noradrenaline voltage of the early period was laid up and mothballed along with much of the western industrial experience. Instead there was a concentration on sound texture, rhythm and dynamics of throb rather than kling and klang. The earlier work was a nihilistic one finger salute played loud and snotty pulling apart structure. A European sound stripped of the bells and whistles the guitar solo. After taking the punk attitude back to its philosophical roots, the assemblage of scrapage then turned into musical gold.

Blumen on Tabla Rasa with its soft cadences of swoon proclaimed another direction. This album follows that path.

Sticking it on a Sunday morning chimes perfectly with the bright mood. My two year old jigging along to "In Circles" shows how much both Neubauten and I have come over the last 25 years whilst my 10 year old son sits and listens to the madmen of yesteryear bang out some cadences as we all chomp down our breakfasts in silence. Even my wife ever alert to a sonic disturbance to the atmosphere lets the album play on in its entirety at a high volume without turning it down or pressing the eject. This catches a light sombre but shining mood. Blixa gently intones to bass led rhythms of softly breathed vocals. The guitar slides in a Paris Texas lilt to the ends of the fretboard evoking wide open emotional spaces, as a crowd chants the Sexy refrain back to the group.

There are two discs of light ambience primarily sung in German, a heavily breathed vocal delight of self composed structures that play in the background and then move forward with a sudden speed to grab instant attention before eventually receding again.

There can be no greater praise because after all Silence is Sexy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ...as black as Malevitch Sq..., 18 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Silence Is Sexy (Audio CD)
Einstürzende Neubauten are known for there use of Heavy Percussion, but on this there twentyith annaversary release they move in to new areas. This is most notable on the title track where the verses are interspursed with the sound of mainman Blixa Bargeld inhaling a ciggarette. All the songs on the albun seem to lead up to 'Die Befindlichkeit des Landes' A song which comment's on the continual re building of the bands home, Berlin. The second CD contains the track 'Pelikanol' which is best vewd as a recording of an performance peice and draws on Bargeld's celebrated 'Rade/Speak' perfomances, mixing with traditanal EN instalation musical instraments. It is with out doubt Einstürzende Neubauten's best Album for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ding dong, 13 Jun 2002
By 
Mr. David Chapman (newport wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silence Is Sexy (Audio CD)
I am relatively new to the einsturzende neubauten experience but have listened to enough to say that I definitely prefer the later stuff to the old pvc wannabe industrial.
Silence is sexy is a mature with hints of blixa comedic german wit. 'Reduckt' is a particularly great neubauten song with tension being built through the use of custom built instruments.
The whirring alchemy of Einsturzende is a force to be reckoned with and this move away from the analogue bleeps of proto industrial is both moving and creative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars lacking, 15 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Silence Is Sexy (Audio CD)
not much here that really sparks any interest. Apart from using it for background music in RPGs, this album has little or no use whats so ever...
Hmm maybe a doorstop perhaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silence Is Sexy
Silence Is Sexy by Einsturzende Neubauten (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews