Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Conan..
This new edition of Conan the Barbarian serves up the best quality yet, the picture is slightly better due to the special features being on a seperate disc, but the main improvement is the sound.
The legendary soundtrack is now rendered (at last!)in pure DTS sound providing 5.1 channel perfection and it sounds incredible!
The special features from the 2003...
Published on 18 April 2005 by the_nutopian

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CONAN THE BARBARIAN
HAVING PURCHASDED THIS SO CALLED SPECIAL EDITION, I WAS RATHER LET DOWN, AS ONCE AGAIN IT WAS ANOTHER RELEASE WHICH WAS CENSORED. CONAN FANS DO YOURSELVES A FAVOUR AND TRY TO OBTAIN THE FRENCH 'EDITION PRESTIGE' VERSION, THIS IS UNCUT AND CAN BE VIEWED IN ENGLISH Dts 5.1.
Published on 15 Jan 2009 by Yusaf Khan


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Conan.., 18 April 2005
This new edition of Conan the Barbarian serves up the best quality yet, the picture is slightly better due to the special features being on a seperate disc, but the main improvement is the sound.
The legendary soundtrack is now rendered (at last!)in pure DTS sound providing 5.1 channel perfection and it sounds incredible!
The special features from the 2003 'Special Edition' are reproduced here, with the only new feature (not history of fantasy films as advertised)being a short history of Conan with interviews with various fantasy writers, including those who worked on Marvels comic book adaption, Artists and the great James Earl Jones.
'Conan the Barbarian: Collectors Edition' delivers the goods, and if it were not for the daft censorship of BBFC butchering parts of this glorious film, then I would be quite comfortable in labeling this as Cinematic perfection.
This DVD is a must for your collection and I insist you order now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Riddle of Edge Enhancement, 22 July 2011
This review is from: Conan The Barbarian [Blu-ray] [1982] (Blu-ray)
At long last, 'Conan the Barbarian' comes to Blu-ray. I'm sure most of you reading this will already be familiar with the film, so I'll be brief. It's magnificent. The land of Hyboria is brought to vivid life, the action is brutal and exciting, Basil Poledouris' score is simply breathtaking, James Earl Jones is evil incarnate, Arnold punches a camel... Sure, it's also clunky and dated in that charmingly 80s way, and there's some unintentional comedy on offer (not least from Arnie's "UARGHAAAARGHNYUARGH" moments). But it's such a spectacle that almost all of its shortcomings are forgiven.

As for the new hi-def transfer, it's sort of a good news/bad news situation. The good news is that, for the most part, this presents a very pleasing and filmic viewing experience. There are no DNR issues to report (at least none that I could detect), and film grain has been rightfully preserved. This is quite a soft-looking film by nature - the same goes for most 80s movies - but there is still a decent amount of fine detail to be spotted.

BUT, the bad news: edge enhancement. It sticks out like a sore thumb, I'm afraid, and can be very distracting in certain scenes. Just watch the early sequence where Thulsa Doom lops off Conan's mother's head. When the young Barbarian looks unbelievably at his now motherless hand, his fingers are surrounded by jarring, thick white bars.

So a little disappointing, but certainly not a deal breaker. As previously stated, it generally looks fine, and is the best the film has looked since its orginal release. I have no complaints about the revamped HD sound, however. This is Poledouris at his most thunderous/tender/epic/enchanting, I could go on.

I guess the extras do deserve a mention. Everything from the previous special edition DVD has returned, along with three new docos - one covering the art of sword making, another comprised of early interview footage featuring Schwarzenegger and James Earl Jones, while the last takes an interesting look at the history of the Conan character. It's a good collection of bonus features which should please most 'Conan' fans. Of course, the main draw here is the legendary commentary provided by Arnold and director John Milius. Just... give it a listen.

All in all, this is a worthy upgrade over the DVD (and as another, more enthusiastic review has noted, it is now uncut in the UK providing you change your player's Disc Menu Language setting prior to putting the disc in). Universal will be releasing a new extended cut in the States this August, and their transfer may well best Fox's effort here, but for those who desire the original cut in its best quality yet, I highly recommend this.

Artwork's a bit crap though, isn't it?

EDIT: Should have done this ages ago, sorry, but it turns out that Universal's US release used the exact same transfer. The only difference between them is that Universal's doesn't have the "Wild Blueberries" scene (where Conan and Subotai have that heart-to-heart talk) which takes place just before the climactic battle. So the UK release is actually longer for once.

Also, it turns out that there ARE audio issues. I still stand by my original score, but check out the comments for more info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CONAN THE BARBARIAN, 15 Jan 2009
By 
Yusaf Khan "BOOK SOUL" (BIRMINGHAM ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
HAVING PURCHASDED THIS SO CALLED SPECIAL EDITION, I WAS RATHER LET DOWN, AS ONCE AGAIN IT WAS ANOTHER RELEASE WHICH WAS CENSORED. CONAN FANS DO YOURSELVES A FAVOUR AND TRY TO OBTAIN THE FRENCH 'EDITION PRESTIGE' VERSION, THIS IS UNCUT AND CAN BE VIEWED IN ENGLISH Dts 5.1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 61 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Editon ? Afraid not... :(, 26 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. P. G. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Conan The Barbarian is probably my fave film. Since 2002, this film has been released on DVD 4 times, 2 of which were Special Editions, and now this Definitive Edition. All my life I had been waiting for a uncut version, but once again its the same old, same old - I'm not sure what the previous reviewer was on about concerning some cuts 'restored' but the fact is that like the previous DVD releases, some of the 'horse fall' scenes have been cut, mostly in the final battle sequence. Its particularly poxy because, like before, if you watch the Conan Unchained documentary on Disc 2, you will see one of the cut scenes shown ! (its the scene where Conan, and Rexor on a horse, charge each other, and Conan cuts at the legs of the horse - in the film, the actual fall sequence of the horse is cut, but its in the Documentary - ludicrous). As before, the film features the extended 'directors cut' ending with the Princess reinstated (on the old VHS Pan & Scan copies, the final scene did not have the Princess and is much shorter, but all the DVD releases have the extended ending - the old VHS ending would have been an interesting extra) and also has the short Subotai and Conan remeniscing scene (between the Funeral Pyre and Battle Of The Mounds) which was in the previous version and is similar to the scene early on when Conan and Subotai talk about the gods. I'll give this release one star cos the metal tin case is beautiful ! - but if you want an uncut version, the best route is to buy the US version (Region 1) from Amazon.com or the French "Edition Prestige" from Amazon.fr, which is Region 2 and has the English 5.1 soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crom would be proud!, 9 July 2011
By 
J. HILTON "jameshilton2" (Carlisle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Conan The Barbarian [Blu-ray] [1982] (Blu-ray)
First and foremost the picture and sound quality of thie blu ray restoration is simply superb!
I like a lot of fans have previously owned Conan the Barbarian on VHS (way back when...) and again on DVD. Upon watching this version I have seen details that I have never seen before. The scene where Conan is crucified on the tree of woe, for example, you can see the individual grains of sand on his chest as he is dying. The sound too is great, the metalic clash of swords and those meaty 'thunks' as bodies are cleaved are very clear.

I've just began watching the bonus features but it looks like all of the features from the DVD Se edition are included plus some new content as well.

I just hope the new version of Conan due out soon lives up to its predecesor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but one fatal flaw!, 8 Aug 2004
You don't get more classic than these three with Arnie showing why he was such a star in the eighties. Well worth the purchase but it would've been five stars if it wasn't for one fatal flaw. Commando has a hell of a lot of violence cut out, it's like watching a Channel 5 version not a DVD! What's that all about?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected Treat, 25 Jun 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most things beloved of your childhood are rarely as captivating when viewed once more through adult eyes. I remember sneaking out of my bedroom late at night to watch this film, and being bowled over by its fantastical world. It inspired me to track down the original Howard short stories, and set a young boy on a path to, well, an unfashionable love of fantasy in general.

So I had some misgivings in approaching this film on DVD, especially given its lead star. What I found was a film that has survived extraordinarily well over the years, and in fact delivers as much for the adult as it did for the child. The story, whilst a condensation of Howard's writings, does well to capture the spirit of his heroic tales, leading you through some fantastical landscapes that come alive in simply stunning cinematography . The cast is solid, and Arnie is every inch the wild barbarian, all strength and instinct. The film uses special effects sparingly, and so has kept most of its imaginative power. Finally, the score by Basil Poledouris is probably one of the most fitting I have heard, and well worth buying separately on CD.

Fantasy films are rarely great works of cinema, but Conan is perhaps better appreciated now it has gained some distance from its source material and its monosyllabic star. It really is a work of art. This DVD release too is a real treat, with a great transfer and soundtrack (although why is the music in mono?). Give it a try, by Crom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AT LAST CONAN IN ITS FULL UNCUT VERSION, 21 July 2011
This review is from: Conan The Barbarian [Blu-ray] [1982] (Blu-ray)
WE HAVE HAD TO PUT UP WITH A BBFC EDITED VERSION FOR YEARS NOW BUT FINALLY WE HAVE CONAN THE BARBARIAN IN ITS FULL HORSE FALL,CAMEL KNOCKOUT PUNCH,BLOOD THIRSTY GLORY AT LAST.YOU MAY WONDER WHAT IM GOING ON ABOUT IF YOU HAVE ALREADY BOUGHT AND VIEWED THE BLU RAY DISC AND SEEN IT IS THE CUT VERSION,THE TRICK TO PLAY THE UNCUT VERSION IS TO TURN ON YOUR BLUE RAY PLAYER,GO TO YOUR BLU RAY MENU PAGE AND SWITCH YOUR SET UP FROM ENGLISH TO DUTCH FORMAT.THEN PLACE THE BLU RAY DISC IN TO THE TRAY AND PRESS PLAY AND TO YOUR AMAZEMENT WATCH CONAN IN ITS ORIGINAL FORMAT!!!BRILLIANT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Review 43 - Conan the Barbarain, 2 Aug 2011
Conan The Barbarian Blu-ray Review

Distributor: Universal US

The film that kicked started the Barbarian craze of the early 1980's, often imitated but never equalled. Starring a young Arnold Schwarzenegger in a role which fit him like a glove Conan the Barbarian has it all from sword and sorcery to epic battles and even a reasonably emotional back story, the film is justifiably a true classic of its time.

Universal have done an altogether excellent job of bringing this movie to Blu-ray. First we get an extended cut of the film which includes some fairly lengthy scene extensions and an altogether different ending. Secondly the movie is presented with a brand new 1080p transfer which is nothing short of impressive. Detail is strong and sharp, while colours and black levels remain well defined. With no visible signs of print damage or the dreaded DNR, this presentation easily provides the best quality print the film has ever seen.

Even more impressive than the excellent transfer is the audio track. Presented with DTS HD 5.1 audio, the now classic score powers through your speakers like never before. Dialogue is clear, sound effects are sharp and accurate and the music tracks actually sound like they were produced yesterday rather than around 30 years ago. The soundtrack really does the film justice and immerses you into the world of Conan like never before. Not since the Blu-ray release of Braveheart has a film soundtrack gained such an improvement when released on this format.

Extra features are also plentiful. Starting off with a commentary track from non other than Conan himself, then moving on to an extensive making of documentary featuring interviews with all of the principal cast and crew. This documentary is an excellent companion piece to the film itself as it really delves into the history and issues involved in producing the movie. There are also a handful of deleted scenes and usual trailers rounding this off to make a very neat and informative package.

All things considered, if you are a fan of the film then this Blu-ray release is a must buy. No matter how well you think you know the film you will definitely experience something new here and it is great to see a classic movie receive the treatment is deserves. The film actually arrived in the UK on Blu-ray some weeks before the US release however the UK version has a couple of scene trims involving horse falls and unless you play around with your Blu-ray player settings, you will find yourself left with a shorter version of the film. Admittedly this can be changed by setting your Blu-ray player to another territory which then plays the film uncut, however the obvious answer to save this kind of messing around is just to import the US release which Universal have produced as region free.

The sequel Conan the Destroyer has also been released in the US on Blu-ray and although it will never match the original film, still makes for a nice companion piece for that high definition Conan double bill.

Rounding off the last of the classic Schwarzenegger Blu-ray releases, Conan finally comes crashing to the ultimate format in a most worthy presentation.

The gods are pleased with you, they will watch the battle.
Are they going to help?
No.
Well, then tell them to stay out of the way.

BLU REVIEW OBSCURA - for review of those less mainstream Blu-ray releases find us on Facebook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CONAN - A LANDMARK FILM ON A LANDMARK DVD, 19 Mar 2004
By A Customer
If you have not seen Conan the Barbarian before, you are in for a treat. If you have, buy this DVD now. Why, you might ask, is it priced ridiculously cheap then? Your guess is as good as mine. This DVD package is perhaps the best I have seen in terms of sound, documentaries and commentary. The soundtrack in Conan is totally overwhelming, stirring and brilliant - I am not exaggerating when I rank it as one of the best I have heard. With this blaring from your speakers occumpanied by a first-rate picture quality, it is an experience for any film fan. The documentary 'Conan Unchained' has all the interviews (Schwarzenegger, James Earl Jones, the directors, producers) and covers in depth how the movie was made. The deleted scenes are a bit dodgy though, it is obvious why they did not make the final cut.
As for the film itself, it is Schwarzeneggers best film (probably on level par with The Terminator) and James Earl Jones is haunting as the evil cult leader. The violence in this film is extremely raw and comic book, but are staged remarkably realistically for its date. Some famous scenes include Big Arnie talking to Crumb (Yes, talking!) and the magnificent revenge face-paint Thulsa Doom sequence ('YOU...'). I now appreciate how good this film is after seeing it on DVD. It doesn't even compare to Conan The Destroyer - that was a shocking attempt at a sequel. This however was a defining moment in 80's cinema and marked the greatest sword and sorcery film when released. It should not be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa587f390)

This product

Conan The Barbarian [Blu-ray] [1982]
Conan The Barbarian [Blu-ray] [1982] by John Milius (Blu-ray - 2011)
6.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews