Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars44
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£6.64
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 August 2011
Hello,

I recently bought Magic: The Complete Course Book and DVD,
I have alawys been a big fan of magic and wanted to learn more and more of it and so over the past 3 years i have bought many kits and books and needless to say this is by FAR the best one out there.

A few weeks before buying this I bought The Royal Road To Card Magic for four different reasons:

1) I am a HUGE fan of card magic, it's my favourite type of magic to do as all you need is a deck of cards and a person, Simples :)

2) It is the top purchased magic book on Amazon.co.uk

3) The review were good.

4) It was cheap!

Overall....
A BIG MISTAKE!
(For more info on why see my review on that book)

So long story short this book may be double the price of The royal road to card magic, but for the extra money you do get:

- A DVD

- A large variety of different tricks

- Full colour pictures on how to do the tricks

- Easily explained tricks

- (in my case) The best card tricks.

- So, for just over £10 it is very cheap!

Before buying this book i read the reviews and one reviewer stated that 'THIS BOOK SHOULD BE BANNED'
and i agree with him, It is THAT good, there should only be 10 copies of this printed and all should be hidden in secret magic shops, above a Bar/Pub, down dark alley way somewhere, and should only open during the late hours of the night!
Ok, a may be getting a bit carried away with this review,
But really, stop reading this review, just go BUY THE BOOK!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2011
Most kids magic sets are cheap junk which most of us have seen time and time again. This is on a whole new level as it is a colourful book and comprehensive DVD course on how to do professional magic tricks. My daughter (who is 9) has been impressing family and friends who are still left wondering "How did she do that". Her only complaint is that Joshua Jay seems to assume that it will be boys doing the magic tricks!

Some of the tricks are quite straightforward, some involve some practise, others need a lot of practise. But the book sets out a grading system to show this, so you know where to start.

To do all the tricks will require some special props, most of these can be found on the internet or if you are lucky enough to have a local magic shop I'm sure they can help.

In conclusion, this is a great place to start for anyone serious about magic, and it felt like money well spent rather than wasted.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2009
OK - This book should be banned from sale on amazon.
YES - banned.

Why - simply this book should only be sold in magic shops - its price tripled and then put in a corner behind all the other books.

This is a fantastic book - I just hope not too many non magicians buy it at this price. If they do it will provide an extremely good primer with the DVD showing what can be done with simple tricks with the right presentation. (Not all the tricks are simple).

Joshua Jay is a superb magician as seen in his videos done for the magic fraternity.

If you are just starting out in magic this is an excellent starting point - also get Mark Wilson's "Complete Course in Magic". With the 2 you will have enough magic to last a long time untill the bug really bites.

(When it does you can end up spending spending and spending - 200 plus books bought at the moment)

So get your magic while its still cheap and and such a high quality product.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 January 2015
This is a fine introduction to magic in many of its forms. Its great strength is the clarity of the explanations. It is ideally suitable for both quite young beginners and for the somewhat more advanced practitioner. The tricks are graded in terms of difficulty and beginners are helped to acquire the skills that underlie the practice of magic. The illustrations are genuinely helpful in making even clearer what is explained in words.

The DVD is generally geared more towards the inexperienced, but is a useful refresher course for all. It seems to me that the book is well worth the price for the card tricks and advice alone, but there is so much more. It is hard to imagine someone interested in this field who would not enhance their performance skills through some close attention to this book. Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2011
I bought this for a friend's son who's into magic after seeing all the good reviews on Amazon. When it arrived I realised it was an absolute bargain, not only does it contain excellent modern magic, well illustrated and explained it contains a DVD as well!

Flicking through the book makes me wish I'd bought two copies- one to keep!

I still have my first magic book when I was a kid and it does not compare to this one.

If you're looking for the ideal magic book for a budding magician- this is it!

- Alexkazam
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2009
This is a first class introductory book for learning to be a proficient magician. In fact those who have been performing magic for some time will benefit from some of the ideas and routines described. With the added bonus of a DVD to assist the learning process this has to be one of the best value for money bargains I have experienced for a long time.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
I bought this as a present to my 13-year old aspiring magician grandson and he was absolutely delighted, and spent the rest of the holiday engrossed in it - even entertained us with a couple of newly learnt (and very good), tricks. One very good thing about it is that very little "equipment" is used or needed. The area is not my interest, however, looking through its pages, it's presented in an attractive, accessible manner for all levels of practitioners. Beautiful illustrations, glossy paper. I am very pleased with my choice and would heartily recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2009
Joshua Jay's book is a great introduction to magic in every way possible. The book is gorgeous, with loads of photos and great, really great tricks that will help you lose the fear of performing for friends.

The DVD is very well done and incredibly usefull. When I was a kid, there wasn't this kind of aid. It was only books and a lot of interpretation from the reader. Now, with DVDs, everything is easier.

Jay is funny and charismatic and really knows how to explain the tricks step by step.

The whole package is a great bargain. Where else will you find a great book and an amazing DVD with magic tutorials for this price?
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2011
This is a good purchase for any level of Magican. Jay is an excellent performer and very good teacher. He takes you through step by step and allows you to see exactly how each rountine is done. Overall I would rate this as a very good item.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
This is a good book for beginners, but the down part is that you need, some extra magic items, such as coins, cards, rings.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)