Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning portrait film
I've only recently started using Portra 160 having been mostly doing my own B&W films processing but it has impressed immensely.

The whole thing with films is that they each have a unique 'look'. You choose the film depending on the results you want. Something like Velvia is famed for it's amazingly deep and vibrant colour saturation and is frankly amazing , in...
Published 21 months ago by brainleek007

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
This film is defected it is horribly damaged by Xray machines
Published 10 days ago by laura pannack


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning portrait film, 16 Mar 2013
By 
brainleek007 (Bracknell) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kodak Portra 160 Colour Negative 120 Film Pack of 5 (Electronics)
I've only recently started using Portra 160 having been mostly doing my own B&W films processing but it has impressed immensely.

The whole thing with films is that they each have a unique 'look'. You choose the film depending on the results you want. Something like Velvia is famed for it's amazingly deep and vibrant colour saturation and is frankly amazing , in the right hands, for landscape work. Portra's look is about nailing skin tones first and foremost and it does this amazingly well. Colours overall are generally subdued but it's the skin tones that are just so good... There's something else, I'm finding it difficult to put down in words but I find Portra has a slightly ethereal quality but this is of course totally subjective but I really like that aspect of the film.

I've found it really easy to scan on an Epson V750 and when I nail the focusing on my old Mamiya RB 67 (see attached sample shot) it produces very sharp negatives.

It's a film I've instantly fallen in love with as it produces a kind of subtlety in the final image that's can be time consuming to reproduce in Photoshop with digital files.

And have you seen the price?? I've picked up 5 rolls of this in 120 format for less that twenty quid. Unbelievable!

Stock up and make sure they never stop producing this!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super film at a great price., 20 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kodak Portra 160 Colour Negative 120 Film Pack of 5 (Electronics)
Portra has fine grain, great colour if you process the scan correctly and can deliver superlative flesh tones. If you do film, especially at 120 you should give it a go. A 6x7 should deliver a grainless sharp metre long print- if your technique is up to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Print Film for Portraits, 30 Aug 2014
This review is from: Kodak Portra 160 Colour Negative 120 Film Pack of 5 (Electronics)
This is a fabulous print film for portraits ; superb natural skin tones . Have printed up to 16" x 20" with sparkling results from professional lab. - intend to scan smaller prints for big digital prints in future . Wonderful film , thoroughly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars which produced beautiful images - will be buying again, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kodak Portra 160 Colour Negative 120 Film Pack of 5 (Electronics)
Stunning film, which produced beautiful images - will be buying again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 16 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kodak Portra 160 Colour Negative 120 Film Pack of 5 (Electronics)
This film is defected it is horribly damaged by Xray machines
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kodak Portra 160 Colour Negative 120 Film Pack of 5 (Electronics)
thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews