Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars22
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 December 2012
I had seen a decent documentary film on Genghis Khan and had wanted to know how a primitive civilisation had, under the leadership of this individual, come to dominate half the known world in such a short period of time.

I was not disappointed by this book. There were elements that extended my knowledge but there were parts missing from the documentary. I was disappointed not to be told about the Mongolian failure to capture Japan and the irritation the Japanese were to their empire. I was also disappointed not to be given more graphic information of the brutality of the mongols on the Chinese. It would have been useful to hear how the Arabs largely prevented further expansion.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
A good introduction to. the history of Genghis Khan and his exploits a very good read for free so recommended
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
Whilst it's written as if it's a school essay it is very detailed and knowledgeable with great details of historical events
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
An interesting book,but then that is hardly surprising considering the subject matter. One would think that it is impossible to write a dull account of the life and times of one of the most remarkable men ever to have lived.

I wouldn't rely too heavily on the facts related in this book to provide you with a faithful account of the events of the period- this book was written some time ago and historians have undertaken much research into different aspects of the conquest of central Asia that are not covered in this book, so I would advise anyone wanting to further their knowledge of what is undoubtedly a fascinating period of history to read some of the more modern scholarship on the subject. A good primer to start with is John Mann's work on the Mongols.

Still, a handy introduction to the subject, and an illuminating example of the very different style of 19th century historiography compared to that of today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
A honest review of a great man. Gave an insight in to his mind and history of his race. Recommended
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
An interesting book,I liked the way the author is honest to say 'we don't know exactly how to pronounce the name but it sounds like' or says 'we think this happened'.I felt easier to accept this through the sources available to him. yes more details in some areas would have been nice,but I finished this book happy on the subject not thinking I need to know a lot more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
Very informative and entertaining. Have devoured this book over the past week. One drawback for people who dislike spoilers: The headings throughout the book tell you what's going to happen before they happen. Still, ***** as it is a good read that I'd recommend to anyone interested in Genghis Khan,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
A different angle on the history of the great Khan. With many interesting details of the grazing cultures of Central Asia and how, oddly, the herd animal thing did not translate to Native Americans, who presumably, emigrated from Asia, Siberia.. etc - Very good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
An account of a most remarkable man.
To the point that tries to enlighten the reader into an era that must have been very frightening
for the majority of the population.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
There seem competing histories about Ghengis Khan, and that seems to have been his own intention, to leave an enigma. This concentrates on the known facts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)