Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening
I downloaded this because it was free but wasn't expecting very much. As it turns out the initial history section is excellent and better than many expensive modern history books covering the Celts.

Kindle formatting is also good - all in all and excellent addition to your collection if you are at all interested in the subject.
Published on 2 Sep 2012 by Andrew W

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good intro to Celtic myths
Some of the historical references are a little wild, and I guess some of the Celtic lineage, but as a first timer I thought the myths, especially the early Irish, were fascinating. He understandably, both in terms of his own Irish ancestry and the amount of written legends he has to draw upon, devotes more space to the Irish than the Welsh myths, but a good read for all...
Published 12 months ago by colin french


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening, 2 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Myths & Legends of the Celtic Race (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this because it was free but wasn't expecting very much. As it turns out the initial history section is excellent and better than many expensive modern history books covering the Celts.

Kindle formatting is also good - all in all and excellent addition to your collection if you are at all interested in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scholarly summary of Celtic mythology, 30 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Myths & Legends of the Celtic Race (Kindle Edition)
Dry and scholarly but factually comprehensive examination of the body of Celtic myths and legends. You don't get the poetry and epicism of Welsh and Irish oral tradition but the facts and a small amount of analysis make for fascinating reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BOOK OF IT'S TIME, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Myths & Legends of the Celtic Race (Kindle Edition)
This book is clearly from an earlier age writing about an even earlier age. From that point of view it is not the last word on the subject. However, in spite of the limitations of the knowledge at the time it is still an extremely well written and well researched book and opens many avenues of enquiry for anyone wishing to delve deaper into the subject era. It is very readable and accessable and a worthy contribution to the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must read., 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Myths & Legends of the Celtic Race (Kindle Edition)
I read this book,and I am now educated. I have read a lot of other books on this and similar subjects, but this was in my opinion by far the best.

easily explained, and written in plain english , but also written like a story, very easy to follow because one section led easily on to the next,
I would read this auther again, both for pleasure and for study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for any historical or Irish mythology enthusiast, 1 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Myths & Legends of the Celtic Race (Kindle Edition)
An excellent book for any historical or Irish mythology enthusiast. The book was written over a hundred years ago and can be enjoyed by any modern scholar. Some of the historical and archaeological facts have changed but there is a lot in this that is still taught in University archaeology lecture halls today.

Over all a coherent and straight forward telling of Irish myth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Found it hard to get into, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Myths & Legends of the Celtic Race (Kindle Edition)
Very dry. Hard to follow . I had problems with the style of writing. It was hard to follow and get into something that was really interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I just had to read it all the way through., 4 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Myths & Legends of the Celtic Race (Kindle Edition)
What a great E book this is I got to help me on my quest to research my ancestry and it amazed how much information there was in this great read.
I would recommend this as one of the Historical reads for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Myths & Legends of the Celtic Race (Kindle Edition)
This book is really good read if you have any interest in Celtic Mythology and from what Vi can figure out it is based on fact which was romanticised and handed down in the oral tradition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good intro to Celtic myths, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Myths & Legends of the Celtic Race (Kindle Edition)
Some of the historical references are a little wild, and I guess some of the Celtic lineage, but as a first timer I thought the myths, especially the early Irish, were fascinating. He understandably, both in terms of his own Irish ancestry and the amount of written legends he has to draw upon, devotes more space to the Irish than the Welsh myths, but a good read for all that.
Will have to read again if much of it is to stick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Reference book, 10 July 2013
By 
B. W. Wallace - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Myths & Legends of the Celtic Race (Kindle Edition)
This is one to dip into from time to time, but it is not an easy read. Keep for ref.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Myths & Legends of the Celtic Race
Myths & Legends of the Celtic Race by T. W. (Thomas William) Rolleston
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews