Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superior Escape Tale.
This German film directed by Hardy Martins, and starring Bernhard Bettermann as Clemens Forell, a German soldier captured by the Russians in World War Two, is based on a popular story by the novelist Josef Martin Bauer, who based his book on the supposed adventures of real life German soldier Cornelius Rost who escaped from a Gulag in Siberia. This is an epic escape tale...
Published 1 month ago by Bob Salter

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good as the book
Firstly you will probably only be looking to buy this film if you have already read the book. If you have not -please read the book first it is so much better. The film is good -quite brutal and realistic -lucky its not made by Hollywood. The German makers try to capture some of the essence of the book. The problem is fitting the whole book into a 2 hour film -more...
Published on 14 May 2008 by Richard Davros Godfrey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good as the book, 14 May 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly you will probably only be looking to buy this film if you have already read the book. If you have not -please read the book first it is so much better. The film is good -quite brutal and realistic -lucky its not made by Hollywood. The German makers try to capture some of the essence of the book. The problem is fitting the whole book into a 2 hour film -more struggle is needed and less flowery stuff. The only thing that spoils the film is the extra bits added by the film maker to make it more comercially appealing -igonore these and you have a great film to watch - if your even looking at buying this film it is obvious you are not after a rambo/die hard affair - you will appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superior Escape Tale., 23 Oct 2014
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: As Far As My Feet Will Carry Me [DVD] (DVD)
This German film directed by Hardy Martins, and starring Bernhard Bettermann as Clemens Forell, a German soldier captured by the Russians in World War Two, is based on a popular story by the novelist Josef Martin Bauer, who based his book on the supposed adventures of real life German soldier Cornelius Rost who escaped from a Gulag in Siberia. This is an epic escape tale on the same scale as Heinrich Harrer’s adventures in “Seven Years in Tibet” and Slavomir Rawicz’s “The Long Walk” which took place in a similar geographic area. Both of those novels were also made into films. Peter Weir’s film version of Rawicz’s tale, “The Way Back”, was a bit disappointing. In that film they walked...then they walked some more... then yup, they walked even more. Occasionally they quarrelled! It wasn’t all that entertaining! Whilst “Seven Years in Tibet” was an improvement, this lesser known film is perhaps the best of the lot.

This film uses a number of different languages which highlights the confusion for the escaped prisoner in very foreign climes, giving it some genuine realism. “The Long Walk” stupidly threw a token American into the melting pot, throwing any semblance of realism straight out of the window. There is also a convincing protagonist in the brutal Russian labour camp commander, who is the sort of adversary who will pursue his quarry to the ends of the earth, and virtually does. The film also throws in genuine moments of humanity which lift the film and give it some meaning. There is also the mounting tension of will he or won’t he get away. This all adds up to a very entertaining film.

The prospects for captured German soldiers on the Russian front were not good. Few of those captured at Stalingrad ever made it home again. Even today the Russians remember the brutality and scale of the Nazi advance through Russia in World War Two. No surprise that they meted out harsh treatment to those that fell into their hands. The veracity of both “The Long Walk” and “As Far as My Feet Will Carry Me”, have been questioned in recent years. The truth may not have been so entertaining! It doesn’t really matter much at the end of the day. What matters is the film, and this one is pretty good. The original film had a 158 minute running time, and the DVD is only 122 minutes. Somewhere along the way 36 minutes went AWOL. To be fair this does not appear to detract from the film, which is well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as far as my feet will carry me., 26 Aug 2011
This review is from: As Far As My Feet Will Carry Me [DVD] (DVD)
I was thrilled to see this on your list. I have seen it several times on TV and have always wanted a copy. The film shows the endurance of an individual despite all set backs. His adventures are incredible especially when he crosses the Siberian tundra. His return to Munich was heart warming. The only thing which spoiled it was my son in law in Munich who said that it was largely fictional!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling adventure drama, 10 July 2008
By 
Dennis Littrell (SoCal/NorCal/Maui) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a German language film with English subtitles based on the novel by the same name which was based on a true story about a German POW in the aftermath of WWII who escaped a Siberia work camp and made an amazing 8,000-mile trek home to Munich to be reunited with his family.

I haven't read the novel, but of course it was a novel and so much of it was made up. It doesn't matter however, since what counts in a movie is simply the movie itself. I am always a little put off when the blurbs for a film scream out: "Based on a true story!" So what? Sometimes that's significant and sometimes it isn't. In this case the fact that there actually existed a German POW who managed such an amazing escape is important. The exact details of what happened to him would be wonderful to have. But in lieu of that, we do have this wonderful movie.

Bernhard Bettermann stars as Clemens Forell, and he is perfect for the part. To survive such an epic adventure the person has to be strong of body and strong of will. Bettermann looks as though he could actually do something like this, except for the fact that he is so tall and pale I suspect he would stand out and be easily identified as a foreigner in those strange lands through which he trekked. Also a bit not so realistic is the Soviet camp commander who personally chases Forell all the way to the Iranian border (although that resulted in a nice ironic scene on the bridge at the border between Iran and what--I think--is Turkmenistan). In reality there were probably several Soviet officers who played that part. And I would also liked to have seen a little more about how he found enough to eat. And finally it is clear that the last parts of his journey were sped up a bit as though the filmmakers were in a hurry. But these are small quibbles.

I don't know if this "coloration" (as I will call it) was in the book, but what director Harvey Martins does is make the tall and "Aryan" Forell experience some of the same horrors that the Jews experienced. In the beginning he is in a cattle car and nearly starved to death as he is taken to the Siberian lead mines. He is in rags and nearly frozen and gets kicked around by sadistic soldiers. If you saw just this part of the movie you would swear it was about the Jews being sent to a concentration camp. In the camp after Forell is caught in an early escape attempt he is shown being beaten by his fellow soldiers, who of course, were punished because he tried to escape. This was exactly the sort of thing the Nazis did in the occupied countries during WWII--if a single German was killed, that killing would be revenged many times over. Later, one of the people who helped Forell is a Jew who lost relatives to the Nazis. Nonetheless he helps Forell, and in doing so demonstrates not only a superior morality, but the kind of courage that is rare. And why did he do it? Because that is the kind of person he is, and that is the kind of persons we all should be.

While Forell is a positive, even a heroic figure, and a nice change for Germans who have to endlessly read about and see Germans portrayed in a most negative way throughout their whole lives, the movie itself tends to be neutral politically.

The scenes of the snow and the forests and the various places that Forell travels through are nicely done. The ending is exquisite and brought me to tears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 19 Jun 2011
By 
Jorg Wheelan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As Far As My Feet Will Carry Me [DVD] (DVD)
This film was well worth the money, one man against the elements , makes you wonder how some people have so much inner strength, although it has subtitles that was not a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars probably good but not for me, 10 Aug 2014
Well. ....settling down to watch what I understood from the various reviews to be a gripping film I was disappointed to see unfold before us a film appearing to prompt the viewer to empathise and even sympathise with the characters..really? Sorry but my feelings Don't run to feeling sorry for harsh treatment of soldiers of the NAZI regime.I know all Germans were NOT so.I just found it too conflicting for me to watch what is probably a good film whilst knowing the horrendous savagery and cruelty inflicted on TOTALLY innocent (of ALL ages from before birth to geriatrics)victims by said regime and feel comfortable doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Far as my Feet Will Carry Me, 20 Aug 2011
This review is from: As Far As My Feet Will Carry Me [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD was excellent. The attention to detail regards uniform and the history was superb. I must say that I had read the book twice before watching the DVD and would recommend that the book be read first. A little bit of poetic licence by the Director in two scenes ie: The Doctor committing suicide and the Russian officer following him for 3 years right up to the Iranian border - Forrell would not have known that. A MUST read and WATCH. ******

Regards,

Michael Kusternig
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Far As My Feet Will Carry Me., 3 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As Far As My Feet Will Carry Me [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent film. The story is akin to 'The Long Walk' by Slavomir Rawicz. However this film is much better than the film of afore mentioned book, titled 'The Way Back.' This film is in German language with English subtitles. This however in no way detracts from the quality of the film. I would highly recommend this title. Five stars, and excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing Read, 6 July 2014
This review is from: As Far As My Feet Will Carry Me [DVD] (DVD)
Quite a harrowing read but also compelling, it is amazing what the human body and mind can endure. The end was a little disappointing as there was no mention of his family, which was his motivation to keep going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As Far As My Feet Will Carry Me [DVD] (DVD)
great service from ordering through to delivery which was very quick, I saw two thirds of this film on tv and I knew that I needed to buy it to view it all a great story and true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

As Far As My Feet Will Carry Me [DVD]
As Far As My Feet Will Carry Me [DVD] by Hardy Martins (DVD - 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews