Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars12
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 August 2013
Obviously, Locke's classic text is near-necessary reading for anyone interested in political philosophy or politics in general. For the price, this edition is very good and with the lack of any Penguin or Oxford, I would dare say it is the best available. All text is eligible and I haven't spotted any typos or misprints (yet). The pages are also a nice size, so note-taking is easy. Overall, I would recommend this edition.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
Locke's Two Treatises of Government redefined the concept of the citizen and the citizen's relation with the state. To this day it still holds a relevant and honoured position in political philosophy. Breaking the tradition of the political structure of absolute monarchy, Locke proposed for what was in its day a ground breaking new move in which the individual was empowered and consequently entitled to a set of rights that fed the enlightened rhetoric of two revolutions; the American War of Independence and the French Revolution and influenced two of the greatest documents of our history that of the Civil Bill of Rights and the Declaration of the Rights of Man. Suffice to say this book and a tremendous impact on humanity and it will continue to do so for a very long time to come.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2012
Another classic free book which is well set out for a modern audience. Always been interested in Locke and this didn't disappoint.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
Five stars for having made such an interesting work available to us on kindle, but as for the content not quite so much as I can't cheer everything which Locke asserts in his writings. His thoughts were very influential in subsequent events, so it is helpful to be able to study them in this way and gain a wider understanding of history.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
Locke was one of the very few who took away from the English Civil War that there needed to be a relationship between the government and those governed that the nation would be govern to the benefit of the people. His work was incorporated into The Declaration of Independence and The Constitution of the US.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2012
This book contains only the first five chapters of the Second Treatise. Considering there are 20 chapters in the original work, it isn't very useful and, more importantly, it is a little dishonest on the part of the seller to not have mentioned it in the description.
0Comment6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
i havent read all the book, but have referenced it and so far i love it i couldnt agree with his theory anymore, its a brilliant book
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
arrived on time well packed and being a course book i know i can rely on the site to get my materials through
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 1999
I thought that this book did a good job of explaining the role of the society and of the government. It also sets up a State of Nature to justify the State. It tells the role of the individual, and the rights entitled to the individual upon entering the State. I enjoyed this book, and enjoy Locke's philosophy.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
THis book wasn't what I was expecting as I thought it was by Author John Locke who writes crime fiction.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.