Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly good read
I've read a few of this 'Best of ...' type of book simply because they are free. Most are sufficient to ward off boredom.

This one was surprisingly good. It had the same old fashioned writing style and the stories were set in the 19th century. The stories were interesting though. I read them over a period of a week, never putting down my Kindle once I had...
Published on 18 Sept. 2011 by Thirty five

versus
34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 19th century crimes
This book deals with criminals from the 19th century and so are not that well known, if they are known at all.I enjoy reading any murder/detective stories, whether true or fiction, and so found this book interesting. Unless the reader is interested in this type of thing then this is not for them.
Published on 2 Sept. 2011 by Mystery lover


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly good read, 18 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Book of Remarkable Criminals (Kindle Edition)
I've read a few of this 'Best of ...' type of book simply because they are free. Most are sufficient to ward off boredom.

This one was surprisingly good. It had the same old fashioned writing style and the stories were set in the 19th century. The stories were interesting though. I read them over a period of a week, never putting down my Kindle once I had started a story until I finished. They are all worth reading, giving you the background to the crime, an insight into the legal process [the French legal system in the 19th century was definitely different to UK law and resulted in the demise of the criminal based on hearsay], and drawing out the personalities of those involved.

Use the book as a Kindle filler and you will be rewarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 19th century crimes, 2 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Book of Remarkable Criminals (Kindle Edition)
This book deals with criminals from the 19th century and so are not that well known, if they are known at all.I enjoy reading any murder/detective stories, whether true or fiction, and so found this book interesting. Unless the reader is interested in this type of thing then this is not for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Odd style, 10 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Book of Remarkable Criminals (Kindle Edition)
As a history book it was very good. It was however written in a strange and odd style which required some areas of re-reading to understand what was being said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars French crime and criminals, 22 Jan. 2012
By 
K. Darby "Katy" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Book of Remarkable Criminals (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this book free looking for interesting titbits about nineteenth century crime. partly as research and partly for fun, and it provided exactly that. The style can seem stilted because it is closely based on old courtroom transcripts, but it is not a thriller and never pretended to be. My only problem was that I would have preferred a few more British crimes to read about - all the criminals discussed are French and that`s not clear in the description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Criminals, 10 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Book of Remarkable Criminals (Kindle Edition)
Perhaps not quite what I expected it to be but some interesting articles nevertheless and some just bizarre in the extreme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some interesting chapters, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Book of Remarkable Criminals (Kindle Edition)
My first kindle download. Could be used as reference for criminology, a history of. Liked the dictionary reference on my device for there were quite a few words I needed to reference. Old fashioned words because this book is 150 years old or there abouts. Enjoyed the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Book of Remarkable Criminals, 21 April 2012
This review is from: A Book of Remarkable Criminals (Kindle Edition)
What a waste of good kindle space, if I ever read anything totally useless before I don't remember it. What load of longwinded twaddle. There was 1 account that was as long as a novella, half of it was pointless. If you are a serious true crime buff give this book a miss. TRULY DIRE!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Book of Remarkable Criminals (Kindle Edition)
Good reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Book of Remarkable Criminals (Kindle Edition)
Average read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars kindle!, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Book of Remarkable Criminals (Kindle Edition)
one of the o-so-many books I have on my kindle, good read and keeping on there to maybe read again in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Book of Remarkable Criminals
A Book of Remarkable Criminals by Henry Brodribb Irving
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews