Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something for Everyone
Another fine book from Dan Cederholm. This time around he divvies a typical web page down to its components - text, navigation, boxes and rows and the layout itself and explains and demonstrates the most bulletproof way of implementing them in a standards-compliant way.
In each chapter he'll pluck a real-world example to deconstruct, tell you why it's not...
Published on 20 Dec. 2005 by K. Dawson

versus
9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Talk about code bloat...pot... kettle... black
While in general this is a good, well written - and intentioned - book, the fact is its contents could have easily be laid out in a book half its size. And considering the author spends a good deal of his time complaining about the code bloat involved in more traditional forms of layout, I think it is a bit rich, and in no way genuine.

As you read, notice how...
Published on 26 July 2009 by J. Mclaughlin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book. Highly recommend, 16 Dec. 2008
By 
This is a superbly written book that i would highly recommend to any developer, even veterans developers.
The book shows you excellent best practice and efficient approaches to common design techniques. I've built many websites and used CSS alot and i took so much away from this book.

The book assumes prior CSS and webdesign experience so it's not for beginners, but everything is explained in detail so novices will still be able to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 6 July 2006
I'm on chapter 3 of this book and I love it. Its easy to read due to authors language and prose, its all colour and very enjoyable.

I read other reviews on this book thoroughly (also on Amazon.com site) and this helped me decide this was the next book to go for.

One question I didn't wasn't sure about before buying the book was just how skilled in XHTML and CSS I had to be as this book is Intermediate/Advanced (as stated on the back cover). Well, I would recommend that you know the basics of CSS such as defining lists using < UL > etc. The author jumps straight in to solving niggly cross-browser problems and so won't explain how padding and margins work etc.

I would say its also good to experience some of these problems that web designers encounter such as text not resizing on IE when it does on Firefox, probelms creating scaleable site navigation menus and so on.

It is a cookbook. I found it handy to be typing some of the CSS into Dreamweaver just to see exactly what was going on. Athough I was a bit peeved at having to go and get the laptop at first, it did improve my overall understanding of the problem in the end.

In conclusion: This book tackles common issues in a logical manner and does indeed attempt to make them Bulletproof. Recommended for people like me who have been working with XHTML / CSS for a little while but need to tackle common problems properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bulletproof Web design, 29 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very good book, which addresses accessibility, flexibility and a whole lot more. It has examples which shows a sample site, and a rework of the site (bulletproof approach). it's all about best practices in web design. I love it! As a beginner with a knowledge of css, this is a great book for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I bought the wrong book!, 5 Sept. 2011
By 
kenw (California) - See all my reviews
This book must be great for those web designers who want their pages to be presented as designed on all the various web browers available. It is kind of fascinating to find out why different web browers mess up, but - I am too much of an amateur to be able to spend much time on these issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The clue is in the name (Bullet Proof Web Design), 1 Sept. 2011
This is both an easy to read volume on the everyday skills needed to make good your web pages.
While at the same time being informative about the rudiments of constructing solid designs with
clear arguments for best practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT +++++, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Both Dan Cederholm and Ethan Marcotte are not just experts, but widely acknowledged as authorities on CSS and website design.

This book is superb, and it has not been made redundant by CSS3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Talk about code bloat...pot... kettle... black, 26 July 2009
By 
J. Mclaughlin (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
While in general this is a good, well written - and intentioned - book, the fact is its contents could have easily be laid out in a book half its size. And considering the author spends a good deal of his time complaining about the code bloat involved in more traditional forms of layout, I think it is a bit rich, and in no way genuine.

As you read, notice how the code samples are quite pointlessly repeated, so that an entire page will be taken up just to show the addition of one line of css. This is touted as an intermediate/advanced book, so why in some parts is the reader treated like a schoolkid.

Also notice the pointless amount of images (though about half are well laid out and pertinant) and the irritating way of soaking up more space between chapters.

Then later in chapter 9 'Putting It All Together' there is far to much pointless repetition, and the website which is pieced together there is hardly an inspiring piece of design, or layout, with a very poor menu system. The website is however quite flexible and certainly a building block. Nevertheless, with 290 pages to play with I expected a hell of a lot more.

If you care about how your site is rendered in Opera and IE5, or in browsers with image loading turned off, or unable to render CSS, then this book might be for you. If you are aiming at the IE crowd, well there are one or two hacks there, but you may want to look elsewhere.

I give it three stars (2.5 really) because it is well written in parts and has great things to say about flexible design.
However the general layout of the book seems more concerned with soaking up the space to try and make the book out to be more than it actually is, which considering what Dan Cederholm is trying to preach, leaves a real bad taste in the mouth.

Not a complete waste of all the paper it takes up to present its argument of code bloat clogging up the internet, but a five star book it is decidedly not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in it's class, 23 May 2006
By 
Jono (Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The quality of the material in this book is fantastic. It also one of the few books that actually has colour photos/screenshots. I couldn't recommend this book enough. Dan's other book , web standards solutions is also worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Css, Html une approche interessante, 2 Jun. 2010
By 
Vignaux "LVdesign" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce livre vous apporte une très bonne base sur le bon code en Html 4 et css. A lire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cederholm the Hero, 28 Feb. 2011
Cederholm is the hero of the web? His book for some maybe hard to grasp? But I fount it interesting and let me glued. I am currently learning web design and this gives you some tips to keep that web site W3C happy. I thank Dan and I will next be buying his Handcrafted CSS DVD book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews