Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ian Siegal, The Skinny album
I bought this album at his Sheffield concert he was the support band, but really should have been the headlining act,they were absolutely awesome! This album is not the Ian Siegal band but a side project, & I have to say I havent stopped playing the album since getting it,truely a masterpiece!!
Published on 25 Sep 2011 by Saxman16blues

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
To be honest, I am quite disappointed with this album. I like Ian Siegal, but those other musicians didn't do to must to enhance him, or my listening pleasure. The whole thing sounded very samey, almost boring, needing a decent producer.
Published 23 days ago by A.Ward


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ian Siegal, The Skinny album, 25 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Skinny (Audio CD)
I bought this album at his Sheffield concert he was the support band, but really should have been the headlining act,they were absolutely awesome! This album is not the Ian Siegal band but a side project, & I have to say I havent stopped playing the album since getting it,truely a masterpiece!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Blues/Old Blues for the new millenium., 29 April 2012
By 
Mark Haynes (Telford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Skinny (Audio CD)
I think it's fair to say that the Blues genre is one of the most resistant to change. This isn't because of 'conservatism' but just that the 12 bar blues formula just can't be improved upon in most people's eyes. So here we have an album that sounds as if it could have been recorded 40 years ago, but was recorded in 2011 by Ian Siegal (a 40 year old at the time). No concessions to the current 'flavour-of-the-month' rap/hip-hop here (eg John Alex Mason), no heavy/hard rock excess (eg Stevie Ray Vaughan, Joe Bonamassa), just wholesome country blues. Kicking off with the brilliant title track which is sort of reminiscent of John Lee Hooker, Ian Siegal's vocals (and he's English!) have that grizzled 'lived-in' quality which sounds vaguely like a young Johnny Cash. Next up is my favourite track on the whole album 'Stud Spider'. This is proof that blues (if proof is needed) can teach ANY music something about rhythm,down-and-dirty but with a rhythmic sophistication it's just the track to play to your upstart son/younger brother who thinks any music other than rap is 'boring'. The rest of the album contains other such gems as the brilliantly titled 'Hound Dog in the Manger' and 'Blues for Dennis (Hopper)'. Should be better known. New/Old Blues for the new millenium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent album, 11 May 2011
By 
K. C. Wood "KW" (Cambs, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Skinny (Audio CD)
If Ian Siegal's earlier albums were very good then this surpasses them. The fusion of Ian's vocals and slide guitar with the considerable talents of 'the younger sons' has created a record that just gets better with each play. I can't praise this record highly enough and it hasn't strayed far from the cd player since it arrived. The almost hypnotic feel of the music together with the haunting vocals and the high level of musical skills restores one's faith in an era of manufactured music and Simon Cowell domination. Thank heavens for music and artists of this calibre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous!, 25 April 2012
By 
S. Bowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Skinny (Audio CD)
This album is an absolute MUST! Moonshine Minnie is my new girlfriend. From the first play, I was hooked. Ian Siegal's laid-back style works so well with this excellent material. Normally I go for a more 'upfront' blues style (reference Nugene Records 'stablemate' Simon McBride), but this is an utter gem. If you don't buy it, you are missing a pleasure. Six stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Skinny, 20 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Skinny (Audio CD)
Just buy it, that's all you need to know. The title track is possibly the best thing Ian Siegal has ever done, both musically and lyrically, and although its a hard act to follow the rest doesn't disappoint either. Studio recordings never quite match the intensity of a live performance but this is as close as it's possible to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ian Siegal - The Youngest Sons, 5 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: The Skinny (MP3 Download)
Heard the band on Paul Jones Blues Show on Radio 2 and was blown away. Couldn't wait to get hold of a download and wasn't disappointed...blues at its best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Balls of steel, 31 May 2011
This review is from: The Skinny (MP3 Download)
The whole album is a real rollercoaster ride, great songs and real energy from start to finish. I think I will be buying more of Ian Siegal's albums in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Skinny, 28 Nov 2013
By 
Susan Rushmer (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Skinny (Audio CD)
Good CD, Ian never lets us down. Saw him recently and again he was brilliant. Worth looking into if you love music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4 stars, 29 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Skinny (Audio CD)
If you like the Blues, I would highly recommend this Cd. One of the best new Blues players, I heard in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Muddy Waters/Howlin' Wolf for the 21st Century, 7 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Skinny (Audio CD)
Top line modern blues/rock - Mr Siegel has "it" in spades. Turn up to "11" and you won't hear the neighbours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Skinny
The Skinny by Ian Siegal (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews