Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


170 of 178 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff - must read for anyone
I have read the first six chapters of this book. This book is a must have for anyone planning to run their own business / improve their existing one. The book is very clearly laid out and provides a wealth of knowledge about pretty much all the things you need to know to start your own business... from writing up your business plan to employing people!
Don't expect...
Published on 8 Dec. 2004 by drummo

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok as as basic guide
Very basic advice, all the information contained in the book, is easy to find on the internet for free, However easy to understand, and a good reference tool, No doubt will come in useful at times.
Published on 27 Jan. 2013 by MR C D SORRELL


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

170 of 178 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff - must read for anyone, 8 Dec. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read the first six chapters of this book. This book is a must have for anyone planning to run their own business / improve their existing one. The book is very clearly laid out and provides a wealth of knowledge about pretty much all the things you need to know to start your own business... from writing up your business plan to employing people!
Don't expect to run your own "successful" business without any prior knowledge or research. Books are your best friend, and this one will be very good in satisfying that condition. I'd recommend you buy a marker pen also and highlight the bits most relevant to you, in fact why not write notes in the page margins related to your business.
This book goes in depth in reasons for setting up a business *as well as* reasons for why not to set up your own business, what considerations you should take and what the business type of person is.
A must read for any one serious going in to business, but be warned you need to take your time reading this book and setting up a business... its not simple, but this book is a perfect guideline to show you how.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grade A information, 13 July 2011
By 
Eren Lakeman "Eren" (London,) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You cant go wrong with this book. It covers everything from patents to business plans, even funding options.
With this i have already started one small business and have another 2 in the process of startups.
Very informative. Clear. Essential read.

In my opinion a great book for starting a business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starting a business beginner's book, 16 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really great guide on how to begin your business. Easy to understand, unjargon-ish, down-to-earth and, as I've found already, the "for Dummies" books are ideal for us ("the masses") as well as the professionals. Written intelligently and professionally by people who've been there seen it and done it. Colin Barrow is a people-friendly person! We can select some or all topics as required and we can pick up some "ahahhhh" tips and revelations in this book. An excellent, user-friendly and humerously constructed book for (almost) anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good easy to understand book, 17 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like all of the books in this series they are well presented and talk you through steps in an understandible way. Would definitely recommend this book for all new business starters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My thoughts, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starting a Business For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
Great little book and full of good solid info, I often re-visit the book to check and brush up on certain facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Read, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starting a Business For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
Good book gives good advice and is easy to read so highly recommended for first time business startups Very Good Read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars some good ideas and tips, 30 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starting a Business For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
This is a fairly long book with some very good examples for tose wanting to start a business- only on chapter 3 yet but have highlighted various websites to check out etc. also really like the real life examples the book gives..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok as as basic guide, 27 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very basic advice, all the information contained in the book, is easy to find on the internet for free, However easy to understand, and a good reference tool, No doubt will come in useful at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good one, 17 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
consists lot of information about businnes, in pair with marketing for dummies gives a kickstart to a new businnes, and even managers of long running companies will find usefull facts for a price of a good breakfast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book to fill in the spaces..., 29 Nov. 2013
Have bought several books about going about starting our business, I wanted to make sure I had all the paths covered and this book fullfilled that. See my other reviews for more info about packaging etc. Everything Ok in th end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Starting a Business For Dummies
£12.23
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews