Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Victorian Dream!!
This famous play is bursting with dramatic irony, rhetoric strategies and humorous witticisms. Oscar Wilde produces a great play with subtle sentiment and an underlying theme regarding paternity. A great read for eng lit students and members of the public alike. I personally recommend this play to anyone in need of a good laugh. One must particularly pay attention to the...
Published on 16 Mar. 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Contextually interesting.
I didn't find this play as entertaining as I hoped. The narrative is a bit monotonous. However, when I consider Oscar Wilde's life-story at the time of writing (just a few years before he was prosecuted for homosexuality) I found it interesting to identify his contempt for the aristocracy throughout this play. Also interesting is his sympathy for a woman's lot in the late...
Published 15 months ago by Jackie M


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Victorian Dream!!, 16 Mar. 2006
This famous play is bursting with dramatic irony, rhetoric strategies and humorous witticisms. Oscar Wilde produces a great play with subtle sentiment and an underlying theme regarding paternity. A great read for eng lit students and members of the public alike. I personally recommend this play to anyone in need of a good laugh. One must particularly pay attention to the character's mannerisms and use of language. And at a penny a book- bargain!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oscar wilde, 25 July 2006
We studied this play in for a-level english. When our teacher told us about the book, and how it was in our course i immediately thought, "oH GOD ANOTHER BOOK FROM THE DARK AGES GREAT!..everyone was moaning about it saying it seemed really boring...once we got into it..i must say how mistaken i was ...this book is worth reading! it really portrays the role of woman back in the days, and how men thought they were the dominating superior gender...and woman were seen of "no importance" whatsoever. This play also gives an insight to the class-system during that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old Oscar, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Woman of No Importance (Kindle Edition)
Another great Wilde play. I love how he juxtaposes the trivial unthinking whims of the parodied aristocracy, with a subject of importance and weight. Somehow made to seem completely efforts on his part too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Woman of No Importance (Kindle Edition)
Best thing I have read in ages so funny and sad at the same time. Oscar Wilde was a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best plays i have read, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Woman of No Importance (Kindle Edition)
Highly recommended for those studying english literature, alevels
One of the best plays ive read. Unexprcted most of the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars school book, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Woman of No Importance (Kindle Edition)
my daughter is reading for school and she is truly enjoying this book. good vendor, came quickly and have no complains at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Contextually interesting., 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Woman of No Importance (Kindle Edition)
I didn't find this play as entertaining as I hoped. The narrative is a bit monotonous. However, when I consider Oscar Wilde's life-story at the time of writing (just a few years before he was prosecuted for homosexuality) I found it interesting to identify his contempt for the aristocracy throughout this play. Also interesting is his sympathy for a woman's lot in the late 19th century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rather disappointed, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Woman of No Importance (Kindle Edition)
I have never read this script or seen the play before and I feel that a lot was lost by not seeing it as a stage play. Body language, facial expressions etc. are, I feel, necessary to really appreciate this little scenario.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Stopped part way, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Woman of No Importance (Kindle Edition)
This just didn't catch my attention and imagination at all. Gave up with it in the end as couldn't get into it at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Woman of No Importance (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book and its message. Rather progressive if you consider when it was written but I expect no less from Wilde.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Woman of No Importance
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews