Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meet Professor Challenger
This was the first of Conan Doyle's Professor Challenger stories, and arguably still the best. Narrated by journalist Edward Malone, this is the tale of how he went about meeting Professor Challenger, and hopefully uncovering a hoax, but instead found himself on an expedition with Challenger, Professor Summerlee, and Lord John Roxton.

Since Professor Challenger...
Published on 21 April 2011 by M. Dowden

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as memorable as Holmes but worth a read
If you are a fan of Conan-Doyle as I am then I expect you will find this interesting and entertaining. I remain loyal to his Sherlock Holmes stories however, and found myself squirming in my seat at some of the ignorant opinions regarding other races and animals which were common place in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

Downloaded for free...
Published 22 months ago by Charlie Recneps


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meet Professor Challenger, 21 April 2011
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World (Kindle Edition)
This was the first of Conan Doyle's Professor Challenger stories, and arguably still the best. Narrated by journalist Edward Malone, this is the tale of how he went about meeting Professor Challenger, and hopefully uncovering a hoax, but instead found himself on an expedition with Challenger, Professor Summerlee, and Lord John Roxton.

Since Professor Challenger has come back from South America no one will believe him about strange creatures, even though he shows his evidence. In the end a small expedition is mounted to determine whether Challenger is pulling a hoax, or indeed has found an undiscovered area, where dinosaurs still walk the Earth.

As there seems to have been some sort of mess up on Amazon, which hopefully they will sort out eventually I should point out that this is a review for Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's novel available in the popular kindle classics store, and not the Michael Crichton book which was part of the Jurassic Park franchise. How Amazon have made this mistake is beyond me, but this has caused a real mess with two different books being cross posted together.

Full of adventure at the discovery of a 'lost world' our intrepid explorers have more to deal with than dinosaurs, there are also two different tribes in the area, and our group seem to be stranded for all time. Will they ever be able to return to the normal world, or even survive their trip?

I suspect like many people I read this when I was still at school, but it is one of those tales that is worth reading more than once, and is great to introduce younger readers to adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost in the lost world, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World (Kindle Edition)
This book is fantastic and so much better then the film its self becasue there are hell of a lot of stuff they miss off the film that is in the book.
I have this as my favourites on my kindle and I always re-read it every now and again.
if you have the film or seen the film then try the book it self becasue after you read this book you will wish they didn't miss anything off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Doyle Character, 11 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World (Kindle Edition)
Conan Doyle was most famous for Sherlock Holmes but this sees him create another character, Professor Challenger. Challenger claims to have found a remarkable land in South America where prehistoric creatures still live. The only trouble is, no-one believes him. That is until our narrator, journalist Malone, gets involved. Soon Malone finds himself on an expedition with Challenger to prove the story, along with rival Professor Summerlee and a soldier.

Oddly I thought the set-up was better than the Lost World portion. Challenger is a great character, a genius who knows it and hates all other human life. He's like an academic Scrooge.

Much of the story sees the expedition visiting the Lost World and it is fairly enjoyable, if a little descriptive. A great deal of time is spent describing the landscape and its inhabitants which is enjoyable but as a reader I was keen for something to happen. Eventually it does as the team are pit against a colony of proto-humans, the "missing link" as they say.

Its interesting reading this from a modern perspective. Considering its age the science here isn't too bad. Its a fiction story after all and actually whilst a lost world is now unlikely it is not implausible that some form of early humans still exist in a remote part of the world.

There was very much of an imperialistic feel to the book and the characters attitudes to the 'ape-men'. They pretty much want to destroy them whilst a modern scientist would strive to preserve them. Whilst I felt a little uncomfortable about the characters actions it is important to remember the context of when the book was written.

All in all, very enjoyable. It has the great narration of the Sherlock Holmes story but is more of a fantasy story & more character-driven. There was also a great sense of fun with some amusing moments which doesn't happen so much in Sherlock Holmes. A good story from an author who deserves to be remembered for more than Sherlock Holmes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best book in the world, 3 Oct. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lost World (Paperback)
This is a must read book. The story follows on from where Jurassic Park (the novel) left off. The Lost World is an action packed adventure from start to finish. If you have seen the film then you have to read the book to see how superior it is. If only the film had been made to the same story line as the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Lost World, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable. I'm not usually a reader of 'classics' but took this book as my first (free) foray into the world of free ebooks. The story is far removed from the modern day Jurassic Park film, but is entertaining enough as a leisurely read, even with its old style word. Worth a read....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book over movie, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World (Kindle Edition)
This book is so much better than the movie version. As a book the story line (different to that of the film) is more enjoyable. The characters are more believable on paper ; with even a few that weren't used in the film. I enjoyed the mix of science and adventure in the book, there is no T-rex on the streets of San fransico.This a great follow-up to Jurassic Park (which better be released on kindle soon)
When i went to see this at its movie release after reading the book several times already i was disgusted how much it was changed. As Ian Malcolm I find Jeff Goldblum annoying, Didn' t see the point in Vince Vaughan's character who isn't in the book and the girl Kelly, who was suppose to be Malcolm's daughter WTF. Do yourself a favour read the book ignore the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic read, 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World (Kindle Edition)
I read this book and then immediately watched the 1925 silent film adaptation - suddenly the world feels a better place! the book is full of Doyle's greatness and has early 20th century charm in its view of "savages" and "small brain dinosaurs". In the end the humans prevail, however not having escaped Doyle's treatment and the finale perhaps vindicates the viewpoint that some things should be better left "lost".
I am surprised we haven't seen yet a modern adaptation of the original Lost world. if you value your brain cells, steer clear of the Michael Crichton variety and keep with the legendary sir Arthur Conan Doyle. As with a lot of things, the "remake" pales in comparison to the original inception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Think I enjoyed this more than the first one., 12 Dec. 2013
By 
Aaron (MELTON MOWBRAY, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World (Kindle Edition)
As the title says, I think I may well have enjoyed reading this more than I did Jurassic Park. It has pretty much the same set of characters (different people in some cases, but identical character roles to fill).

The action is well written and the suspense is equally so. It literally keeps you turning the page and cursing anyone or anything that tears you away from reading. The pace is a little quicker than Jurassic Park and, much like the original, it has some incredibly memorable scenes that will stay with the reader for years to come.

Everyone's favourite dinosaurs such as Raptors and T-rex's make returns, as well as some new arrivals to the series. All in all a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Conan Doyle sticks to his standards, 9 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World (Kindle Edition)
Boys own Victorian story which always seemed to be made into films for showing on Sunday afternoon TV. Heroic Victorians strike out for the lost world to find some surprises including monsters, friendly negatives, and cannibals. Not at all hard going, the story is a throwback to when men were men and everyone who was British was a hero and those who were not British were either rogues, weaklings or underlings. The woman is faithless.

Not a good read for those who embrace equality unless they want to see how much progress we've made over the last 100 years or more. A good read for those who like comics without the pictures.

On a par with Sherlock Holmes novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 11 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Lost World (Kindle Edition)
This is one of my favourite books that I can read over and over. So much better than the film. I find genetic engineering very interesting and the book is very well researched. Give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost World
The Lost World by Arthur Conan Doyle
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews