Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you buy one book on Haskell, make it this.
The best book on Haskell there is - believe me, I've got them all. There are a lot of intellectually challenging concepts in Haskell that I have never seen explained well - anywhere. This book changes all that. The author has any uncanny knack of answering your questions as you think of them - even the dumb ones. This book should be the de facto text for schools...
Published on 16 Jun 2011 by skytreebird

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent introduction but not good for learning to program.
This book will not teach you how to program. However, given this, if you already know the main principles behind programming, it is too slow. Really, one should understand the fundamentals of computer science (orders of growth, iterative and recursive processes, state, core data structures, evaluation) before learning this (maybe through something like SICP which teachs...
Published 10 months ago by Savonarola


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you buy one book on Haskell, make it this., 16 Jun 2011
The best book on Haskell there is - believe me, I've got them all. There are a lot of intellectually challenging concepts in Haskell that I have never seen explained well - anywhere. This book changes all that. The author has any uncanny knack of answering your questions as you think of them - even the dumb ones. This book should be the de facto text for schools teaching functional programming. I believe that this text is a game changer and the vehicle that will finally bring Haskell to the masses - I just hope it's not too late. If you're thinking about learning Haskell, forget the rest >>= get the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book to start with, 5 Sep 2012
I'm quite experienced in imperative languages, however always wanted to get acquainted with functional programming. Web gave me the hint - Haskell. To prepare myself for a journey to Haskell I got 6-7 books and tutorials on topic, browsed through them to pick the 1st... Learn you a Haskell... seem to be the smoothest intro into the language. Author leads us gradually to more complicated constructs by examples and explanations. This is definitely just the 1st book you pick if you're new to functional progeamming, next ones will be Real world Haskell and tutorials from the inet. Style of the book seem to be ok, but some "jokes" could have been omitted, and examples could have been more interesting :-) . Anyway, author did a great job of making Haskell friendly (other authors seem to compete in making it more obscure :-) ). So I recommend the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A matchless introduction to Haskell., 21 Jan 2012
The functional programming paradigm is not one that will come instantly to people used to predominantly imperative programming languages like C or Python, and many of the Haskell texts available at time of writing are quite technical, dry affairs. This has changed with "Learn You A Haskell For Great Good", which is a superb introductory text to Haskell and functional programming in general.

The book is not designed for people learning their first programming language (although I feel it's written well enough that a dedicated beginner could get a fair deal out of it), but rather for programmers that have had prior exposure to other languages and want to get to grips with the functional paradigm. You could not wish for a better book - it's concise, clear and sufficiently comprehensive without being dry or overly obtuse. The writing is somewhat quirky and humorous at times- which may not be to everyone's liking- but the author is extremely sympathetic to the reader and is quick to answer questions and highlight topics that many authors would typically brush over.

In summary, this book is the best introduction to Haskell and perhaps functional programming available at the time of writing, and at under 400 pages is an ideal preparation for some of the more formidable texts out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential book for hard core developers, 10 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I came across the concept of a Monad whilst I was learning Scala and I bought this book with the sole purpose of getting a thorough understanding of the concept. Success.

Haskell is difficult, its concepts are, as you would expect from a language that has been designed by a committee whose sole purpose was to create the ultimate programming language, as close to the world of math as it gets and unconstrained by engineering considerations such as the size of a bus or the width of a processor pipeline. This makes this language a true weapon for problem churning, but it also makes it exceptionally hard to get, specially in what regards to its type system. This book does an amazing job at getting you from zero to being able to code serious things progressively and almost easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good first Haskell book, 8 Jun 2011
By 
J. Tavares (PT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I must say I learned a lot and it was fun reading this book! It is very well written and presents a lot of material aimed to true beginners. Although it should be noted that it's not a text for beginners in programming, only for those who don't know Haskell. And the text really focuses on the language and skips unnecessary stuff, which is quite good because you start working with Haskell immediately. Another good thing of the book is the actual pace. The information comes at the right speed! You never feel it's going to fast or too slow, or that suddenly things become too complicated. It builds your knowledge of Haskell in the right amount, especially if you take some time to do some coding of your own. Only the last chapters of the book start to become more hard to grasp at a first reading because it deals with advanced concepts that will need more training from a beginner.

The author has a sense of humor while not filling the text with lots of jokes or provocative humor; it just feels natural. The cartoons that populate the book are not comics and just have a figurative role. I must confess that sometimes they just fill space but others they help making the reading more nice. My only complain with the book is the lack of coding exercises at the end of each chapter. This wouldn't be a complain if the book was more structured around mini-projects that would force you to code something larger than small functions. They exist, e.g., the task list, the calculator, but more would be a nice addition.

Did I learn Haskell with the book? Definitely yes! And it was fun! Naturally I'm still at a beginner's level but if I keep coding more in Haskell, I believe I can consolidate what I've learned and be ready to pass to a more intermediate level. I have not read other Haskell books but if you want to learn the language, have a good grasp of its capabilities and what you can do with it, this is a good book to achieve it and I recommend it without a doubt!

Disclaimer: I was offered by the publisher a free copy for review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to Haskell, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been reading Real World Haskell, but after reading the first hundred pages I felt that I where missing a few things. I then bought Learn You a Haskell, which I find to be absolutely fantastic at explaining the basics of Haskell. The flow is on the verge of being perfect, whenever I think I'd like to move on, the book does. There is a little humor here and there, which I like, and the drawings are also quite enjoyable. It explains subjects, even some which where hard to grasp by other sources, really well.

The combination of Real World Haskell and this book is great. This is a friendly book, which will dress you up nicely for the journey into the dragons den (Just kidding, Haskell is a beautiful language!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best Haskell Primer, 18 July 2014
This book is wonderfully written! The language is explained in a very balanced fashion (i.e. not too much (pedantic) - not too little (presumptuous)), the layout and editing are really friendly and inviting. Even his humour shows the guy is down to earth rather than the often encountered (in these circles), disconnected nerd humour a-la Sheldon (...). Probably the best primer for Haskell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paper copy (of this fantastic book) does not have coloured pictures., 7 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. S. P. Corcoran (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have purchased a paper a copy of this after reading the free online version and enjoying it so much.

Content-wise, I have nothing to add to the already plentiful 5 star reviews with which I agree whole-heartedly.

It is worth noting however, that if you have been enchanted by the endearingly random and colourful images in the electronic versions of this book, you should prepare yourself for the significantly drabber printed versions. That said, it is still an excellent text, and I mention the colour issue merely in case it would be a deal breaker for you - IMHO it shouldn't be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and informative, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're coming from an imperative programming background, this book is a gentle introduction into the world of functional programming and Haskell, with eye-opening examples and an all-around fun atmosphere. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gets you your foundations, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn You a Haskell for Great Good!: A Beginner's Guide (Kindle Edition)
Starts off a easy, and gives you the content in the right order. Bent towards teaching kids, but despite this it's not patronising, overall pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews