Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars165
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 January 2012
This is most certainly worth a download considering it's free. Edward Lear's limericks are witty and fun - drawings are certainly not mandatory for their enjoyment and although the formatting is not pretty the content delivers. I feel some of the other reviewers are being somewhat harsh. If you enjoy the e-book you can always buy a hard copy afterwards.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2010
I think the previous two reviewers are missing the fact that these are the first ever limericks, written by the person who invented the form. Yes, they're not very funny today, and despite having the same AABBA structure as they do today Lear always used to end the first and last lines with the same word, which sounds false to the modern ear. However, for anyone interested in poetic forms this is a must.

Or in other words:

There was a (now dead) man called Lear
Who had something he thought we should hear
His brand new verse form
Caused a comedic storm
But sounds wrong to our modern-day ear.
0Comment|126 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2012
Some books aren't for reading from cover to cover. This is one of those fine free offerings from Kindle that repays the occasional look. It has very many limericks as:
'There was an Old Man of the Dee,
Who was sadly annoyed by a Flea.
When he said,"I will scratch it!"
they gave him a hatchet,
Which grieved that Old Man of the Dee'.
On 12 May 2012, the 200th anniversary of Lear's birth, a plaque was placed on 15 Stratford Place in Westminster where he lived for a time, [BBC News onlin2 12 May 2012]. Curiously, an annotated copy of 'A Book of Nonsense', which was owned by Ronnie Barker the comedian, will be sold at auction on 21 June 2012, {BBC News online 13 June 2012]. In Barker's copy he took issue with the original limericks, observing:
'There was an old fossil named Lear,
Who's [sic] verses were boring and drear.
His last lines were worse -
Just the same as the first!
So I've tried to improve on them here'.
Barker's last line to the Old Man of the Dee, for example, goes, (or should go):
'And he cut off his leg at the knee'.
But we should all thank Lear for this light verse form and perhaps we should have a go ourselves:
There was a young man of Carlisle,
Who hadn't broken wind in a while.
So, once he let rip,
It caused him to skip,
And touch-down was after a mile.
But there again, perhaps not?
Ian C.Mason
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 December 2010
This Kindle version is not formatted correctly so the poems do not appear as poems, PLUS all the illustrations are missing. It's all a bit of a waste of space. Beware of getting something for nothing.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2011
This is a collection of old limericks where the first and last line are (mostly) the same rather than homonyms as we would expect today.

It was Kindle-ised by a group of volunteers, no doubt motivated by a desire to preserve these original works. From a historical point of view such endeavours always have merit and this, along with the problem-free formatting, is the reason for the 3 stars. Illustrations, which presumably accompanied the original text, have not been included which is a shame but understandable.

Don't read if you simply want to be entertained; chances are you won't be. Do read if you have an interest in this particular form of poetry.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2012
Stimulated aged memories of being inspired by the English language. Nonsense verse just makes me chuckle when I think about it. Drift off to sleep with a smile after bedtime reading. The kids will love it, and if they don't you will.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Whilst many of the limericks are dated here, there are still a few that will raise a chuckle. the style of limerick show their age slightly with the first and last lines being so much the same, but you have to remember that was the style.

A few formatting errors here and there - splits mid line, but that is just nit-picking. If you have an interest, curious as to what Edward Lear was about or want to be able to say you have read some of his nonsense, then it isn't going to cost you a penny to do so.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2012
This book is a funny read and very simple to understand so is great for adults and for reading to children, it takes me back to my childhood and would be perfect for English teachers to show examples of limericks. very enjoyable classic.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
My grandson thinks these are weird - just what I hoped. I loved this book a child. Fabulous. The book has a lovely linen-bound feel to it. A thing of beauty.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
This consists of just Lear's limericks (the weakest part of his nonsense output, in my opinion), printed in Courier-style type (as on an old-fashioned typewriter) with none of Lear's endearing illustrations and none of the other songs, poems and stories that appear in better anthologies. Presumably the text is faithful to the original, but I can't believe there was ever a printed edition without pictures. Avoid.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse