Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the series is great /the disks are unreliable
In my opinion the best of the new wave of star trek series, there is more depth to both narrative and characters,more politics and social development due to the fixed location, not zooming of for an adventure every 5 minutes allows for more depth.
This box set is good value but as reported by other users the disks can be unreliable, i am into the eighth episode of...
Published 15 months ago by kevin

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great show, terrible dvds
Every 2nd episode on the last chapter, would freeze and jump in any dvd player it was tried. received a replacement set but it had the same problem. There is clearly a problem with the manufacturing process. So beware before buying.
Published 10 months ago by J. Doyle


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the series is great /the disks are unreliable, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
In my opinion the best of the new wave of star trek series, there is more depth to both narrative and characters,more politics and social development due to the fixed location, not zooming of for an adventure every 5 minutes allows for more depth.
This box set is good value but as reported by other users the disks can be unreliable, i am into the eighth episode of season one and already there is an episode that wont play all the way through,i cleaned the disk several times with a cloth and approved fluid but no it just wont complete, it fails five minutes before the end which is frustrating and since there is well over 100 episodes to go it does not auger well for the rest of the series viewing
As feared i have had to return the set,i made the arrangements today 19 sep 2013,more episodes sticking and skipping and never got past season 1, amazon were fine about it and in fact were very helpful, so no criticism of their after sales service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great show, terrible dvds, 13 Feb 2014
By 
J. Doyle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
Every 2nd episode on the last chapter, would freeze and jump in any dvd player it was tried. received a replacement set but it had the same problem. There is clearly a problem with the manufacturing process. So beware before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars TERRIBLE packaging - GREAT series, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
I can't say anything about DS9 that hasn't been said already. It's an absolute classic and you could easily make the case for it being the best of the Star Trek series, especially if you are a fan of strategic story arcs and epic space battles.

So then, the series quality is not in question - but the packaging most certainly is. This is, without doubt, the WORST packaging I have ever seen used to house a set of DVD's. It's even worse than the horrible jewel cases you might see at some car boot sale as some dodgy seller tries to peddle a few pirate disks.

The packaging is entirely cardboard and consists of two rows of semi-circular insets set one above the other (so one disk sits above and behind the other) into which the disks are inserted. The rasping/scratching sound that is made in every entry and exit of a disk will put your teeth on edge and will no doubt reduce the usable life of the discs.

The top row of inserts is literally just a shaped hole cut into the cardboard, there is no 'base' to the insert, so if you push the disk too hard (necessary in some cases as the inserts are too tight) you can suddenly force the disk right through the slot and right on into the internal area of the packaging. It's a PITA getting the disk out again and can't be done without again scraping the disk surface.

Additionally, when trying to return a disk to the case, the insert slot can close itself flush, which requires you to either bend the packaging of dig a finger nail in to try to prise the opening open again. Either of these options causes some bending/damage to the packaging and is pretty infuriating!

Each series is held in its own individual folding cardboard case, and the 7 series slip into a larger cardboard box. The series don't fit particularly well into the larger box, particularly in terms of their thickness. Because the cardboard cases are 'squishable' the 7 series next to each other in the case sort of expand a bit to fill the space inside the larger box but without providing any form of security from falling out.

The one saving grace of this whole sorry mess is the size, which is relatively small for a series of this size. However, I would MUCH rather sacrifice a little space for decent packaging that will protect the product in the long term and certainly won't be buying another series that has this type of packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Abysmal packaging. Go for Individual sets instead., 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this set on a blind buy (loving all other star trek already) when amazon reduced all their star trek sets. While I would love to review the series here, I am unable to as I noticed a large majority of the discs had significant scratches upon them as a result of the wholly inadequate budget packaging provided. Furthermore upon watching the pilot episode, the final 25 minutes of the episode froze and then skipped on a number of occasions leaving the episode unwatchable.
I have contacted amazon for a refund, and hope that will go smoothly. Have chosen not to swap for another copy as the fault is with the production process, and other reviews on this product seem to experience the same problems, so not risking it again.

Simply - Don't buy this product, seems to be something of a gamble as to whether it will come in watchable condition. Shall be purchasing season 1 in the slimline cases as soon as my refund is processed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unplayable Garbage, 30 May 2014
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
I too received this as a Christmas gift, the 1st disc crashed before the first episode had finished, and the subsequent 3 discs also crashed. This is without doubt the worst product I have ever received from Amazon, I am trying to return it for a refund but as it was a gift i had trouble getting the initial order number. Extremely disappointing, you might as well just burn your cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series - poor disc quality, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
I am having trouble playing many of the episodes through to the end on many of the discs - I see on other reviews that this has been a problem. Problems have occured when the discs are played through different types of media i.e. the computer and through the DVD player. I will be returning these for replacement - I'm not sure why you would still be sending out these when they are obviously defective. I would also like to say I've had problems with Next Generation box set too - but not as bad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this box - go for the older sets instead!, 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
DS9 is without question a good series in the Star Trek universum. I would have given it 5 stars if the DVD-producers hadn't decided to rip off the already dwindling group of customers who still legally pay for their entertainment. Like the other reviewers I have serious problems playing most episodes to the end. The abmysal packaging I could live with because I could always put everything in sleeves but the DVD-burning problems are not tollerable! It almost killed my expensive DVD-player because It stalled and I could not operate it anymore. So for a few dollars more profit the last customers are inticed to download everything the next time. The same problems occure with the complete box of 'The Original Series'. Advice: Don't buy this box an go for the older year-boxes instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Series, 8 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great set to buy for all Star Trek lovers and Sci-Fi fans in general. Deep Space Nine is very different from the other series in the franchise as it takes place aboard a space station, instead of a starship which was the main feature in the other four series. It's not about a crew going off where no one has gone before as they were fixed to a certain location, with the series concentrating more on social development, social issues, politics, intrigue and mystery. This is the best series for viewers who like serialised shows as DS9 has on-going storylines throughout the whole series whereas the other Trek series are more episodic. The stories are more in-depth than the other series as well, being very character driven and exploring internal conflicts as well as external ones. The show gets darker and more serious as it progresses and at one point I found myself watching several episodes one after the other because of how gripping it was. I love the episodes about the war with the dominion and the series has some brilliantly developed villains, interesting themes and sometimes unexpected and shocking twists. The earlier seasons to do with the Changelings (beings who can change shape into any form) were a great idea and they made for some very powerful and solid episodes. DS9 has delivered some of the best stories Trek ever produced when it is at it's best, sometimes resembling what can be seen in movies. It's probably the most epic of all the Star Trek series, the CGI is outstanding. While TNG has and always will be my favourite of the Star Trek series, it's easy to see why so many love DS9. I can understand why certain people regard it as their favourite, it's an amazing series.

When reviewing this box-set I have watched every episode up to the seventh season story "The Siege Of AR-558", a very good episode. Below I list my ten favourite stories of the entire series up to the point I am at:

1 - Rocks And Shoals (Season 6)
2 - The Way Of The Warrior, Parts 1 And 2 (Season 4)
3 - The Die Is Cast (Season 3)
4 - Duet (Season 1)
5 - In Purgatory's Shadow/By Inferno's Light (Season 5)
6 - In The Pale Moonlight (Season 6)
7 - Crossover (Season 2)
8 - Homefront/Paradise Lost (Season 4)
9 - Hard Time (Season 4)
10 - Trials And Tribble-Ations (Season 5)

The Picture quality of the actual DVD's is good and clear, the sound is also great. The only aspect that could be improved is the way the DVD's are kept. There is an individual box for each season of the show and the DVD's for all the seasons are slotted in cardboard sleeves. This isn't the best design as the DVD's will be scratched over time and it will cause the episodes to freeze and jump. It is not a massive problem as there have only been a few episodes where I have experienced this, however in some cases the DVD's just needed cleaning. This facet should not stop you from buying this collection as if you handle the DVD's carefully, the damage to the disks should only be minimal. Other than the poor slot housing design, the cases for the DVD's are excellent with screenshots of episodes from each of the seasons, along with episode listings and additional data which is special-features.

Overall this is a stunning box-set featuring every episode of DS9, a brilliant series and one that looks splendid next to the other Star Trek series on the shelf. This is an absolute must buy if you are a Star Trek fan or love great storytelling and Science-Fiction. So go and transport this box-set home and experience the full journey of this TV masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great series!, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
I'd recommend this box set to anyone who loves sci-fi and you should certainly watch all of the previous incarnations of Star Trek such as the original series and the next generation before you watch this one to really understand it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christmass present, 12 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as a present for my son who really appreciated it. It arrived in good time and has been added to my sons collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD]
Used & New from: £79.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews