Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Fantasy films ever!
May I suggest that 'surround sound' is turned off???
As all the other reviewers seem to be concentrating on the presentation and not the content of the film, here's my twopence worth.
Definitely not a kid's film, this is a dark, sensual adult film of the age-old theme of the devil wanting darkness to take over the world - requiring the services of a virgin and a...
Published on 13 Jan 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Once. Twice. Three times a Legend.
There is only 1 reason to buy this blu-ray release. For the EUROPEAN THEATRICAL VERSION, which gives us yet another version of the film, from a Director who seems to like two, three, and in some cases even four versions of one film. It is presented with better sound, than we've had before, Jerry Goldsmith's score can be heard clearly and the dialogue and sound effects are...
Published on 9 Feb 2012 by N. Witton


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! both Versions available!, 4 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing! Finally a Blu ray of this Epic film comes with both the tangerine dream soundtrack that I grew up with AND the directors cut too! so you can choose your viewing to your liking :). It is Region FREE! it plays on Playstation 3!
If you have not seen this film then expect the following... Swords, Sorcery, Demons, Unicorns, a fit princess, Magic, Monsters & Tom Cruise in a young role! kind of like a mini Lord Of The Rings but a bit more magical. If you love all of the above then try it out. Its mint like :).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deserves better..., 15 Feb 2002
By 
Ian C. Smith "ghost of '82" (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legend [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
Well we may be the first to get this under-rated gem on DVD but we are missing all the amazing extras that will be on the future R1 version. LEGEND is one of Ridley Scotts lesser pictures but that still means it is far superior to most fantasies. Comparisons to the recent LOTR are unfair; you really need to bear in mind that when this film was made CGI was still years away and most fx had to be done on-set. Art direction, photography etc are cutting-edge and the film boasts one of the finest scores of that decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the version everyone loves, do NOT buy, 15 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legend [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
My feelings on this film are far from unique, it seems about 3 out of 4 reviews state the same feeling: Why this version?

I grew up in the 1980s and recorded Legend off the TV and watched it until the VHS began to go funny. I loved it; it was magical and mystical and oh so enchanting. Of course, many childhood memories are best left as memories and - after watching the DVD version - so it seemed was Legend. It seemed a bit silly, not very captivating and there was certainly nothing magical about it. And then the reason was explained to me. So, to sum it up, there were two versions released; the US version which was shorter and with a soundtrack by the Tangerine Dream and the European version which was longer with a classical score by Jerry Goldsmith. However, when the film was shown on TV in the UK in the 1980s, the US/Tangerine Dream version was used (and ONLY on TV - cinema and VHS/DVD releases are the Goldsmith version). Put shortly, the Goldsmith version is pants and the Tangerine Dream version is sheer brilliance. If you want an example of how much a soundtrack can influence a film, the two versions of this film can serve as no better example. This release is the Goldsmith version - the only version available on Region 2 DVD.

The wonderful music and the brevity of the film in the US/Tangerine Dream version mixed together so well to lift you into another world. The particularly disappointing changes in the Goldsmith version are the ending sans the song 'Loved by the Sun' and the Lord of Darkness's final speech before he is cast into oblivion. The Jerry Goldsmith version is not a bad film, but it is unexceptional, and just another film. Watching the Tangerine Dream version on the internet earlier today (poor, pixleated quality on a laptop and all) took me back to being an eight-year-old boy again and was a million times better than the Goldsmith version on 32 inch, widescreen HD TV).

What makes me so angry is that - just like George Lucas stubbornly refusing to release the original Star Wars films for years - you cannot purchase the Tangerine Dream version on region 2 DVD right now. And you can only buy that version as a box set with the limp Goldsmith release ON REGION 1! Please listen to the multitude of reviews and release the version we all grew up loving.

In short, this film is average and is not the version we grew to love. The second the Tangerine Dream version becomes available on Region 2 DVD, my copy will be on order, but I have no interest in this 'vanilla' version at all and strongly advise you hold off and wait for the real version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UK Blu-ray, 7 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend [Blu-ray] [1985] (Blu-ray)
The UK Blu-ray features the European Theatrical cut of the film, running 93 minutes approximately and not 89 minutes as stated on the back cover. And also the director's cut running roughly 20 minutes longer, listed as a special feature.
The European cut has 5.1 DTS HD Master Audio. The Director's Cut has 5.1 Dolby Digital. Both sound great, although I think the Director's cut sounds better. Maybe the sound was remixed for the US Dvd or Blu-ray, but it sounds better to me.
Picture quality on the European cut is good, but not as good as the Theatrical cut from the US Blu-ray release. The Director's cut has a disclaimer about the source print and it's inferior quality, but it looks great anyway.
The only extra is the Theatrical trailer.

The Disc is Region ABC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clarification!, 4 Jan 2007
By 
KsK (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Legend [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
Incredible the amount of confusion regarding this film and the soundtracks. So I will clarify!

The musical score for this film was originally written by Jerry Goldsmith, however the film failed test screenings and was cut down from around 120 minutes to 89 minutes and the epic Goldsmith score replaced with music by Tangerine Dream, Jon Anderson, and Bryan Ferry.

However in recent years the Goldsmith score has become very popular critically acclaimed as his best ever work! In the USA, an ultimate edition of the film was released which includes a version of the film running at 113 mins and features the original Goldsmith score- this is the true director's cut. That ultimate edition also includes the version of the film released in US cinemas, which runs at 89 minutes and includes the Tangerine Dream soundtrack.

I can only conclude that this European DVD includes the 89 minute version of the film but actually features the Goldsmith soundtrack. There seems to be a great divide between people who prefer the Tangerine Dream soundtrack and people who prefer Goldsmith's soundtrack.

My advice would be to hold out for a Region 2 release of the Ultimate Edtion, or import it from the USA- then you can make your own mind up!

Personally I rate the director's cut with the Goldsmith soundtrack as a much better version, therefore this particular item receives a 3/5 from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Region 1 DVD w/ Directors Cut is more recommended..., 15 Nov 2005
This review is from: Legend [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
Although badly cut-down from Ridley Scott's original directors cut (which was relased on DVD in America) this handsomely-mounted homage to Cocteau's Beauty & the Beast looks fabulous on this region 2 DVD (which actually boasts a *better* transfer than the otherwise superior region1 DVD).
There's seems to be some confusion regarding the "replacement" of Tangerine Dream's music for Legend. In fact Jerry Goldsmith's score was the one written first. Goldsmith was hired by Ridley Scott, who wanted a traditional, classically-style score to go with his classically-styled farie tale. Goldsmith started writing in pre-production and also wrote the songs and music for the fairy dance scene (which was lamentably cut from all versions of the film).
Goldsmith's music was tossed-out for the American release of the film in favor of something more "pop"-oriented (hence Tangerine Dream's hiring). The Goldsmith score is the one Scott prefers, and Goldsmith's classical European-style score is better suited to this distinctly European fantasy than the 80s pop / Asian-flavored (and hopelessly dated) synth strains of Tangerine Dream.
While this version of the film is closer to Scott's original intentions, I would reccomend the region 1 DVD, which boasts a longer running time and extention of several scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If I could make one perfect movie from the three available versions, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Chances are, if you're here, you were probably a child when you first became aware of Ridley Scotts LEGEND. To my knowledge there are three available versions of the movie, the European release with the Jerry Goldsmith soundtrack, the U.S. release with the Tangerine Dream soundtrack and the Director's Cut also using the Jerry Goldsmith score.

Having first seen the U.S. version of Legend with the Tangerine Dream score on television in the late 80's I was disappointed to discover that the European release was distributed using the vastly inferior Goldsmith score. Not until as recently as 2011 with the REGION FREE release of the U.S. Blu-Ray (Legend [Blu-ray] [1985][Region Free] [US Import]) have we been able to enjoy the superior Tangerine Dream version without the use of a multi-region player and a Region 1 release.

Having invested some time recently watching all three versions of the movie currently available, I can honestly say that in my opinion there is no definitive or ultimate version of this film as all three versions have their own positive and negative attributes. What is evident after watching all three however, is that the Tangerine Dream soundtrack adds an element of fantasy to the movie that the Jerry Goldsmith score seems unable to achieve. This becomes obvious from the outset of watching the U.S. version as the prologue accompanied by the opening of Tangerine Dream's score sets the tone for the forthcoming adventure.

My own opinion is that the Director's Cut of the movie whilst being 24 minutes longer, adds very little substance to the film and on viewing, it becomes apparent as to why certain scenes were omitted from the alternative theatrical editions. In addition to this, unfortunately the Director also chose to use the Goldsmith score which further detracts from the overall presence of the movie.

The U.S. version has the same run time as the European release, although certain scenes throughout the film have been altered with the use of different camera angles, aswell as some having been deleted only to have been replaced with alternatives elswhere in the film. The major positive attribute of the U.S. release however is the use of the sublime soundtrack scored by the German electronic musical group Tangerine Dream.

Finally the European release. This for me is the finest "CUT" of all three, being let down only by the use of the Goldsmith score rather than the alternative. This edition seems able to flow easily from scene to scene never languishing on insignificant detail and hence able to maintain a constant pace throughout. If not for the inferior soundtrack included, this version would be my definitive edition.

Overall, all three editions of this movie are fantastic based upon their own individual merits, however the finest version of this movie would undoubtedly arise from merging both the European and U.S. theatrical versions. To keep the European version intact but to add the various scenes from the U.S. version currently missing from the European, and to use the Tangerine Dream soundtrack to weave the edits together in order to produce the ultimate edition.

As it stands, the three current versions are the only ones we are likely to see. Although the U.S. release lacks the pace and balance of the European edit, once you have viewed the film with the Tangerine Dream soundtrack there is simply no pleasure in returning to the Goldsmith scored version. Throughout the film there just appears to be something lacking as the Goldsmith score seems to play over the top of the movie rather than integrate and compliment the visual style of the film.

In summary, I have no doubt that each individual will have their preference with regards edition, however, if like me you initially viewed the movie with it's Tangerine Dream soundtrack don't be disappointed by ordering the wrong disc online. Only the REGION FREE U.S. IMPORT has the version accompanied by this soundtrack and can be found using THIS LINK: Legend [Blu-ray] [1985][Region Free] [US Import]

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one you want for The Tangerine Dream Score!, 21 Dec 2013
By 
Ms. T. Allen "tara_lara7000" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After watching a couple of different releases of Legend and being thoroughly disappointed both with the music and cut scenes I have finally found the one that is nearly the exact original. I know Amazon will mash this review together under a 'general' Legend heading confusing which copy I'm talking about so I'm going to make it really clear! If you want the Original Tangerine dream music, blu ray quality and the least hacked up version of this classic film, the one you want is LEGEND (BLU-RAY) (1985) (region free) (US import). This has both the theatrical release and the directors cut. The theatrical release has the right music and no major scene cuts as far as I could tell it's the film I grew up loving! Under no circumstances by the UK release! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
this was not the version that i had previously seen on the tv and it came with a completely differeny sountrack that what most unexpected. the original film i saw, the soundtrack was provided by Jon Anderson and Tangerine dream. I think this should have been made clear on the advert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend blu ray import, 15 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Put simply,
If you want to watch legend with the tangerine dream score on it,, how you saw it in the uk on the telly,which was the USA version.

AND,,

how the uk saw it in the theatre,, with the classical music score,

You've got to get this

Tons of extras too,with Ridley Scott explaining why he changed the score in the USA, and which one he prefers.

This DVD plays fine in the uk too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legend [Blu-ray] [1985]
Legend [Blu-ray] [1985] by Ridley Scott (Blu-ray - 2012)
6.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews