Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nimue Alban/Safehold five: Weber is getting back on form
This is the fifth installment in the "Safehold" series in which the major character is Nimue Alban. Not all of the author's fanbase will like it - there is very little here for the people who like high-tech space battles for instance - but I thought it was a big improvement on volume four and as with the previous books in the series I could hardly put it down...
Published on 19 Sep 2011 by Marshall Lord

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the last, but still long-winded
In this book, Weber manages to move the various threads along rather more than in the previous volume.

The book is, however, still marred by excessive long-windedness, and by a light/teasing/sarcastic dialogue that is so often misplaced; I positively cringe at some of the dialogue, especially with Sharleyan. In fact I find myself skimming over whole pages of...
Published on 29 Oct 2011 by Mr. G. Gallacher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Another great step along the way!, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Firm a Foundation (Safehold) (Kindle Edition)
This series is just great. Can't wait to read the rest. The detail is very good and the picture created by the writer brings this book to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Jun 2013
By 
John Dean - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
David Weber just gets better and better.
Not a book for the "zap,zap, bang, bang space opera only" enthusiast, but a well written absorbing addition to the Safehold series.
His many fans will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slow but steady, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Firm a Foundation (Safehold) (Kindle Edition)
This novel is a clever example of technological advances changing societies. Done in an entertaining story arc. A little slow perhaps but enjoyable none the less. You could do far worse than becoming embt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Once you get past the nautical gibberish, a fine book, 3 May 2013
By 
D. R. Cantrell (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book starts terribly. We are treated to sixty pages of incomprehensible gibberish in which sailors desperately thwart the top-gallants and abaft the mains'l while the sea larboards the weather side. Yes, we get the idea that they're in dire peril, but for God's sake GET ON WITH IT. At a 'mere' 800 pages for the whole book, far fewer than its bulky predecessor in the series A Mighty Fortress, which weighed in at over a thousand, this is approaching 10% of the book, and much of this nautical nonsense serves little purpose. Yes, what little of it is comprehensible to people without peglegs and clavicular psittaciformes is exciting, but it doesn't advance the story much, and certainly not by nearly 10%.

Thankfully, normal service is soon restored and as well as interludes of exciting local action as navies smash each other to bits, the global story is significantly advanced. One particular advance opens the way for what I'm sure will be very dramatic events in the next volume in the series.

Returning to my criticisms of the previous volume, the cover art is far less awful - it's still not great, but at least it's not offensively bad this time - and the internal monologues are kept under better control. They're still there, they're there in everything Weber writes these days, but at least they don't distract too much from events. The stupid names? Well, yeah, they're still there. It wouldn't really be possible to fix that now. But I still hate them.

If it wasn't for the meaningless interludes of ahoying of spinnakers and the stupid names I'd just about award this five out of five shiny gold stars. It's not a great book, but it is at least thoroughly enjoyable, which matters far more to me than all the literariness in the world. Of course, this deep into a series it will make little sense if you've not read all the previous volumes, but with those caveats I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another worthy (and wordy) sequel., 23 Mar 2013
This review is from: How Firm a Foundation (Safehold) (Kindle Edition)
If David Weber has a fault as an author, it's that all his characters talk in the same spectacularly long-winded way. Having said that, this is still an enjoyable read. It looks as if the war will be over, oh in another fifteen volumes or so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A mediaevil slash-and-thrust with a veneer of science fiction, 3 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. Leonard F. Clark "Len CLark" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author obviously loves sailing and the world of galleons and there's a lot of affection in the writing - and, I suspect, a great deal of accuracy. He also communicates a clear Christian commitment - which makes it all the more strange that he has chosen as his combatants the leaders of a corrupt "church". (I guess he would argue that one theme of the books is the difference between faith and religion.)

The series is somewhat protracted and could have done with some heavy editing (hence the loss of stars). There were also one or two places where I found it difficult to accept the basic premises behind the books. Some of the dialogue was also a bit twee and I found myself wincing at attempts to express affection or humour.

Nevertheless, if you want a good swash-buckling read without too much effort, then these fit the bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good continuation, 22 Feb 2013
This review is from: How Firm a Foundation (Safehold) (Kindle Edition)
The safehold series continues well in this book.
By now the basic storyline is fairly clear but this book goes deeper into the impact of true religious war.

Can't wait for the series to be completed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring............, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Firm a Foundation (Safehold) (Kindle Edition)
I've read all the series, but this one sadly, does little to advance the saga's story line. There's very little technology,and little action from the cybernetic avatar who could be providing the impetus necessary to advance the development of society. Some recourse, again, to uninteresting naval engagements - done better by practically every author of Wooden ship adventure novels - and numerous long discursive passages about this and that......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars like it but flawed, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Firm a Foundation (Safehold) (Kindle Edition)
dear lords why did you spend what felt like 3 chapters on the one scene of a ship in a storm? there was no dramatic tension as all the characters were secondary at best and there was nothing but their survival riding on the outcome. If they had been delivering urgent message or escorting politically important message maybe. but there was nothing it was just a ship in a storm.
rant over
anyway continued to enjoy series when is next one on kindle?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars David Weber, latest Safehold., 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Firm a Foundation (Safehold) (Kindle Edition)
David is in the top 5 of the present SF authors. However it appears that he gets paid by the word as he minutly describes the thought process of all the characters. The result is that less than 10% of the book has any action scenes. But he does draw you in and because he does, I have read all his major works and wiill continue to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How Firm a Foundation (Safehold)
3.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews