Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A VERY interesting collection!!
I was totally blown away by this great collection of Thompson Twins' tracks!
It contains a fair amount of rare and unreleased material which were previously impossible to find.
I have been a follower of the Thompson Twins since their beginnings in 1981 right up to their final album in 1991, I have always hoped someday a collection featuring rare material like...
Published on 7 April 2003 by cheekyg15

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Hits : The Thompson Twins.
All their hits on one album. We Are Detective, Hold Me Now, Sister Of Mercy and many more. Brings back all 80's nostalgia. when you listen to, appreciate the time gone by.
Published 5 months ago by David


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A VERY interesting collection!!, 7 April 2003
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I was totally blown away by this great collection of Thompson Twins' tracks!
It contains a fair amount of rare and unreleased material which were previously impossible to find.
I have been a follower of the Thompson Twins since their beginnings in 1981 right up to their final album in 1991, I have always hoped someday a collection featuring rare material like this would emerge on CD.
Rare tracks on this compilation are:
"Roll Over": This was the 'single' from 1985 which in the end, never saw the light of day, it's very sought after! A classic in it's own right! Biggest surprise seeing this here! This version is the VERY rare UK 7" version from 1985.
"Lay Your Hands On Me (12" Version)": This is the original UK 1984 12" which has never previously been available on CD and by far the best version ever!
"Hold Me Now" & "In The Name Of Love": These versions seem like either early demo versions or pre-mixes.
Also included is the b-side "Lucky Day" which was only available before on the 7" of "We Are Detective" and features Joe Leeway from the band on vocals along with lead singer Tom Bailey.
The version of the single "Sister Of Mercy" featured here is a mix which I'm almost certain hasn't been heard of before amongst the fans, and, apart from "Roll Over", another pleasant surprise!
All these rarities and also near enough all the singles including the brilliant "Nothing In Common" from 1986!
All in all, great sound quality (considering how old the tracks are now) and really nice artwork featuring rare photos makes for what seems like a MUST for anyone who would like to re-live the 80's Twins!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits, and it sure delivers, 27 April 2003
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Another Thompson Twins compilation? As any TT fan will tell you, there are already a lot out there. Just off the top of my head we have Master Hits, The Collection, The Best Of, The Singles Collection, Hold Me Now, a few other Greatest Hits ones, a Greatest Mixes... on and on, and they all have mostly the same tracks, usually with a few variants, which means given long enough their entire back catalogue will at last be available on remastered CD. Anyway, it is criminal that their albums aren't on new digitally remastered CDs like so many other 80s acts. This compilation, however, is the best one yet, and you should choose this over all the others. It has all the greats, and the most common songs are actually here in superb alternate versions - the minimalist Sister Of Mercy and Hold Me Now being the best ones I've heard. The compilers of this album have written very praising and informative liner notes, the packaging is top notch, the sound quality is excellent and it includes the best b-side: Lucky Day, as well as Roll Over, a rarity, especially here in the UK. The Thompson Twins made superb music, buy this and wait for the albums to be re-released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bad Hair, Great Music, 21 Feb 2004
By 
Steven Moses - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
All my old 7 and 12" singles are in the loft and I don't even own a turntable anymore. But listening to this compilation made me realise what a great singles band TT were. Sure, their hair and dress sense would have made even Vivian Westwood blanch and give Andrew Collinge sleepless nights. But it was the 80s after all (you should see some of my old photos) and post-New Romanticism TT provided great pop with bass and African beats to the fore. In fact, unlike many 80s bands the music has aged very well. Standouts have to be 'Hold Me Now', 'Love On Your Side' and the weirdly appealing 'If You Were Here'. Like many of their peers who added a different spin on the 80s (Heaven 17, Scritti Politti et al), TT were a band that deserve another listen. I'm off into my loft...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Am I really this old?, 6 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Great memories, some strange tracks! I owned this a long long time ago and seem to remember leaving the tape of it in a car I sold.
So, buying it again was an attempt to see if the album was as good as I recall it to be. Well, its good, but not brilliant. In some respects I think they've tried padding it out with some if the inferior tracks the TT wrote.
Nonetheless, all of the 80's classics are there and its well worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent cd, 5 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Another exellent 80's cd. The greatest hits from the thompsan twins is all the best records that the 80's singers ever made. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CD Full Of Hidden Gems, 26 Feb 2008
By 
P. Finnegan "Dark Raven" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is by far the best Thompson Twins hits cd on the market. As many reviewer here will state there are many compilation cds avaliable and it can be a minefield trying to navigate your way through them. The 12" collection was interesting for the extended versions of Twins tracks many on cd for the first time but was severely lacking in the design and presentation department. With a generic cover part of a series of cds with an abstract picture of the Twins on the front. But this release uses the original Thompson Twins font and colours and three headed logo on front with decent pictures of the Twins. An aproach that I think works well.

But its musically that this compilation stands head an shoulders about the rest of the best of cds. It is the inclusion of these rare previously unheard versions of songs that make this cd worth having in your collection. What sounds like an early demo version of Hold Me Now is the same one that was played when the Thompson Twins performed it on Top Of The Pops to an enthusiastic audience. A live sounding stusio version of In The Name Of Love, An Unsual dubby sounding Sister Of Mercy that should satisfy completists and fans who hunger for something new. The 7" of Roll Over is also a welcome addition.

I would have to say that its strange the record company never capitalised on the fact that there are rare versions of tracks on this cd. There is no information or stickers on the cover to suggest the music as such. With Hold Me Now being listed as just that. Sister Of Mercy is stated as being the 7" version of the song and that would suggest to me that it was the one with the Piano intro but that couldnt be further from the truth. If you took the cd at face value you would think all the tracks are just the same ones you have heard a 100 times over. But not so and to me that is by far the best selling point of this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
By 
Janice Dwyer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
GREAT ALBUM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars prompt efficient service. Happy to recommend., 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A great present, well received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good old days, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Ah, good old days this album brings lot of memories. It sounds bit dated but I still enjoy good old hits. I love 'Sister of Mercy'. Glad to get the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thompson Twins., 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A really good album, has all the hits and more, i did not realise just how many songs the band had done, some of them i had forgot about until the first few bars kick in and then it all comes back to you. I recomend this album for people of a certain age who were around in that golden early eighties period. Listen and enjoy the memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Greatest Hits
The Greatest Hits by The Thompson Twins
Buy MP3 Album6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews