Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars47
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2012
I downloaded this because it was free but wasn't expecting very much. As it turns out the initial history section is excellent and better than many expensive modern history books covering the Celts.

Kindle formatting is also good - all in all and excellent addition to your collection if you are at all interested in the subject.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
Dry and scholarly but factually comprehensive examination of the body of Celtic myths and legends. You don't get the poetry and epicism of Welsh and Irish oral tradition but the facts and a small amount of analysis make for fascinating reading.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
Thomas William Rolleston has presented the reader with a chunk of a taster into Celtic Mythology. With such a vast amount to cover, he has highlighted a selection of Myths/legends focusing predominantly on the early Irish books and the later Welsh Celtic series. The on going debate of what is historical and what is mythical has never been answered, but there are reasonable explanations/theories how or why both sides of the coin have become intermingled. He touches upon an enormous range from the Ulster cycle to the Cymraeg saga's and highlights significant differences between style and cultural aspects of both, and the interesting theory why pre-believed legend King Arthur may have well generated from Brittany in France at a much later period, and not originated in Welsh tradition.
For somebody wishing to have an overview of Celtic myths and legends both as historical and fictional, this would be ideal. If the reader just wishes for myths in the form of stories only, there are other books which cover a broader variety of such works. Again, if you seek historical fact and theory alone, this work presents some of the main themes, but not them all.
Over all I found it a very enjoyable read with interesting ideas woven competently throughout.
A good stepping stone into the pool of Celtic myths and legends
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
I read this book,and I am now educated. I have read a lot of other books on this and similar subjects, but this was in my opinion by far the best.

easily explained, and written in plain english , but also written like a story, very easy to follow because one section led easily on to the next,
I would read this auther again, both for pleasure and for study.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
This book is clearly from an earlier age writing about an even earlier age. From that point of view it is not the last word on the subject. However, in spite of the limitations of the knowledge at the time it is still an extremely well written and well researched book and opens many avenues of enquiry for anyone wishing to delve deaper into the subject era. It is very readable and accessable and a worthy contribution to the subject.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
Some of the historical references are a little wild, and I guess some of the Celtic lineage, but as a first timer I thought the myths, especially the early Irish, were fascinating. He understandably, both in terms of his own Irish ancestry and the amount of written legends he has to draw upon, devotes more space to the Irish than the Welsh myths, but a good read for all that.
Will have to read again if much of it is to stick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
An excellent book for any historical or Irish mythology enthusiast. The book was written over a hundred years ago and can be enjoyed by any modern scholar. Some of the historical and archaeological facts have changed but there is a lot in this that is still taught in University archaeology lecture halls today.

Over all a coherent and straight forward telling of Irish myth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Excellent first part on the origins and history of the Celts. TWR has obviously done much reading and research and his insightful conclusions seem logical. Hard to beleive this was written well over 100 years ago. I have yet to begin the myths and legends part of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
What a great E book this is I got to help me on my quest to research my ancestry and it amazed how much information there was in this great read.
I would recommend this as one of the Historical reads for a long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
This book is really good read if you have any interest in Celtic Mythology and from what Vi can figure out it is based on fact which was romanticised and handed down in the oral tradition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)