Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The legend
This is the definitive second C++ book, the one you should read after you've read a good introduction. You need to be familiar with the syntax of C++, then this book will teach you about using C++'s features in a non-trivial way.

C++ is not short on books that provide bite-sized mini-essays on the best way to use some feature of the language, but this is the ne...
Published on 21 Feb. 2007 by Thing with a hook

versus
2 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad
Should really be called "55 specific ways to make your programs more complicated". Interesting read but much of it I disagreed with. Still glad I read it though.
Published on 10 Mar. 2007 by coder


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The legend, 21 Feb. 2007
This is the definitive second C++ book, the one you should read after you've read a good introduction. You need to be familiar with the syntax of C++, then this book will teach you about using C++'s features in a non-trivial way.

C++ is not short on books that provide bite-sized mini-essays on the best way to use some feature of the language, but this is the ne plus ultra. It cuts through the bewildering complexity of C++, providing simple guidelines about what to do and what never to do. For example, you may understand the difference between pointers versus references, const versus non-const. But their various combinations as function parameters and return types may be bewildering. Don't worry - Meyers dispenses his wisdom clearly and efficiently. You'll wonder why it confused you in the first place. Then he repeats the trick another 54 times, taking in all of C++, including some template issues, and finding time to mention TR1 and Boost, too.

Like the GoF Design Patterns book, you need to read this or people will think you're an amateur. Fortunately, Meyers is a witty and pithy writer and his examples are always very well judged. Make this the first book you read after you've finished learning the basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 16 Mar. 2012
By 
Mark Sheehan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An excellent book, written for people who are already familiar with the syntax of C++ but are getting started with programming.
Meyers tells about the common pitfalls of the language and the best practices to avoid them or increase the efficiency of your code. He does this in a concise manner, an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must reading book, 2 Oct. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not many new software projects are started in C++ (except pc and console games). But the language is still used tremendously today. Huge bank systems, tele communications, games, embedded code etc. many of those have C++ under the surface. And Microsoft invests money in the development and support of C++ in their IDE, which just tells us that the language will not die anytime soon. The learning curve in C++ is kind of steep, but with the effective cpp book in your memory you will learn the mistakes I've felt on my own body. A must reading for anyone who think they know C++, I promise, you will learn new things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, wish I had purchased it years ago, 12 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been using C++ for a few years and this book taught me one or two things and clarified a few points regarding topics I already knew about. Would also make a great second book for someone who has read through and understood a tutorial style book.

If you are serious about learning and using C++ this is a book you will need eventually, I would recommend sooner rather than later. As long as you keep using C++ the worst that could happen is that it sits around on your shelf for a while until you are ready for what it discusses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone beyond an absolute beginner with C++ must read this. C++ is a versatile, generally fast language (still the mainstay of video and engineering development), but that power carries with it dangers to be wary of. This book explains these as concisely as possible and explains possible solutions.

I doubt there are many C++ programmers out there who would not gain something from a refresher reading of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 4 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is dated, but still essential reading for anyone practicing C++. His more up to date books ONLY comment on the latest C++11 and C++14 techniques, so I highly advise anyone who is learning, or knows C++ to give this a read. Your program designs will improve immensely. This is a seminal work on programming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for returning to C++, 21 Feb. 2011
By 
J. Bond "Xelous" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a programmer returning to C++ from the lovely safe sand box of C# and the CLR I bought this book on the recommendation of a forum post. And it has been one of the best reads on the C++ language I have ever had.

Each item is given cleanly and with good examples (maybe only items 50 and 51 are a bit sketchy - but they could almost be one single item).

The book gives a grounding, with reference to C# and VB.Net of problems the average C++ programmer comes across, and then gives great insight into how C++ should [officially should get around the problems at hand].

The items range in topic from simple basic coding standards, to using of standard library elements and then down to the nitty gritty nuts and bolts of C++ as a functional tool for achieving a software goal.

The real only draw back of this book is that you want to constantly refer back to its pages to put its teaching into practice, and it is only a soft cover, so wears out far too quickly... hehe!

A must have for anyone who thinks they know how to program in C++.

A must have for anyone new to STD and STD::TR1.

A must have for anyone fighting with memory leaks in C++!

A must have for anyone returning to C++ from a managed CLR driven language like C#.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!, 22 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Effective C++: 55 Specific Ways to Improve Your Programs and Designs (3rd Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent for advanced C++ programmers, if you take care of all the points while writing the program it would be a much superior quality program and would help while you debug it. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 18 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of a kind. Some one at Qt Developer Days Conference in Berlin, told me that you really can't do any coding i C++ whitout having read this book. And he is probably right. This is the book which really 'get you thinking in C++'. Funny too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful examples; not your standard programming text book., 1 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting examples and very useful. It tackles some of the quirks of c++ very well and poses interesting questions and examples. I'd recommend this to every c++ programmer: beginner to expert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews