Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Important but dated
Don Quixote describes the adventures of Alonso Quixano, a minor Spanish nobleman. Romantically, and foolishly, he decides to become a chivalrous knight who travels around and has adventures. He takes the name Don Quixote and a farmer, Sancho Panza, becomes his squire - and his main contact with common sense.

Published in the early seventeenth century, Don...
Published 9 months ago by Aletheuon

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superb, but ..
This free version suffers from the normal editing issues where OCR scanning and scant proofing has been available.

The tale(s) of Don Quixote were ground breaking in terms of developing the modern concept of novels and as such it has earned it's place in the literary world. Having said that it also gets "attacked" because, since it was so novel, it does not...
Published 18 months ago by Combat Wombat


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Important but dated, 8 Mar 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Don Quixote (Kindle Edition)
Don Quixote describes the adventures of Alonso Quixano, a minor Spanish nobleman. Romantically, and foolishly, he decides to become a chivalrous knight who travels around and has adventures. He takes the name Don Quixote and a farmer, Sancho Panza, becomes his squire - and his main contact with common sense.

Published in the early seventeenth century, Don Quixote was one of the earliest novels. It is really important in the history of modern western literature. To the modern reader, it is all rather wordy and we ordinary mortals no longer understand the political comment and many of the jokes.. However, every serious reader should have a try at the book because of its historical importance and its brilliant satire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far more readable than I ever imagined, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Quixote (Kindle Edition)
Despite seeing Don Quixote on pretty-much any list of the 100 best ever novels, I'd always been daunted by the size of the tome on our bookshelf and the fact that, even in translation, the language and style made it difficult to get started. Somehow, the Kindle format makes the book more approachable, perhaps becasue the reader is unaware of the bulk other than via the % indicator.I really have found it worth the effort. Once you get used to the style, the content is wonderfully entertaining, observations timeless and perceptive and sections are genuinely funny (in many ways, its qualities reminds me of Shakespeare's work). Some surprises are the level of violence that was clearly meant as amusing (ear lopped off, teeth knocked out, people run through with a lance - puts David Lynch and Quentin Tarantino in context, I guess) and the occasional rude/bawdy humour (e.g. Sancho Panza attempting to defecate without letting Don Q know whilst sitting next to him. Why not 5*? - Some parts do drag on a bit (e.g. the burning of the chivalric romances) and some of the humour hasn't necessarily stood the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superb, but .., 19 Jun 2013
This review is from: Don Quixote (Kindle Edition)
This free version suffers from the normal editing issues where OCR scanning and scant proofing has been available.

The tale(s) of Don Quixote were ground breaking in terms of developing the modern concept of novels and as such it has earned it's place in the literary world. Having said that it also gets "attacked" because, since it was so novel, it does not get everything right. It's certainly long winded for modern readers, has periods where absolutely nothing happens whatsoever and much of the wit, humour and social commentary is now hard to recognise or understand.
This makes it a challenge to approach as a casual reader. I'm sure serious readers can point to far better translations which perhaps "update" or contemporise (?) the work so that it's a bit more welcoming to us dumb bunnies who just want to try it out :)

Having said all that, and at the risk of being shouted at, please have a look at this if only for the introduction and biographical note on Cervantes. Personally Don Quixote seems dull in comparison to his real life!
CW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All time favourite, 13 Oct 2014
By 
Keith E. Chawgo "kchawgo" (London, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Quixote (Kindle Edition)
I tend to read this book every few years and the pathos, humour, pain and character study of the human condition is all still very present.

with this wordy translation, the translator took loving care to ensure that every syllable was translated. Unfortunately or fortunately, depending on your views, the novel becomes a very wordy affair. this will take some patience for the average reader.

the translator has written numerous pages about his process and although interesting in its own right but not sure if he needed to match the worthiness of the novel.

Overall, this a true classic and the first demonstration of the modern novel. if you like the classics, then certainly give this classic a try. If long wordy passages are too much, I suggest looking for an alternative version of Don Quixote. a book to be read in some translation or version. One of my all time favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I once new a donkey named Hotie., 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Quixote (Kindle Edition)
What more can be said about this classic? This translation is eminently readable and does not lose anything in the use of modern vocabulary. A great read for anyone trying to sample a range of books that must be read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don Quixote, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Quixote (Kindle Edition)
One of the great classics. so beautifully written with humour, romance and whimsy.

Wonderful. My desert island choice. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic of course but also subversive, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Quixote (Kindle Edition)
I read this book as a young man and it had a lasting effect on me. The idea of charging giants with what is basically a pointed stick is heroic, and the fact that they are really windmills doesn't make it any less heroic.
The "other view" is what stayed with me and the understanding that there are more ways of looking at things that the perceived wisdom is very important i think.
I have just downloaded it for my Kindle and am looking forward to rereading it again; it has been a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A true classic, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Quixote (Kindle Edition)
A true classic, that will never be forgotten, it's hard not to love this book. There is a bit of everything in this book, and everyone that reads it will take something different from it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic well worth reading, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Quixote (Kindle Edition)
A very interesting story which has been translated brilliantly. I wasn't sure I would enjoy the book but it is one I am glad I didn't miss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 24 Jun 2013
This review is from: Don Quixote (Kindle Edition)
I bought this as it has been mentioned so many times in different movies, it is an excellent book and well worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don Quixote
Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews