Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 January 2012
I've had about 5 DECT sets since the very old Rabbit cordless many years back. All have had some deficiency or are finnicky, poor battery life etc but these Siemens sets are pretty much perfect and correct all the problems the others had.

The handsets feel nice and the buttons are positive with a quick response. The switchable keyclick the first I'd be happy to leave on. I never use poly ringtones on a cell but I would use some of the 18 on this (there are also 3 non poly rings).

Colour display is pleasant and not over utilised, animated or garish. Phonebook/caller ID can show 13 dialled digits on screen without wrapping to the next line with a max number length of 32 characters. The name uses proportional font, maximum 16 characters. Phonebook has 250 entries and part or all can be pushed to other handsets. There are 9 press-and-hold one-touch memories which point to phonebook entries.

CallerID list can be set to record all incoming calls or only those missed. Dedicated button to access the missed call list, which flashes if a missed call has arrived while you've been out. Can also set to utilise CallerID to not ring for withheld numbers, and during certain hours not ring unless one of your VIP entries calls.

Battery life on supplied AAA 800mAh cells is impressive, they suggest you charge 8.5hrs to start then allow to fully discharge before charging the first time (for accurate battery level reporting). So far it's been 7 days and we've used the handset for a couple of hours in that time and it's only just gone to 25%!

Built in remote control answering machine with variable answer time depending on message left or not, and speech prompts, clarity of recordings is good. Usual cellphone method of holding "1" to get to it.

Extras? Alarm clock with snooze, intercom/transfer between phones, auto-pickup when you lift off the charger. Listen-in facility and calls can be recorded to the answering machine. Two way hands free. Two way SMS. Eco mode for low power consumption (but hides signal strength meter). Displays "Line in use" when another handset is using the phone line. Rename handset for location (i.e. Kitchen, Bedroom etc).

What's different? Like a cellphone, a short press on the green pickup button brings up the last number redials. To get dial tone you have to hold the button in, or you select from phonebook (or dial the number) then press green to dial.

Missing? The outgoing redial memories do not store date/time. The incoming missed calls store date/time. Maybe over picky of me. Probably never use it.

Summary? Extremely intuitive. Can't fault it. Everything is there and more. Clarity and volume in both directions is excellent.
1616 comments| 175 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
This set is a quality piece of equipment from Siemens. I bought it primarily as my wife is slightly deaf in one ear so i needed units that were resonably loud on call and earpiece. The gigaset covers all the bases, easy to set up, good instructions and nice clear sound from the speakers. Only two small negatives, the phone melodies are naff, and the shiny black plastic rear cover scratches easily, but the overall build still makes it a 5*
44 comments| 139 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2011
Excellent Cordless Phone set for home use which are relatively simple to set-up. Good level of volume on ringer tones and during calls. Speech is clear to hear using the handsets and the wireless range is excellent given that the handsets work throughout the property. Handsets are light and comfortable to hold for long calls etc. Easy to see that a message has been recorded on the Answer Machine which is easily accessed from all handsets as well as the base unit. Compared to my aging Binatone cordless set, this set is a definate step up in quality.
0Comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
I bought this Gigaset to replace one I've had since 1996. I loved that phone but the buttons finally stopped working. My new C300A is a vast improvement, simple to operate, good menus, incredible battery life (can work for nearly a week off the charger!), and I like the ringtones (modern, cool, some very cheesy but fun). The answer machine is simple too, controlled by logical buttons on the base station and also through the handset. No regrets, quality at a great price.
0Comment| 97 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2011
Having worn out many cordless phones and been frustrated that each replacement is far worse than the last, I have finally found one that actually builds on the successes of its predecessors. Easy to set up (do read the instructions, but they're written by real humans rather than techno-geeks, and well indexed) and lots of really useful features even for someone who hates gimmicks and gadgets. Like the fact that you can switch the ringer off, increase earpiece volume, set it for alarm calls, and transfer the address book between handsets with just a few clicks. Good audio, although the numerous announcements on the answerphone are a bit irritating. But still, the best phone I've had by far. This has made me Very Happy. Bought this one for home but may now have to buy one for my office as well, even though the current phone hasn't died yet.
22 comments| 101 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 December 2011
Solid, no nonsense styling, the two tone black and silver and rectangular design have an almost retro appeal. I like the simplicity and they're comfortable to hold. The build quality seems to be up to the usual Seimens (Gigaset) quality. The most important feature for me is the hands free option, it works well on my desk as long as I have it on the highest volume setting and the cradle sits fairly close to me. You can also use the speaker phone when holding the handset and switch easily between speaker phone and using the phone held to your ear. It does everything I want it to do, has all the usual features, quick dial, address book, intercom etc. It has a big selection of ring tones and for frequent callers you can assign a unique ring tone so you automatically know who is calling. You can also let the phone go through to the answering machine and screen the message, picking up if you want to take the call. Retrieval of messages is very easy using the handset. When in the cradle you can customise the display information, my phone displays date and time which is very handy. I've also noticed that the annoying echo I used to get on long distance calls has stopped! The display screen is quite small but big enough to make out the appropriate icons and the numbers are big enough even when I haven't got my glasses on. As you would expect it there are various icons indicating missed calls or messages left and there also is a key on the bottom left hand corner which flashes when you have a missed call or message. All in all a good quality piece of kit at a very fair price, which I wouldn't hesitate to recommend. I've had mine successfully in use for nearly three months now.
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2011
Thought that these three DECT handsets were very good value, as the base included answer phone and they are made by Siemens.
Easy to set up and use. sound quality better than our old twin set-up (which as GAP compatible we added to the system in spare rooms).

Very pleased with these, definitely would recommend.
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2012
This set was bought when one of the speakerphones became faulty on our Panasonic KX-TG6512EM cordless phone (still available, and the last digit just represents the number of phones in the set) because the Gigaset had caller ID features (in our case relying upon a free 'boost' from TalkTalk), and especially because the promotional material elaborately and specifically claimed to offer clear sound.

The features were good and, among many other things, calls with no ID could be automatically diverted to ansafone and monitored so you could decide whether to pick up.

However sound really was indistinct and too quiet, whether on microphone or speaker at the highest settings. Worse still, the very first caller complained that she could not hear properly unless the handset was held conventionally. This was in marked contrast to our old Panasonic cordless phone, which made the Gigaset seem immediately to be poor and inconvienient.

Before ordering I did read one or two similar comments, but they were outnumbered and contradicted by other reviewers. Of course 'Clarity' is not quite the same as 'loudness' but in any case, and according to my own experience, the performance was inadequate in the the three examples which I received.

Very disappointing...
11 comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2011
Just a couple of words to get the most out of the phone you MUST read the manual. For the money it is the best phone i have ever had awesome call quality and very good battery life.

The only annoying thing is a few of the ring tones can get on your nerves but for some people they will be ok.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2011
Very well designed handset with all the functions you could need. Well made and sturdy enough for general domestic use. Wide range of settings allowing customising to your own preferences. Good tone and volume even for those with less than perfect hearing. Most important of all, good battery life and quick charging. Can be left off base station for long periods without losing too much charge. Fair value for money.
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 81 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)