Customer Reviews


283 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (71)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (38)
1 star:
 (49)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking and disturbing
I watched this expecting to find it a bit pretentious. However, I loved it! It was extremely odd, but compelling - primarily an exploration of one girl's fight for perfection and the madness she drives herself to. I particularly enjoyed the way that as a viewer you are left unsure which parts are reality and which part her imagination. Critics have noted it's not a...
Published 23 months ago by LMK

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars black swan
once again l build myself up only to be disappointed but l am sure l am in the minority here
Published 1 month ago by house elf


‹ Previous | 1 2 329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Intense,disturbing, beautifully filmed and acted, despite seeming somewhat luridly melodramatic at times, 9 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found myself really caught up in this film, despite sometimes thinking it was all rather ludicrous.

However, it is beautifully filmed, with some tremendous performances in the leading roles, and had me on the edge of my seat all the way through, and left me feeling quite disturbed.

I have no prior knowledge of, or interest in, ballet, but I related to the beautiful music, and the intensity, and competitiveness of the performances - which led to jealousy and emotional breakdown.

So, definitely a film worth seeing, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
B. Loose (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
transaction for purchasing this DVD was excellent; the film itself is `grim/horrendous`!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars black swan, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
once again l build myself up only to be disappointed but l am sure l am in the minority here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Thriller, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Swan (Amazon Instant Video)
This reminded me a little of an old Psychological Thriller called Jacobs Ladder but instead of the trauma that the lead character suffered from in that movie Black Swan has the whole ballet setting. Good but it is more of a thriller than horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dvd, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Swan [DVD] (DVD)
The Black Swan was purchased for my daughter , it got to us well with in the date stated and was securely packaged , she was made up with the item 😀
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent film! very gripping. Not a film to watch with the parents tho ;). Highly recommended and very well made .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good film to watch, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Swan (Amazon Instant Video)
I had heard bad things about Black Swan but I think that those who wrote the film was not good either did not watch it or simply did not understand it. It is not a film about ballet though its setting is ballet. It is a very moving and rather dark exploration of the onset of a severe mental breakdown. Some scenes are a little too gory for my taste but overall I am glad I watched it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Swan [DVD] (DVD)
My family enjoyed watching the film> It has a good caste with a good story and many thetrical twists in it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black Swan, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Swan [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely adore this movie! Its amazing and Natalie Portman and Mila Cunis are both brilliant and portray their characters amazingly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy Girl Nina, 18 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. M. J. Reynolds "M J Reynolds" (Nantwich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved this film. It tells the story of a technically perfect but initially sexually frigid ballet dancer given the lead role in Tchaikovsky's Swan Lake in New York. It's a tale of madness under pressure in which Natalie as Nina overcomes her limitations to give the performance of a lifetime. If you have heard Fairport Convention's 'Crazy Man Michael' you will recognise the type of madness involved. Natalie Portman gives a richly deserved Oscar winning performance but the supporting cast is very, very good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Swan [Blu-ray]
Black Swan [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray - 2011)
20.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews