Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leicester Bangs Review (2011):
The Cars - Move Like This (Hear Music)
When you think of the best Cars albums - particularly their self-titled debut, Candy-O and Heartbeat City - it's their ability to mix new wave with exceptional pop hooks that most impresses. Some 24 years since their previous album, Ric Ocasek and the surviving band members (bassist Benjamin Orr succumbed to cancer in 2000) have...
Published on 11 May 2011 by Leicester Bangs

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It used to move better...
"I'm saying never and you can count on that."
So said Ric Ocasek in 1997, in response to a question about the possibility of a reunion of The Cars, the hugely successful new wave/ melodic rock band that featured Ocasek as primary singer and songwriter.

But a lot can happen in fourteen years, especially as there is a new lease of reunited life in this new...
Published on 14 Sep 2011 by R. Muir


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leicester Bangs Review (2011):, 11 May 2011
By 
Leicester Bangs "words-R-us" (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Move Like This (Audio CD)
The Cars - Move Like This (Hear Music)
When you think of the best Cars albums - particularly their self-titled debut, Candy-O and Heartbeat City - it's their ability to mix new wave with exceptional pop hooks that most impresses. Some 24 years since their previous album, Ric Ocasek and the surviving band members (bassist Benjamin Orr succumbed to cancer in 2000) have not only succeeded in revisiting past glories but have produced a collection which comfortably stands alongside their finest records.

The first thing you'll notice is the energy. The first three tracks clear the gate at a gallop, barely touching the ground - urgent, vital and as catchy as hell. It's not difficult to draw comparisons to the classic trio of tracks that opened their self-titled debut over thirty years ago, and here they have much the same effect. When they do slow things down on "Soon", it's with an intro that'll remind many of the taut coolness of "Drive". They're definitely pushing buttons here, and they're all the right ones.

Ocasek keeps his vocals as clipped and sharp as you remember them and the whole band sound like they've been woken from a two decade long coma, handed their instruments and told to get back to doing what they do. I suppose one could argue that they've made no real progress in the intervening years, but it's good to hear The Cars (2011) sounding just like The Cars (1978-84), unaffected by baggage like age, maturity and the responsibilities that come with both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to believe they can still 'Move Like This', 22 May 2011
By 
brfa (Cheshire U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Move Like This (Audio CD)
I have been a `Cars' fan since I first heard `Good Times Roll' on American FM-radio when it was in the charts in the late 70's and I was working over there. Their style of music was never easy to categorize as their sound was unique, instantly recognizable, very rarely copied and certainly never surpassed. I have owned everything the Cars ever recorded in all its guises; vinyl, tape, cd and even after all these years they are still on my (albeit expansive) playlist. In my opinion `The Cars' never made a bad track; they were all good, but obviously some were better than others.
`Move Like This' sounds like it could have been recorded back in their heyday but with the added bonus of modern production techniques.

The Cars have made an old-man very happy.

P.S. My 23 year old daughter loves this album too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WORTH THE WAIT, 27 May 2011
By 
James N. Boyce (BURY ST EDMUNDS,SUFFOLK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Move Like This (Audio CD)
Like most fans i never thought the Cars would reunite ever, especially after the sad loss of Ben Orr, but with the release of Move Like This it's become reality. I guess like most fans the idea of a reunion was a thrilling thing, but also with it comes a little trepidation on whether it will be as good as it once was. I can honestly say that Move Lke This is mostly a triumph, sorry about the car pun, and i would say it's there best record since Shake It Up in '81. The album kicks off with one of the highlights of the whole project the track Blue Tip, with it's quirky Greg Hawkes keyboard noises and Elliot Easton's jerky guitar work, plus a catchy chorus that evokes Cars hits of old. The second song in is another highlight, Too Late is a really catchy and bouncy song with a really strong synth hook that again sounds only like The Cars. The only two songs i'm not overly keen on are Keep On Knocking and Drag On Forever that try and crank up the noise a bit more, and are a tad dull, but they are the only two tracks that do nothing for me, the rest is great. The songs where Ben is missed the most are the two ballads on the record, Soon and Take Another Look, but despite the fact he'd probably sing them better than Ric they're strong songs and don't really suffer too much. The first single off Move Like This Sad Song is anything but sad and moves along at great pace, and again it has a catchy chorus, but the song has a familiar feel to it, it starts with a similar guitar lick and hand claps to My Best Friend's Girl, made my laugh when i heard it. The CD ends with probably my favourite song Hits Me, the track could have been on Panorama, it's quirky, rocks and is "classic Cars", all guitars and swirling keyboards topped off with a great Ric vocal, heavenly. It did take me about twenty listens to fully appreciate the whole album, but eventually i was won over by it. Move Like This is fantastic and i highly recommend it, let's hope there's more fuel in the tank and that this Car will keep moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shaking it Up?, 27 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Move Like This (Audio CD)
Like a host of other bands and artists on the comeback trail, The Cars have joined the party 24 years after their last proper studio album, and quite a return it is! Skeptics might suggest that if you still sound like you did in 1978, there might be nothing to see here. But The Cars' sound, sensibility and sheer skill with a tune haven't deserted them in the intervening time. Overcoming the tragic loss of Benjamin Orr and galvanized by a rejuvenated Ric Ocasek, the band have conjured up their third best record ever... no bad feat when the top two are your eponymous debut and Heartbeat City! Blue Tip, Sad Song, Soon and It's Only all sound like they could have come from either of those two previous records and the overall quality control - not always a strong suit on other Cars records - makes this a worthy and worthwhile comeback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The album you have been waiting for!, 21 May 2011
This review is from: Move Like This (Audio CD)
If like me you are late 40's and hark back to the days of the new wave era because punk was too loud and pop was too soppy,this is the album you will be playing through the summer.
Every track has a great hook and Rik's vocals are as sharp as ever.
It would have been a 5 star review if it wasn't for the odd dodgy lyric,but that's just me being picky.
Listening to this album has reminded me of at least 3 great songs from this era that still sound great today.
Airport by The Motors,I got you by Split Enz and My best friends girl by The Cars of course.
Pure Bubblegum/New Wave.
Play loud and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drive this one home tonight!, 13 May 2011
This review is from: Move Like This (Audio CD)
Nearly a quarter of a century after their last studio album, The Cars are back. 1987's Door To Door was given a poor reception, both critically and commercially, and it signalled the end for one of the New Wave era's most indentifiable bands. They split in 1988, the same year as Talking Heads, and we'll never know if they could have thrived in the early 90s as their peers The B-52s and Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers (who also had disappointing albums released in 1987) managed to do.

Still, here they are now, sadly minus one founding member (bass player Benjamin Orr, also the voice of their biggest worldwide hit "Drive", who passed away in 2000) but remarkably sounding as fresh, taut and energised as they did on their debut set in 1978.

Ric Ocasek's vocals have not changed one iota, and his lyrics are as clipped yet distinctive as ever. He is backed up by some typically tight arrangements, played without fuss or embellishment but always melodic and always driving (if you'll excuse the pun) the song along.

The 10 tracks are equally split, production-wise, between the group and Jacknife Lee; the latter's input brings a subtly contemporary sheen to the album's standout "Sad Song", a shimmering electro-tinged slice of pure pop with shades of Xenomania's early work with Girls Aloud, of all things. "Too Late" is an obvious single-in-waiting, while "Keep On Knocking" and "Drag On Forever" lean more towards guitar-heavy rock without losing the Cars' trademark bite. The ballads - "Soon" and "Take Another Look" - do their best to evoke the spirit of Drive and I'm Not The One, but perhaps miss Orr's presence on vocals.

So, ten songs, 37 minutes, no fuss no frills. It sounds exactly like the best Cars records used to sound, and given the often fraught and anti-climactic results of other long-awaited returns (dare we say the word comeback?), this is about as good as could have ever been expected.

A triumph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'A Promising Return', 18 May 2011
By 
Antony May (East Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Move Like This (Audio CD)
'Move Like This' must have been a very difficult record for the surviving members of The Cars to make. Ric Ocasek in particular was very close to Ben Orr and there must have been a serious doubt in his mind at least whether the band could ever be the same without Ben. Well, the truth of the matter is of course that no new album was ever going to be able to hide the fact that there was now a gaping hole in the bands sound that could not be filled. This said, Orr would be delighted at the release of this record. Back are the group so many of us loved in the 70's, back are the quirky arrangements, back are the clipped vocal tones and yes, back are the unfathomable lyrics! HA HA In other words, The Cars are back and GOD doesn't it feel good!

After almost 24 years since their last album 'Door To Door', the group can be forgiven for being a bit 'ring rusty' and while 'Move Like This' is a triumphant return, I really hope the group will stay together now to make another record as, undoubtedly, that will be a classic. Here you feel there are just too many ghosts lingering about the studio for the boys to really be able to break away from the past and make a NEW Cars album. 'Sad Song' for example may be classic Cars but it starts with a variation of their 'My Best Friends Girl' guitar riff and you can't escape the feeling throughout this album that the group are almost having to come to terms on record with Ben Orr's passing. Likewise, Ocasek's vocal at the beginning of the ballad (and best track for me) 'Soon' sounds almost as if he is trying desperately to be Orr. Ocasek sounds eerily like Ben for the first couple of lines and it is only once the song gets going (and perhaps Ric's emotions subside) that Ric starts to sing more like Ric. This of course makes 'Soon' an emotional listen for long term fans of the band and I suspect these words alone will make Ric feel uncomfortable as - lets face it - The Cars have never been about emotion, have they?

The dilemma between wanting to sound like The Cars with Ben Orr and a NEW Cars without, even shows itself in the way this record has been produced. Some of the tracks have a more out and out rocky edge (with Greg Hawkes trademark 'kooky' synths much lower in the mix) while others just bring a smile as wide as the ocean to your face instantly ('Blue Tip' and especially 'Hits Me') as they sound so wonderfully familiar. In more typical fashion, 'Move Like This' comes with simple packaging and its booklet contains nothing much bar song lyrics. Ric and the boys have always let their music do the talking and even 'back in the day' were sometimes criticized for just getting up on stage and playing - no hello's, how's your fathers or goodbyes.

'Move Like This' is not just an album to give fans everything they always loved about The Cars, its an album to give us all hope that, in time, broken hearts can mend and the boys will find it within themselves to write a NEW CARS album.

Thanks boys - it's good to have you back - and Ric, you did the right thing, my friend, you did the right thing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Cars Move like this, 24 Jun 2014
This review is from: Move Like This (Audio CD)
Very good album better now than they were in there day.Will order more albums. Like to get a lot of Northern Soul
albums next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Proper Muscians, 22 Jun 2014
By 
Brian J. Adams "badams" (ruislip uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Move Like This (Audio CD)
Many people will know ' The Cars ' likely owing to their classic song ' Drive ' which appears on numerous compilations.
However the band offers much more and I would strongly recommend their Greatest Hits compilation and this their latest album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Move Like This (Audio CD)
What a find "The Cars" and the recent CD is superb,I cannot get some of the tunes out of my mind and really love "Sad Song".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Move Like This
Move Like This by The Cars (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews