Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Series 6 Part 1 (2 Discs) DVD
Adventures across time and space with the time-travelling hero. Doctor Who Series 6 has been broadcasted 23rd April 2011 and finishes in 1st October 2011.

Disc 1:
The Impossible Astronaut: Amy, Rory and River mourn the Doctor, but are soon plunged into an adventure.
Day of the Moon: The Doctor fights an alien invasion dating back to the beginnings of...
Published on 31 Mar. 2013 by kk

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT Series, RUBBISH Box!
I love Series 6 so far; it's a brilliant collection of episodes. I do think Moffat may be creating some continuity issues here and there, but on the other hand, the jury's still out -- this was only the first half, after all. I shall not delve into the brilliance of the series in general and individual episodes in particular though; other reviewers have done so with ample...
Published on 27 July 2011 by J. Myllyluoma


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Series 6 Part 1 (2 Discs) DVD, 31 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Series 6 - Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Adventures across time and space with the time-travelling hero. Doctor Who Series 6 has been broadcasted 23rd April 2011 and finishes in 1st October 2011.

Disc 1:
The Impossible Astronaut: Amy, Rory and River mourn the Doctor, but are soon plunged into an adventure.
Day of the Moon: The Doctor fights an alien invasion dating back to the beginnings of human civilisation.
The Curse of the Black Spot: There's terror on the high seas, as the Doctor is stranded on a pirate ship.
The Doctor's Wife: By following a Time Lord distress signal, the Doctor endangers Amy, Rory and the TARDIS.

Includes a monster file about the Silence!

Disc 2:
The Rebel Flesh: A solar tsunami liberates doppelgangers from their human 'originals'.
The Almost People: The Doctor must convince terrified factory workers to trust their doppelgangers.
A Good Man goes to War: The Doctor assembles an alien army to fight the Battle of Demons Run.

23 April - 04 June 2011
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Howdy !, 25 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Series 6 - Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The first part of series 6 is mostly featured by the best series opener ever. The Doctor's team comes to America in order to fight the Silence, River is back and most paramount revelations are eventually (and at long last!) revealed. Otherwise "The Curse of the Black Spot" might be the adventure that most fans would like to forget (with Amy's improbable sword fight against the pirates and the ridiculous nth death of Rory. In spite of thoe tiny mistakes the other episodes are quite good, if we talk about scripts, above all "The Doctor's Wife". The scriptwriter's originality gives us a brand new look of the relationship between the Doctor and his beloved spaceship. Episodes 5 and 6 are not so exceptional, still more enjoyable than episode 3. "A Good Man Goes To War" (episode 777 of the whole series) was as amazing as the two first episodes, despite the fact that the Doc didn't really fight like a soldier. This first part is essential for the series with an unforgettable beginning and an astonishing mid-series finale. It was generally good compared to series 5 and Tennant's era, few mistakes as episode 3 are made every year so we won't blame them for that, even though I confess there is a large difference of quality of the scripts with the last 6 episodes. To conclude, as I said in my part 2 DVD's review, don't buy that box if you didn't purchase the Christmas Carol DVD separately, I advise you to choose the complete series 6 box. Otherwise you are likely to be disappointed by the lack of special features (which are almost non-existent, except the little "monster files"). But the price is definitely not a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, but.., 7 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Series 6 - Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
They episodes were gripping, with terrific action and acting on parts of everybody. But the emphasis on horror came at the expense of humour, and the 'myth-arc' type of story-lines were too 'X-Files' type, leaving too many questions unanswered. These intriguing aspects make these episodes ideally suited for repeat-viewing, but I am already longing for stand-alone stories. Nevertheless, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
FINE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars male 48, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Series 6 - Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
son bought this so cannot give a detailed account of it but seems satisfied so happy days and a quiet night
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but I now recommend the full series 6 set., 22 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Series 6 - Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this because I was extremely impatient and didn't want to wait for the full series 6 set. If you plan to buy anything of series 6 now, I highly recommend just getting the full box for it. Still, great product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fairytale becomes a Nightmare !, 21 Jun. 2011
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who Series 6 - Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Series 5, Steven Moffat admitted, was Doctor Who: The Dark Fairytale; and it was. By the end of Series 5, Amelia Pond, the girl who waited, had waited long enough and was now traveling with The Doctor as a happily married woman with her husband and parents and the universe as it should be back into place. However, come Series 6... the nightmare begins.

Doctor Who has always been at its best when it isn't afraid to scare and Series 6 is definitely full of those moments. There are The Silence who are so terrifying you'll never remember them, the Ganger's who can steal your life or mutate into horrifying monsters and the never ending corridors inside a time machine that can't wait to kill you. In fact, Series 6 of Doctor Who is possibly the scariest the series has been since it returned in 2005.

Not only does Steven Moffat's second series deliver on the fear factor front, it also begins to unravel the bigger mysteries that have been haunting the mythos of the show since 2008 as we finally find out WHO River Song really is. Whilst giving us answers, the series also poses even more questions, with a major character being killed off within seconds of the first episode.

One of the series's major strong point is its design and tone, creating believable junkyard planets, asteroid army bases, futuristic acid monasteries and 16th century Pirate ships. The series has never looked more atmospheric and rich. Another triumph is the return of The Eleventh Doctor, Matt Smith, who continues to be astonishingly brilliant in the lead role. This year see's a Tardis team who are all keeping secrets from one another - who all know they really should have moved on by now.

In terms of the actual DVD content, unusually for early releases, contains 5.1 surround sound and special features. They also contain the entire first half of the season so whilst I'd suggest waiting for the entire two halves box set which is bound to be released later in the year, if you can't wait to get your hands on this half of the series, this DVD isn't a complete let down.

Series 6 is Moffat on top form with only 'The Curse of the Black Spot' being an arguable weak point in a set of episodes which see Doctor Who at its best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epic, exciting - but also a little confusing!, 25 May 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who Series 6 - Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the first seven episodes of series 6, with six more to follow in the autumn. At the time of this review, only 5 of the 7 episodes have been broadcast.

Matt Smith and the cast are brilliant, Alex as River Song continues to be an intriguing character with lots of attitude, and I have thoroughly enjoyed all of the episodes so far (although my friends and family will tell you that I'm very biased)!

The series opens with episodes 1 and 2: The Impossible Astronaut & Day of the Moon.
Filmed on location in America, the cinematic shots are breathtaking. The shocking opening to episode 1, and equally shocking ending to episode 2, get the heart racing and leave a lot of questions hanging. I've re-watched these scenes over and over again - fantastic stuff!

Episode 4, The Doctor's Wife, is my favourite of the series so far! A clever, intricate tale by writer Neil Gaiman, with an interesting advesary, TimeLords(!) and a superb performance by Suranne Jones as Idris, a.k.a ... well, that would be telling!

My only criticism is that the epic season opener sets up an extremely complicated and confusing series arc by Steven Moffat. Russell T Davies planted small references to season finales throughout his series (e.g. Bad Wolf, Torchwood, Planets dissapearing, Knock 4 times etc). These were small enough to avoid confusion, yet generated intrigue when they appeared (sometimes as well hidden or seemingly unimportant clues, which made them more fun to spot), ultimately paying off in a satisfying manner at the end. Steven Moffat is a very clever writer with amazing storylines that keep people talking and guessing, but the series arc laid down in the first two episodes is so in your face and central to the story (and crops up very unsubtlely in subsequent episodes) that the storyline will be baffling and confusing until the series has drawn to a conclusion.

I know that the payoff is going to be worth the wait (I thought the whole exploding Tardis/cracks in time story arc in Series 5 was wrapped up brilliantly in the series finale, and I have every faith in the cast and crew that love the show so much). I just hope that the overly complex story arc doesn't put too many people off from watching before they have a chance to see the resolution (which unfortunately is what a few of my family members were threatening to do before I urged them to hang on - naughty people!) :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From a French fan !, 5 Jun. 2011
By 
Jardin-d'Ecosse (Aiacciu, Republica di Corsica) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who Series 6 - Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I follow Doctor Who every saturday and this new season is just BRILLIANT, even better than the one before. The only episode I disliked was the 3rd one...but for the others: great plot, very good actors and nice environments + this British humour I like so much !! So much funnier than American or French humours. Doctor Who is a monument, and I hope I won't be deceived by the second part (But how could it be possible regarding the story). I'll definitively watch it again when it will be broadcast on french TV, and I'll buy the dvds too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT Series, RUBBISH Box!, 27 July 2011
By 
J. Myllyluoma (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Series 6 - Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I love Series 6 so far; it's a brilliant collection of episodes. I do think Moffat may be creating some continuity issues here and there, but on the other hand, the jury's still out -- this was only the first half, after all. I shall not delve into the brilliance of the series in general and individual episodes in particular though; other reviewers have done so with ample eloquence.

The one letdown however -- and it's a real stinker -- is the packaging.
Apart from a one minuscule Monster File behind-the-scenes featurette on each disc, there are absolutely no extras here.
None.
At all.
Whatsoever.

Where are the video diaries? The Making Of's?
And not to mention, WHERE are the two Comic Relief specials, "Space" and "Time"?!?
Not in this box, that much is for certain...
The general dearth of special features is bad enough in this day and age, but the omission of those specials is utterly inexcusable!

One can only hope of course that all of these will appear in the Complete Series 6 Box Set ... just by chance of course making us fork up for the first seven episodes twice over ... I must say, it is more than a bit cheeky of the BBC to milk the fans of our hard earned dosh like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who  Series 6 - Part 1 [DVD]
Doctor Who Series 6 - Part 1 [DVD] by Matt Smith (DVD - 2011)
£7.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews