Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whimsical and Unashamedly Romantic
The Hasty sisters, Rufa, Nancy, Lydia and Selina, are all gorgeous, pre-Raphaelite beauties, especially the two eldest sisters, Rufa and Nancy, with their auburn locks and translucent skin. They live with their "bonkers as conkers" mother in their ancient, crumbling family home, coping as best they can with the fall-out from their father's suicide, which has left them...
Published on 16 Sep 2012 by Susie B

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive Reading But Not As Good as 'Bachelor Boys'
The four aristocratic Hasty sisters are in trouble. Their beloved father Rufus, known to all as the Man, has fallen deeply into debt and, frightened of old age and loss of looks and weary of philandering, has blown his brains out all over the drawing room. (Saunders hints there may be another reason he kills himself, but doesn't tell us what it is.) The family's ancestral...
Published 3 months ago by Kate Hopkins


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whimsical and Unashamedly Romantic, 16 Sep 2012
By 
Susie B - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marrying Game (Paperback)
The Hasty sisters, Rufa, Nancy, Lydia and Selina, are all gorgeous, pre-Raphaelite beauties, especially the two eldest sisters, Rufa and Nancy, with their auburn locks and translucent skin. They live with their "bonkers as conkers" mother in their ancient, crumbling family home, coping as best they can with the fall-out from their father's suicide, which has left them heavily in debt and about to be ousted from their beloved home. Having been brought up by two eccentric, bohemian parents, who have never regarded an academic education necessary for their daughters, the Hasty sisters are ill-equipped to go out into the world and earn enough money to support themselves and to save the family home. So what can our girls do?

Rufa, who is the most sensible of the sisters, realizes that if their only inheritance is their incredible good looks, then these must be put to the best possible use by ensnaring very rich and compliant husbands. So, Rufa and Nancy pack their bags and travel to London to stay with Wendy, an old nanny of theirs, who has a large house with rooms to let. At Wendy's house, Rufa and Nancy meet Roshan, a young gay Indian man, who considers himself a bit of a style guru and who decides to take the two girls in hand and transform them from bucolic beauties to delectable debutantes. Using money raised from the sale of a valuable brooch given to Rufa by Edward Reculver, an old family friend, the two sisters set out to ensnare their victims in the marrying game - but things don't go quite the way they had planned....

Unashamedly romantic, this whimsical and witty comedy of manners (which I found a little reminiscent of Dodie Smith's I Capture The Castle) was a delight to read; full of eccentric and very likeable characters, who through their own mistakes and misunderstandings get themselves into some unusual, amusing and rather difficult situations. If I do have any criticism to make, it would only be very slight by perhaps mentioning that I would have liked to have learnt a little more about the other two sisters, Lydia and Selina, who didn't really come into the story until the second half of the book; however that certainly did not affect my enjoyment and I can honestly say that I was entertained and amused throughout the entire length of this novel. 'The Marrying Game' is by no means a work of great literary weight - and not meant to be one - but it is a captivating and hugely enjoyable read for those times when you want a romantic story that you can just sink into and lose yourself in.

4 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unputdownable, 26 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Marrying Game (Paperback)
I was intrigued because I had read columns by Kate Saunders during her career with the Daily Telegraph and wanted to see how she was at novels (I was not disappointed!) Sometimes a large book goes through a phase of being hard going but the story captures the reader in the first few pages and throughout the story brings all the characters entirely to life - I thoroughly enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more by Kate Saunders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it., 20 Oct 2013
By 
Greta Dunning "Highlighter" (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marrying Game (Kindle Edition)
this is a book for lovers of Victoria Clayton. Its a sophisticated romance with no sex or shopping, thank heaven.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Page-turner, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marrying Game (Kindle Edition)
I read this by the pool at Center Parcs, Sherwood Forest, where it was too hot to do anything but read in the shade, so will always associate that sunny, relaxing holiday with a fun, funny page-turner of a novel about four very different sisters. Well up to Kate Saunders's usual high, very readable standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern Nancy Mitford, hilarious and touching romance, 3 May 2002
By 
A. Craig "Amanda Craig" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Marrying Game (Paperback)
At last, Saunders has let rip with the comedy that admirers of her journalism love. The quartet of the madly eccentric and beautiful young Hasty sisters bounce off the page. WHen two of them decide to save their ancestral home by finding rich husbands they unleash all sorts of disasters, chiefly on themselves as they inevitably attract the wrong sort and fall in love with men they believe aren't right. A perfect modern fairytale, written with wit and style, it's her best yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive Reading But Not As Good as 'Bachelor Boys', 24 Sep 2014
By 
Kate Hopkins (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Marrying Game (Paperback)
The four aristocratic Hasty sisters are in trouble. Their beloved father Rufus, known to all as the Man, has fallen deeply into debt and, frightened of old age and loss of looks and weary of philandering, has blown his brains out all over the drawing room. (Saunders hints there may be another reason he kills himself, but doesn't tell us what it is.) The family's ancestral home, Melismate, must be sold to pay off debts (and is in a ruinous state so won't fetch enough), the girls' dotty mother Rose is no practical help and, with no decent training, none of the girls have proper careers or incomes. Rufa, the oldest and most hardworking, makes some money as a local caterer and maker of jams and chutneys, but it's barely enough to pay food bills. Nancy, the glamorous buxom sister, earns some money as a barmaid, but it's not a living wage. And the two younger sisters are no help - Lydia is mourning her divorce from laid-back hippy husband Ran (as much a philanderer as her father) and struggling to bring up her small daughter Linnet, and Selena is still at school though (despite great cleverness) threatening to drop out altogether.

Rufa racks her brains and eventually comes up with a solution to the family's problem - all the four sisters have as an asset is their looks, so she and Nancy must find hugely rich husbands who will then save Melismate and pay for repairs - and they have to act fast! Rufa and Nancy relocate to London, stay with their old nanny and, with the help of her gay lodger Roshan and the sale of a brooch given to Rufa by the family's dear friend Edward Reculver, the girls acquire lovely wardrobes (I'd no idea one sapphire brooch could fetch this much!) and launch themselves in upper-class society. But the rich men prove not so easy to net. And is marrying for money sensible in any circumstances? The girls increasingly begin to think their plan may not be such a good idea - and even when Rufa seems to achieve the impossible and find a rich man (and one she never expected to marry) who she loves, it becomes clear that where money is involved marriage will never be straightforward... will the girls ever get their happy end?

This is a very entertaining book, with some very lovable characters (particularly earnest Rufa, quietly passionate Edward, exuberant Nancy and bookish Selena), and as so always in her books Saunders constructs the story in a way that makes you have to read on (late into the night in my case on two occasions). I thought elements of the Rufa/Edward relationship were very original and beautifully depicted, and was glad when Selena, the youngest sister (hardly present in the first half of the book) started taking a bigger role. Nancy's misadventures were hilarious, and her relationship with her niece Linnet and Linnet's bears 'the Ressany brothers' very touching. Saunders makes you really care about the girls' happiness - and I liked the inventive way that she used great classic stories of the past ('Little Women', 'Pride and Prejudice') and made humorous variations on them.

However, I have to say that this is a book that is most enjoyable if you don't think about it too hard, but just let yourself be carried along by the romantic and humorous flow. A lot of the characters don't stand up to that careful scrutiny - think about some of them too hard and they become either unconvincing or positively dislikeable. Worst of all in this regard was the Man, adored by all but at the same time a totally selfish womanizer, who refused to let his girls have any sort of independence, messed up their futures with his silly extravagances and finally took the easy (ish) way out. Characters throughout the book keep saying how much he loved his girls - but his attitude to paternity seems to have been deeply dodgy, both lax and over-protective. Rose comes across (until the final chapters) as naive to the point of stupidity or even madness - and why didn't she stand up for her girls over their education and help them to get some qualifications? Polly and Prudence were cartoonish villainesses, Tristan a flamboyant fool and little Linnet, though better portrayed than most children in popular fiction, came across as a bit nauseatingly cute at times (and why are all children in popular fiction so obsessed with scatology?). Even Rufa, the heroine, behaved in a very odd way at times - I couldn't believe she'd have done what she did with Tristan, particularly after what he'd told her. The plot also didn't entirely stand up to scrutiny. The family seemed to survive on nothing for an awfully long time after the Man's death while the girls hatched their plan, and there was no discussion among the family about legal issues - to who Melismate belonged after the Man killed himself, for example. I couldn't believe the whole Edward/Prudence/Tristan/Rufa scenario - it seemed uncharacteristically callous for Edward to expect Rufa to wait on Prudence for a week, and unlikely that Rufa wouldn't have confronted him about Prudence's behaviour. And the Ran/Polly/Lydia saga went on too long - I didn't believe Ran would have fallen for Polly in any case, or at least not to the extent of having her move in with him. And the whole Rufa/Tristan story just didn't convince me bearing in mind Rufa's character. Also - why does no one in romantic fiction ever appear to sort out decent contraception?

'The Marrying Game' is fun, and in terms of writing a cut above a lot of chick-lit and romantic fiction. I think the problem was that I enjoyed 'Bachelor Boys' so much that I expected this book to be as enjoyable - and for me it wasn't as convincing. While 'Bachelor Boys' provided a wickedly sharp portrayal of middle-class London society today, with some very moving and believable plot twists, I felt this novel was catering more to the 'Downton Abbey' mentality that loves stories about the glamorous upper-classes, and to romantic cliches. Still, of its kind it is decidedly enjoyable, and I'd recommend it for mid-week switch-off reading without a doubt. I just hope for her next adult novel that Saunders produces something as good as 'Bachelor Boys' - that'd really be worth reading several times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 30 Jun 2002
This review is from: The Marrying Game (Paperback)
This is true romantic comedy, fast moving, fun, witty, not entirely credible but who cares? - with the added bonus of being well written (and so many books in this genre aren't). Good fun and reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Marrying Game
The Marrying Game by Kate Saunders
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews