Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the series is great /the disks are unreliable
In my opinion the best of the new wave of star trek series, there is more depth to both narrative and characters,more politics and social development due to the fixed location, not zooming of for an adventure every 5 minutes allows for more depth.
This box set is good value but as reported by other users the disks can be unreliable, i am into the eighth episode of...
Published 10 months ago by kevin

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series - poor disc quality
I am having trouble playing many of the episodes through to the end on many of the discs - I see on other reviews that this has been a problem. Problems have occured when the discs are played through different types of media i.e. the computer and through the DVD player. I will be returning these for replacement - I'm not sure why you would still be sending out these when...
Published 4 months ago by blackpool


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the series is great /the disks are unreliable, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
In my opinion the best of the new wave of star trek series, there is more depth to both narrative and characters,more politics and social development due to the fixed location, not zooming of for an adventure every 5 minutes allows for more depth.
This box set is good value but as reported by other users the disks can be unreliable, i am into the eighth episode of season one and already there is an episode that wont play all the way through,i cleaned the disk several times with a cloth and approved fluid but no it just wont complete, it fails five minutes before the end which is frustrating and since there is well over 100 episodes to go it does not auger well for the rest of the series viewing
As feared i have had to return the set,i made the arrangements today 19 sep 2013,more episodes sticking and skipping and never got past season 1, amazon were fine about it and in fact were very helpful, so no criticism of their after sales service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series - poor disc quality, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
I am having trouble playing many of the episodes through to the end on many of the discs - I see on other reviews that this has been a problem. Problems have occured when the discs are played through different types of media i.e. the computer and through the DVD player. I will be returning these for replacement - I'm not sure why you would still be sending out these when they are obviously defective. I would also like to say I've had problems with Next Generation box set too - but not as bad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great show, terrible dvds, 13 Feb 2014
By 
J. Doyle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
Every 2nd episode on the last chapter, would freeze and jump in any dvd player it was tried. received a replacement set but it had the same problem. There is clearly a problem with the manufacturing process. So beware before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best series, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
Im my opinion, the best series of Star Trek. It's a bit slow during the first couple of seasons. But by the time the dominion arrive, it gets more interesting. Better character development than Voyager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DS9 - The one that got Away, 16 Oct 2013
By 
G. T. Swain - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
I have been watching Star Trek in all its varieties, and I never miss an opportunity to watch the re-runs on Freeview. Although Both Star Trek NG, Voyager & Enterprise have been freely available DS9 seems to have been overlooked, a fate that also affects the Rival series Babylon 7.
So when the series became available as a box set it was a must have for me.
So once again I am out there with Cisco & his team as I work my way through the 48 discs that the box contains.
Well worth the asking price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Abysmal packaging. Go for Individual sets instead., 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this set on a blind buy (loving all other star trek already) when amazon reduced all their star trek sets. While I would love to review the series here, I am unable to as I noticed a large majority of the discs had significant scratches upon them as a result of the wholly inadequate budget packaging provided. Furthermore upon watching the pilot episode, the final 25 minutes of the episode froze and then skipped on a number of occasions leaving the episode unwatchable.
I have contacted amazon for a refund, and hope that will go smoothly. Have chosen not to swap for another copy as the fault is with the production process, and other reviews on this product seem to experience the same problems, so not risking it again.

Simply - Don't buy this product, seems to be something of a gamble as to whether it will come in watchable condition. Shall be purchasing season 1 in the slimline cases as soon as my refund is processed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars TERRIBLE packaging - GREAT series, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
I can't say anything about DS9 that hasn't been said already. It's an absolute classic and you could easily make the case for it being the best of the Star Trek series, especially if you are a fan of strategic story arcs and epic space battles.

So then, the series quality is not in question - but the packaging most certainly is. This is, without doubt, the WORST packaging I have ever seen used to house a set of DVD's. It's even worse than the horrible jewel cases you might see at some car boot sale as some dodgy seller tries to peddle a few pirate disks.

The packaging is entirely cardboard and consists of two rows of semi-circular insets set one above the other (so one disk sits above and behind the other) into which the disks are inserted. The rasping/scratching sound that is made in every entry and exit of a disk will put your teeth on edge and will no doubt reduce the usable life of the discs.

The top row of inserts is literally just a shaped hole cut into the cardboard, there is no 'base' to the insert, so if you push the disk too hard (necessary in some cases as the inserts are too tight) you can suddenly force the disk right through the slot and right on into the internal area of the packaging. It's a PITA getting the disk out again and can't be done without again scraping the disk surface.

Additionally, when trying to return a disk to the case, the insert slot can close itself flush, which requires you to either bend the packaging of dig a finger nail in to try to prise the opening open again. Either of these options causes some bending/damage to the packaging and is pretty infuriating!

Each series is held in its own individual folding cardboard case, and the 7 series slip into a larger cardboard box. The series don't fit particularly well into the larger box, particularly in terms of their thickness. Because the cardboard cases are 'squishable' the 7 series next to each other in the case sort of expand a bit to fill the space inside the larger box but without providing any form of security from falling out.

The one saving grace of this whole sorry mess is the size, which is relatively small for a series of this size. However, I would MUCH rather sacrifice a little space for decent packaging that will protect the product in the long term and certainly won't be buying another series that has this type of packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly good boxset, badly bound packaging., 22 July 2014
By 
R. Kramp (Parow East South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
I obtained this boxset, and watching the episodes in order, trying to focus on those I haven't seen before, which is many.
Often Deep Space Nine is the least, or almost least, favourite of Star Trek fans. That's mostly due to it being on a space station, instead of a starship. But, I reckon Deep Space Nine is quite good. Some episodes do have them going off in spaceships anyway.
I found that the DVD quality is good. I've had very few problems, and would clean it with a CD cleaner. Some DVD problems can be more the player than the DVD.
The DVDs of each season are in cardboard folders. One must be careful when removing and inserting DVDs, so as not to e.g. tear one side of the holder. However, the cardboard folders weren't bound properly, if at all, at the sides. Thus, the DVDs were quite loose. I had obtained the same type of boxsets of Star Trek: The Next Generation and Star Trek: Voyager. Both were bound properly.
On the last DVD of each season are documentaries - additional data. I disagreed with there being hidden films. (A section of the station illuminates.) Each is about 2 and a half minutes. They could have all been edited together, as another documentary. Or, individual ones edited onto similar others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unplayable Garbage, 30 May 2014
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
I too received this as a Christmas gift, the 1st disc crashed before the first episode had finished, and the subsequent 3 discs also crashed. This is without doubt the worst product I have ever received from Amazon, I am trying to return it for a refund but as it was a gift i had trouble getting the initial order number. Extremely disappointing, you might as well just burn your cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great series!, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD] (DVD)
I'd recommend this box set to anyone who loves sci-fi and you should certainly watch all of the previous incarnations of Star Trek such as the original series and the next generation before you watch this one to really understand it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Full Journey [DVD]
95.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews