Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked but worth a read
Everyone has heard of or read Wuthering Heights or Jane Eyre by Anne's sisters but I think Anne is overlooked, and should be read just as much! Agnes Grey is a beautifully observed, subtle story of a governess and what she experiences. It is based loosely on some of Anne's experiences. Agnes is a bright lady and she goes to a really annoying family at one point - the way...
Published 10 months ago by Lizardgirl

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I want to start by saying that 'The Tenant Of Wildfell Hall' is one of my favourite books of all time, easily top 3. I wrote my dissertation on it in university. However, when it came to the Bronte sisters I had only read the 'Big Three' (Eyre, Heights, Tenant) leaving three of Charlotte's novels remaining and one of Anne's.

As Anne is my favourite Bronte and I...
Published on 30 Mar. 2013 by R. A. Davison


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked but worth a read, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agnes Grey (Kindle Edition)
Everyone has heard of or read Wuthering Heights or Jane Eyre by Anne's sisters but I think Anne is overlooked, and should be read just as much! Agnes Grey is a beautifully observed, subtle story of a governess and what she experiences. It is based loosely on some of Anne's experiences. Agnes is a bright lady and she goes to a really annoying family at one point - the way she draws the picture is clever. It is easy to empathise with Agnes and I have read the book a couple of times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 3 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Agnes Grey (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent book with well-rounded characters and the storyline is well-executed. The language usage is sophisticated, intelligent and clever. If you love a good romance then you will not be disappointed with this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but relatively conventional, 27 Aug. 2014
By 
M. F. Cayley (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agnes Grey (Kindle Edition)
Anne Bronte wrote two novels: the very powerful "The Tenant of Wildfell Hall", and this book. "Agnes Grey" is much more conventional. The central character is a governess with a strong moral sense and considerable self-awareness who finds herself in largely uncongenial circumstances but ends up happily married. She is the most fully-developed character in the book: the others are essentially two-dimensional, some of them little more than caricatures. The novel is well-written and enjoyable but does not have the power and originality of the three Bronte sisters' best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agnes Grey, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agnes Grey (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable, well written and hard to put down! A remarkable talent the Bronte sisters had between them, little wonder their books have beens so popular over the years and read over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agnes Grey (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful story. I read it in one go. Old fashioned story and whilst the ending was a bit obvious, it was still a lovely 'duvet' read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 30 Mar. 2013
By 
R. A. Davison (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agnes Grey (Kindle Edition)
I want to start by saying that 'The Tenant Of Wildfell Hall' is one of my favourite books of all time, easily top 3. I wrote my dissertation on it in university. However, when it came to the Bronte sisters I had only read the 'Big Three' (Eyre, Heights, Tenant) leaving three of Charlotte's novels remaining and one of Anne's.

As Anne is my favourite Bronte and I have issues with Charlotte, I went with her first. Agnes Grey is the story of a poor vicar's daughter who decides to try her hand at being a governess. The petted youngest daughter, her family don't think she'll be able to cut it, a story none too dissimilar from Anne's own life. It is clear that Anne drew on her life experience to write this novel.

The eponymous hero teaches first Tom and Mary-Ann and then Rosalie and Matilda; all are uppity spoiled brats who scorn her with indulgent parents who foist the blame for their children's behaviour on to Agnes. It is known that Anne did not have great experiences of her own with teaching, both as a governess and when she was at school.

Agnes Grey unfortunately was quite dull, though it hurts me to say it. The prose was rather essayist than novelist, and there is little character development or growth. The romance too has little depth and she and her suitor hardly have much time to connect.

It is her other novel Tenant, which truly lifts the lid on her life as a governess, as it is said that given she had a sheltered life at Haworth much of the debauchery shown in Tenant came from her witnessing less than salubrious lifestyles during her time in service.

By contrast Agnes Grey is rather ordinary and rather staid and I was most disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agnes Grey, 17 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agnes Grey (Kindle Edition)
I bought this as a present for my wife, so that she could complete her Bronte collection. Thrilling read and a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars How can one criticise a Bronte novel?, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agnes Grey (Kindle Edition)
In comparison with Jane Eyre, Wuthering Heights, Tenant of Wildfell Hall, this book is lacking in intensity and emotion but I am pleased to have read it as I think any Bronte fan would be.

I do recommend it but only to be read after the more major works have been read because I would not want others to be put off reading Bronte works by the comparative superficiality of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Agnes Grey by Anne Bronte, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agnes Grey (Kindle Edition)
With regret, I find myself comparing Anne Bronte with her sister Charlotte, and, whilst her command and standard of English is good, it in no way compares with Charlotte's. The story-line is predictable: there is only one main theme with no twists and turns, no climactical disappointments, no surprises. The book in no way challenges the imagination, which, for a "classic" of English literature disappoints. To sum up: it was a good read but not a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful classic, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agnes Grey (Kindle Edition)
Some things never change - love and marriage, family, disappointment, scheming females and overcoming life's problems. This book is a heartwarming classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Agnes Grey
Agnes Grey by Anne Brontė
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews