Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shadows of the Damned
I'll start by saying this - if you're on this page, reading this review then you'll probably enjoy the game because it must have something that you are interested in. If this is the case, buy it! It deserves to have your money and support as it is one of the rare pieces of truly unique material in its genre... Now, onto the review.

Story: You play a demon...
Published on 8 July 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grindhouse shooter is hella hard work
Shadows Of The Damned knows exactly what it wants from life - or, more accurately, death. Where some other games play requiems on your tender heartstrings and prod your emotions, this third-person road trip to hell (from the minds of Resi's Shinji Mikami and Killer7 creator Suda51) wants to jack you into the mains and play a screaming drum solo on your frazzled soft bits...
Published on 5 Aug. 2011 by Mother


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shadows of the Damned, 8 July 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shadows of the Damned (PS3) (Video Game)
I'll start by saying this - if you're on this page, reading this review then you'll probably enjoy the game because it must have something that you are interested in. If this is the case, buy it! It deserves to have your money and support as it is one of the rare pieces of truly unique material in its genre... Now, onto the review.

Story: You play a demon hunter who goes through hell (literally) to try and rescue his girlfriend from the lord of the underworld who is intent on making her suffer for eternity. You are alone against a world of demons, your only companion being your rude, wise cracking, shape shifting sidekick/all purpose tool Johnson. While the story itself isn't very deep, along your journey you'll learn about the customs, taboos and history of Hell by talking to Johnson and examining the posters and books scattered through the cobblestone streets and fiery caverns of the underworld. This really adds to the experience, making the world around you seem that much more tangible.

The characters in the game are some of the best I've seen in a while and they really make the experience much more enjoyable. The playful banter between the hero, Garcia, and his skull sidekick Johnson makes it so that even when you aren't slaughtering hoards of monsters, the game doesn't ever get dull, and their puerile and often immature comments on the world around them injects some humor into the bleak, horror filled areas they traverse. This also allows the characters to develop well and you'll see from the early stages that Garcia is not just a badass, tough talking demon hunter, he also has a strong sense of justice and cares deeply about his loved ones.

Gameplay: The game plays like a cross between Resident Evil 4 and Dead Space. You move with the left control stick and rotate the camera with the right. L1 allows you to aim and R1 fires (but unlike RE4 you are not static while aiming, a welcome change). You have a small selection of weapons which can be changed with the D-Pad, a melee attack, a dodge roll, and a button to use healing items. The control of the character was, for me at least, flawless and felt very fluid. I never found myself struggling against awkward camera angles or the character not doing what I wanted him to do. It feels like a slick, polished version of RE4.

There are some fairly simple puzzles to solve which usually involve destroying a certain object or finding a certain item, but these are VERY easily solved as the game is very linear - you'll not find any diverging paths or optional areas to explore besides the occasional extra room or small alcove.

The game is split into Acts, and each act has a number of sections. These sections typically see you killing demons and solving those simple puzzles before fighting a boss to end the act. There are regular checkpoints throughout the entire game and no penalty for dying (apart from the progress you lose by going back to the last checkpoint, obviously), so there's not a lot of pressure on the player to succeed at every battle.

You can upgrade your guns' stats, your melee attack and your health using red gems found lying around hell. Your weapons are also physically altered by the blue gems you receive throughout the game, giving them new abilities. However I found this to be annoying at times as you are forced to accept these changes, one of which effectively ruined one of the guns for me.

Boss fights start off very interesting, for example at an early part of the game you battle a 50 foot tall minotaur that urinates pure darkness, however they soon become quite boring and amount to nothing more than shooting the red weak spot.

Sound: Akira Yamaoka of the Silent Hill series made the soundtrack for Shadows, and put simply it is fantastic. It fits the atmosphere of the world you are in and really pulls you in. The voice acting is brilliant and brings the characters to life, and the sound effects fit in perfectly (although some are lifted from Silent Hill.)

Content/Replayability: This is the first game in a long time that I have wanted to play again as soon as I finished it for the first time. This is partly because it is an incredibly fun, enjoyable game and partly because it left me wanting more. I finished it in around 7 hours on both normal and hard mode, and there is nothing to do outside of the main story bar collecting trophies (but this isn't something that interests me).

There also aren't really any alternate ways to play the game - you are given 3 weapons and nothing else. You cant try out different weapons/items/strategies like you can in some other games (Bioshock is a good example, lots to play around with there) because there aren't any. So unless some DLC is released, the only way you can spice up the game is to impose rules upon yourself (e.g. use only 1 weapon, don't heal etc). There's also no new game+ feature, which seems to put many players off as it makes collecting red gems more difficult.

Conclusion: Overall, Shadows of the Damned is an excellent game which mixes some of the most bizarre and horrifying monsters I've ever seen with some of the most immature humor I've ever come across. The simply story is backed up by a well developed cast of characters and small touches that give the world depth. The gameplay is smooth and interesting but gets repetitive at times (though thats not to say there aren't a few curve balls thrown in), and the music, sound effects and voice acting are all top notch. The only problem I have with the game is that it is short and there's not much to do outside the main story, or to put it in the game's innuendo laden style of humor - it's good for a quick ride but not big enough to completely satisfy me.

(Thanks for reading!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grindhouse shooter is hella hard work, 5 Aug. 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shadows of the Damned (PS3) (Video Game)
Shadows Of The Damned knows exactly what it wants from life - or, more accurately, death. Where some other games play requiems on your tender heartstrings and prod your emotions, this third-person road trip to hell (from the minds of Resi's Shinji Mikami and Killer7 creator Suda51) wants to jack you into the mains and play a screaming drum solo on your frazzled soft bits. Does it succeed? Not quite.

You play Garcia Hotspur, killer of demons, wearer of leather, lover of imperilled girlfriend Paula. He comes home from a day of devil merking to find his sweetheart swinging from the ceiling fan while his knob-headed nemesis Fleming drags her soul to the underworld. Fleming is the Lord Of Demons, and he's grown tired of Hotspur's obssession with wiping out his minions, so as a punishment he condemns Garcia's special lady to an eternity of beheading, cannibalism and disappointing puddings. This leads Garcia to re-evaluate his life, opening up a Heavy Rain-style exploration of loss and the nature of faith. No, of COURSE it doesn't. He takes the highway to hell with his Johnson in hand - we'll get to that next - in order to rescue Paula and kick every demon ass he can find.

Everyone knows that it's not possible to fight demons using conventional weaponry, so Garcia is accompanied by Johnson, a flaming demon skull with a camp English accent and the ability to morph into an arsenal of spectre-shredding firearms. Johnson is an exile of the underworld who acts as Garcia's tour guide through the shadowy vision of hell - think of it as a buddy cop movie where all the criminals are rotting corpses and your partner is an oversexed severed head with a rude-sounding name. You can think of that, right?

The first time you squeeze your Johnson (that's the last one, I promise), Mikami's influence becomes clear - Shadows Of The Damned plays EXACTLY like Resident Evil 4. Johnson has a laser sight that's perfect for popping the heads of lurching demons, and their slow shuffling strongly recalls the snarling approach of the Ganados.

Unfortunately, Shadows Of The Damned is a greasy trudge through a laborious underworld rather than the thunderous shoot-out that was promised. It often feels more middle management than middle finger: progression requires grinding busywork, such as shooting distant lanterns or gunning through a predetermined number of enemies. It's not quite as tired as the old 'invisible wall' trick, but there's only one reason why killing 17 demons should open door number 666: lazy design. Garcia is hand-crafted from awesome to kick demonic ass, so why make him a glorified doorman?

At times the game seems at pains to deliberately halt your progress. Your path is frequently blocked by demonic, baby-faced doors that can only be opened by feeding them eyeballs, brains or strawberries (they're made of ground tongue, apparently) so holy retribution often turns into an offal hunt. There's only ever one way of progressing through each level, and the linear gameplay is almost totally at odds with the rebellious, punk-rock representation. Far from being a wild ride through the highways of hell, this feels more like a stop-start trundle on My First Trike through the most accommodating afterlife imaginable.

For every aspect of the presentation that's impressive - climbing over a gigantic, writhing version of Paula, demon bowling with a giant skull - there's something glum to counteract it. The slimy visuals make Garcia's trudge through hell hard on the eyes, but more irritating is the red ring that engulfs the screen as you take damage. Do you know what I absolutely DON'T need when I'm battling for my soul in the goddamned swamps of hell? A massive red sphincter that obscures half my view and makes fighting even more difficult. Worse still, the best ideas are always milked dry - a stylish 2D shooter section works as a clever distraction, but it's overused. When you eventually get your hands on the Big Boner (a massive, phallic extension of Johnson) the giant-killing jaunt that follows is stretched beyond the limits of enjoyment. Too often, Shadows Of The Damned does so much that's it's tiresome - the colours are too bright, the noises too noisy, the boners too big.

Possibly the most disappointing aspect of Shadows is that we know these developers could have made this awesome. Suda51's mix of satire and insanity worked to glorious excess in Killer7. Composer Akira Yamaoka's audio on Silent Hill remains the most terrifying aspect of that game. Mikami took survival horror from a niche genre and brought it to the mainstream. And yet with their powers combined, they've created a cacophony of bleating goats and over-saturated horror that barely conceals an average game.

So why a 3 star rating? Because if this were a film, I'd be congratulating it on being a riotous, consistently self-aware parody. But like recent Grindhouse homages, it draws inspiration from a long-dead genre that feels increasingly irrelevant; and there's nothing here that improves on the source material. Shadows Of The Damned should be reaching new levels of excess, pushing boundaries until they snap like agonisingly stretched tendons. Unfortunately, it's over-the-top in every place except where it truly matters: the gameplay. It might be dressed up like a rebellious version of Resident Evil, but underneath the leather jacket is a familiar, unbearably loud cardigan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointed, 17 Nov. 2011
By 
A. Griffiths "Adrian" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shadows of the Damned (PS3) (Video Game)
I picked this game up because it looked like a creepy gory action style adventure a bit like Devil May Cry or Bayonetta. Sadly I was a bit disappointed. Although it looks good, it doesn't play very well and it tries way too hard to be cool.

The story tells of a guy called Garcia whose beautiful girlfriend has been abducted by demons from Hell, so he goes to Hell to get her back. That's it, that's the whole plot. I guess that's enough as this is really just a game where you kill lots of monsters and progress through levels, but a bit more depth would have been nice.

Anyway the game plays just like Devil May Cry - you start with a weapon and can enhance it or earn new weapons and upgrades by collecting energy dropped by monsters. You can also upgrade your own stats and buy items. The levels take the form of twisted visions of hell, and most f them are pretty grim, strung up corpses and body parts litter the screen as you progress through gothic city slums, foggy graveyards, farmsteads, mazes and cathedrals, and there's blood literally everywhere. Not a game for the squeamish. Anyway it's pretty much a case of kill everything and move on, but there are a few unique features, one of which is the aspect of Darkness. This is when waves of darkness cover the playing field (usually spewing from some boss or from a portal somewhere), and while it's covering the area, enemies can't be killed and your health gradually drains away. There are many points in the game where you have t keep de-activating the darkness, attacking monsters and then de-activate it again as monsters keep turning it back on. This is not as much fun as it might sound. Playing in the darkness is disorientating and difficult - but I guess that is the idea. Didn't make me enjoy it, though. Nearly every boss you meet will have some kind of darkness phase which you will have to interrupt to make progress in killing them, and this became quite predictable after a while.

The monsters that come after you range from the annoying but easy enemies that simply come in waves, to the annoyingly difficult. Some are hugely frustrating to kill, as they have specific attack patterns that you have to learn and dodge, and a few only have very few hidden weak spots - case in point, some are like spiky hedgehogs and they only reveal their weak spot (concealed on their belly) when they are stunned and fall flat on their backs for a second or two. You need to be an extremely good aim to kill these. Sadly I found the aiming really tricky! This is a 3rd person shooter mostly (Not sword swinging), so think Chris in Resident Evil 5, but a lot faster. Fun for those who like a challenge to the reflexes.

Anyway, now for my most severe criticism: this game tries so hard to be cool it just made me want to turn off. It is extremely vulgar, there is way too much talk about sex, bodily functions and general bad language. Things reach a low point when your gun (which has a character and a voice) gets an upgrade that makes it behave like ...an erection. The level involves a peep show and the gun only works when you let it become aroused via a dirty phone call. I found this puerile in the extreme, and it really left me not wanting to bother finishing the game. But if you love things crude and dirty, then roll up, but it didn't engage me in any way whatsoever.

There was some more ingenuity - a couple of levels were 2D side-scrolling cartoons! Very odd (and not all that simple). In general the whole game is pretty surreal, it's all based in Hell so anything can happen at anytime - actually that kind of worked against it, as after a while you're just saying: "yeah yeah, what are you gonna do to me next?".

So to wrap up, I didn't find the game much fun. Aiming at monsters was very tricky - and that's almost 90% of the fighting style. Levels became predictable - oh look more heads on spikes - and the sexual and toilet-based humour should have been left out. So for me, this was a bit of a miss rather than a hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sleeper Hit Of The Year, 9 Aug. 2011
By 
Stevie G "Stevie G" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shadows of the Damned (PS3) (Video Game)
The bland cover art and cliched title does nothing to hint at the madness within. Shadows of the Damned is a startlingly original game, a collaboration between Suda 51 (No More Heroes), Shinji Mikami (Resident Evil 4) and Akira Yamaoka (Sound Director of Silent Hill). The plot is essentially a modern retelling of Dante's Inferno, heavily influenced by the grindhouse style. The games protagonist, Garcia Hotspur, would fit perfectly into a Robert Rodriguez movie. His demon slaying has infuriated Fleming - Lord of the Underworld, who rises up and kidnaps his girlfriend Paula. Accompanied by a filthy mouthed, upgradeable human skull by the name of Johnson, Garcia must rescue his lover from the City of the Damned.

There's a great deal of sexual innuendo, which is well delivered, and actually very funny. For example, one of Johnson's weapons is called the Boner, which can be upgraded to the Big Boner, and finally the Hot Boner. It leads to Garcia shouting lines like "Taste my big boner" as he dispatches demons. Dialogue is sharp, with some very funny exchanges between the two leads. Garcia is deliberately over the top, with Johnson acting as a counterbalance to the machismo. He will explain game mechanics, like goats being a source of light, or narrate demon fables scattered around the underworld. His explanations do add some context to the madness. But at one point, Garcia says "I am not even going to ask how that makes sense", which is definitely the best approach when playing this game.

Visuals are superb, despite the odd glitch. Lighting in particular is outstanding. Unsurprisingly, the game has some truly haunting music. Atmosphere is expertly conveyed by the audio, and creates a unique experience. Gameplay is very solid, primarily the Resident Evil, over the shoulder viewpoint, but turns into a side scrolling shooter at certain points. There's some memorable level design, such as navigating across a giant, semi naked gyrating lady. However, some sections do feel generic. Many areas lock upon entry and require all enemies are destroyed before the path re-opens. Keys and locks are also heavily used. Shrieking baby faces guard gates of the underworld, and are impartial to being fed specific foods, like strawberry's or brains. It's entertaining, but hasn't advanced from archaic `red key card', `blue key card' puzzles.

The weapon set is a limited but focused collection, with demonic equivalents of a pistol, shotgun and machine gun, which are upgraded during the course of the game to allow greater power and secondary modes. Red Gems upgrade statistics, and are hidden throughout the game, or can be purchased from a demon trader named Christopher. Enemy design is fantastic, especially some of the later creatures. Each individual boss is a memorable creation, but the tactics required to defeat them all follow a similar design, which does get a little predictable. Sadly, there is no replay value once the story has been completed. No New Game+ exists, or even a level select facility. It's sorely lacking a challenge mode or multiplayer options. However, obtaining the Platinum will require 3 plays, (one for each difficulty as they don't stack).

After a non-existent marketing campaign, it's unsurprising this hasn't sold well. But Shadows of the Damned is refreshingly original, and absolutely deserves your attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Just because its suda don't mean its good., 9 May 2013
By 
O. J. Mcshane (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shadows of the Damned (PS3) (Video Game)
Okay so the reason I bought this game was because of the amazing names behind it, but its not like they are incapable of making a bad game, fact is this would be a much lower rated game if it had none of these names behind it, frankly I find Shadows of the Damned to be a pretty awful game considering the the other titles i had played from these guys.

The main problem for me with this game was how it seemed to land you in awkward mini games, infact i did not complete the game because I was on a level which is just a arcade side scrolling shooter on of those games you'd play on your browser these days. I don't see why they thought this was a good idea there funny for about 5 seconds and then there just annoying with no option to skip.

The gunplay however i enjoyed quite a bit it was intense and felt alot like resident evil 4, which at the same time is kinda a bad thing the shooting is almost identical just a little more action orientated. Sometimes i would get to enemies that need to be killed a certain way or shot in certain places and really it felt like a half baked idea, thats the problem with this game it has lots of good ideas fun ideas but none of it is that well implemented to feel new or decent.

The plot to me even though I felt it wasn't supposed to be taken seriously at all still felt stupid, it is pretty much just a 10 hour long dirty joke, a tasteless one at that. I'd probably find it alot funnier if I was younger but at 20 years old it mostly just seemed immature something i'd laugh at at the start of high school.

Even as a big Suda 51 one fan (Killer 7, No more heroes) Akira Yamaoaka (Silent Hill) and Shinji Mikami (Resi 4) this game comes no were near how close any of those amazing games are, i feel these names are put on the front and labels so you have more chance of buying it but really don't feel pressured to buy it because your a fan of any of the staff your not missing any of there definitive work.

If you've got 10 quid to waste and your bored i'd recommend it, but really much better stuff to play. Its dressed up real nice and looks great from a distance but when you get up close theres just to many problems that just stop me from playing. Overall i'd give it a 4/10 maybe knock it up to a 6 or a 7 for effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Garcia the Demon Hunter, 18 Jan. 2012
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shadows of the Damned (PS3) (Video Game)
`Shadows of the Damned'; you had me at Garcia Hotspur. You don't have to include a wisecracking skull that turns into a gun, or a series of outlandish demons, just give me a central hero called Garcia Hotspur and let me unleash hell on the demon hordes. As you can tell from the protagonist of `Shadows', this is a game that does not take itself too seriously. `Shadows' is an action third person shooter, part horror, part grindhouse. You must descend deep into a city ran by demons in the hope of saving your girlfriend. To do this you must kill everything that moves and feed an assortment of food stuffs, including strawberries, to cherub faces that act as locks.

`Shadows' is a game with the level of craziness turned up to 11. However, to work as a game it will also need some decent gameplay mechanics. In terms of shooting the game holds its own, a variety of guns are available as well as a melee attack should an enemy get too close. For an action game, `Shadows' has lots of puzzle elements. You must use the darkness and light of the demon world to your benefit, either as a tool to see your path or as a means of killing an enemy. The use of light and dark gives the game an added strategic element.

Although the shooting and the puzzle elements of the game are good, there is an issue with the level design as a whole and some of the controls. Garcia moves slightly oddly, kind of like `Resident Evil' on skates. Throw in some repetitive level design and the game does become increasingly tiresome as you progress. Thankfully, every time you grow a little weary, developers Grasshopper throw in another crazy gameplay element, such as an OTT boss or side scrolling shooter section. These mini games don't work as well as the core elements of the game, but are fun for a while.

It is perhaps the witty script that Grasshopper will feel most proud in, but for me this is one of the poorest elements. The humour descends too often into the realm of crassness. Also the over sexualisation of the female form in the game means this is yet another mature title that fails to live up to the moniker. `Shadows of the Damned' is a nearly game, the level design and offbeat humour is a little too off, meaning the game is more a cult classic than a must play. However, for a decent price this is a great little game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Trash, 28 Feb. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shadows of the Damned (PS3) (Video Game)
There are some pretty negative reviews of this game, which I don't understand. I thought it played pretty great. It's a balls to the wall video game nasty, hot trash with absolutely nothing tasteful about it, and I love that.

Playing it feels kind of curdled, and that's a feeling you don't get in many games. Blowing heads off never felt so good, or so odd. Garcia doesn't control as well as Marcus Fenix in the gears games, but he's fun to play - his weapons are thrillingly different from the usual set of SCARs and DRAGUNOVs. I couldn't get enough of the machine gun that fires teeth at people. Also, there's one gun that is made to be an extension of his cock, and just having a game come out and do that - it's pure aggression.

The game has great, unique production values - the sound design and score are fabulous, the super colourful graphics are great, the animations are good, and the atmosphere is very involving. I couldn't keep away from it.

THe only knock against the game is that there are A LOT of little cut scenes. Turn a corner - cut scene - walk a bit - suffer some NPC dialogue - go into a room - another cut scene. It grates after a while, because you wanna get to the killing and the cussing. But I forgive all, because when you do get to the killing and the cussing, it's just awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Damn good fun!, 25 July 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shadows of the Damned (PS3) (Video Game)
I wasn't entirely sure what to expect with this when I bought it and I can honestly say it blew my expectations out of the water. The music is interesting and the environments are rich, and the banter between Johnson and Garcia is entertaining. Sometimes the textures are a little slow to load, but this isn't a big deal for me and doesn't take away from the game, as far as I'm concerned. The story, though quite simple, is well told in my opinion and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

The controls, however, can be a little clunky and awkward to master. That said, I'm not a particularly skilled player, in anything. The game's camera can at times be a little claustrophobic, but I think this aids the atmosphere.

Good plot, nice looking, entertaining characters, great music, interesting idea of 'Hell' - 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dante's Inferno by way of an early Kevin Smith movie, 8 July 2011
By 
John Clayton III (Greystoke) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shadows of the Damned (PS3) (Video Game)
Well alright then! Here's a prime example of how to put together a fun, amusing and downright compulsive third person shooter from No More Heroes creator Suda 51 collaborating with Resident Evil mastermind Shinji Mikami, who hit the ground running with a shooter that may be entering a market with STIFF competition, but does so much right that it should hopefully get other creators to take a LONG, HARD look at how they design their shooters in the future, because brother, it's hard to imagine it getting much better than this. Also: Erections. Yep, this is a game that just loooooooves it's genital humour in case you were wondering.

The hero of the game is Garcia Hotspur, a demon hunter who is essentially a crude, spanish parody of Dante from Devil May Cry who has a talking skull called Johnson for a partner who is able to transform into guns... and a motorbike. The game sees Garcia and Johnson forced to ride into hell itself to rescue Garcia's girlfriend Paula, who has been kidnapped by Fleming, the lord of the demons. This leads to a crazed journey through armies of demons of all sizes, bizarre 2D intervals, aggressively crude dialogue and humour and lots and lots of gore. It is most definitely an amusing story that isn't lacking in self-awareness and bears many of the hallmarks of Suda's No More Heroes games in it's stylings. The running conversations between Garcia and Johnson can range from eye rollingly crude to hilarious, with some of the dialogue during segments where you stop and read children's books that serve as back story for the level's boss character being superb. There are a number of amusing in-jokes thrown in as well that I really enjoyed, with a large section of one level being based around Evil Dead 2 to great effect. This isn't the place to look for class(There are sections where you are walking along narrow platforms across a limbo-esque expanse that require you to use "certain bodyparts" of giant dancing nude women as platforms) or depth(The checkpoints are literally marked by steaming pieces of excrement), but if you like your game stories as dumb as a post and twice as filthy, then this is truly hog heaven.

The game plays more less the same as Resident Evil 4-5, with a close over the shoulder camera and laser sight led targeting system, it's pretty familiar stuff... except for the fact that SOTD is far better put together than the Resi games on this score, with far more polished controls and combat that correct many of the shortcomings people complained about in Resi 5, with the major difference of course being that in SOTD you have full movement capability while aiming, rather than having to stay in one spot completely still to aim and shoot as in the Resi games. It cannot be overstated how much of a difference having this full movement control makes to this sort of game, lending it a much faster pace and a much better sense of control. It's definitely a fun game to play, even if the enemy AI is incredibly weak and the overall challenge level of the game seemingly set quite low. The sections where you have to wade through actual darkness can be really tense though, with these sections forcing you to move at a sluggish pace desperately trying to find a light giving goat head(Don't ask) to light up the area. A couple of these bits can be annoying, but the way the darkness elements is incorporated into some puzzles later in the game is quite inventive. There's maybe a point to be made about the lack of variety in the weaponry on offer, with there being basically only three guns you have at all times in the game that are 'comedy' analogues for a handgun, a shotgun and a machine gun. All of these can be powered up and upgraded to receive a variety of new abilities(eg. the skull firing 'shotgun' can be upgraded to allow you to fire a whole bunch of skulls at once combined into a giant timed bomb that creates a huge explosion, and the nature of how this bomb works is incorporated into puzzles again in clever fashion), but it is still a far cry from the procession of wepaon types and makes Resi 5 had on offer, and for the most part you'll find yourself using the handgun, or 'The Boner' as it's called... because it fores BONES you see! This is a game that is committed to it's toilet humour and no mistake.

Visually, the game is great. It's not the best you'll have seen on the PS3 perhaps, but it still looks really really nice. Probably on par with Resi 5 I'd say and the performance is pretty good as well. Aside from some major texture pop up when you're reloading a save point, there's little to complain about on this score. The soundtrack is superb, if a little weird in places, which should be no surprise seeing as it's done by Mr Silent Hill Akira Yamaoka. The voice acting though, while quite funny in places can come off as a little 'crude for the sake of being crude'. It's not a game that takes itself completely seriously and the voice actors know it, so it works for the most part.

This game was a very pleasant surprise for me. After a disappointing PS3 outing for his classic No More Heroes last month, I was a tad wary of how a new Suda51 title would end up, but thankfully it delivers fun gameplay and a funny story in spades and looks great doing so. There are perhaps some concerns to be aired about a slightly limited amount of content(8 or so hours to finish the game, with little replay incentive and no multiplayer... though I'm fine on that last point personally) and heavy amounts of repetition, but in all honesty I loved playing through this game and will absolutely play through it again at some point so I'm satisfied with my purchase and that's about as much as I can tell you. It can't be denied though that it's sparse nature does keep it just short of being a five star title.

You may need a high tolerance for crude, often childishly dumb dialogue and some "naughty imagery" if you're of the more sensitive persuasion, but if you're after a fun shooter that relishes it's place in the gutter then look no further, because this is the wang obsessed slaughterfest for YOU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shadows of the damned ps3, 30 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows of the Damned (PS3) (Video Game)
Graphics, game play, gun play, voice acting, lighting are great. Nothing negative about this game really, other than....after finishing the game in about seven hours on easy mode I was a bit disappointed to see that there's no new game plus, where by i could replay the game from the beginning with all upgrades. No level select, so i could replay my favorite levels again and there's no sequel, would have been great to see another shadows of the damned. I'd give it 8/10. Give it a go hell monkeys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shadows of the Damned (PS3)
Shadows of the Damned (PS3) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews