Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all piscators
Whether you are new to 'The Art Of The Angle' [Fishing] or not, this book contains some superb, if a little archaic banter between two friends of the angle. The teacher and the apprentice. Sir Isaac Walton, [Piscator], considered to be 'The Father Of Angling' and Joseph Cotton [Venator] the willing apprentice of the angle. Follow their journey around England as they fish...
Published on 6 Dec. 2008 by Mr. P Howard

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than "The Temple of Doom"
This would be great made into a big Hollywood tongue in cheek adventure movie. We have the rugged hero, whose brother dies in his arms. We have the heroine taken by slave traders and rescued thanks to the machinations of her mysterious nurse. There is fantastic scenery, an amazing idol, a giant crocodile and an amazing escape on a stone bobsleigh. Good boy's own...
Published on 24 Jan. 2011 by Susan


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all piscators, 6 Dec. 2008
Whether you are new to 'The Art Of The Angle' [Fishing] or not, this book contains some superb, if a little archaic banter between two friends of the angle. The teacher and the apprentice. Sir Isaac Walton, [Piscator], considered to be 'The Father Of Angling' and Joseph Cotton [Venator] the willing apprentice of the angle. Follow their journey around England as they fish for all species. This is a wonderful journey back in time. Many things that Walton says have been disproved over the few hundred years since the first book was published. However many other things said by him, still hold true today, wonderful reading. My own copy is a 1955 version with an explained thesaurus at the base of each page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Piscator...hook, line and sinker, 3 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
Not surprisingly, this classic angling text has been continuously in print since first publication. Although serving as a fascinating reflection on the art of angling during the seventeenth century, the text still manages to capture the thrill and excitement that runs through the bloodstream of every modern-day dangler of the angle. All present day anglers, from the most fanatical of bivvy boys to the gentle chalk stream dabbler will gain pleasure and enjoyment from this most seminal of angling texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quite exciting, though not as good as She or Solomon, 18 Nov. 2010
By 
John Hopper (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: People of the Mist (Paperback)
This had exciting parts interspersed with somewhat duller episodes, though the climax of the main plot was as gripping as anything else I have read by the author. I found the main two characters unsympathetic and the black servant Otter tby far the most likeable character (followed by the priest Francisco). Otter accompanies the hero and his bride back to England at the end, but even though they obviously like him and even admire him to some extent, they still treat him like a well loved pet dog rather than a fellow human. A sign of the times of course and the attitude towards Africans here is not as negative as in some other works of the time, but sad even so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than "The Temple of Doom", 24 Jan. 2011
By 
Susan "Susan" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This would be great made into a big Hollywood tongue in cheek adventure movie. We have the rugged hero, whose brother dies in his arms. We have the heroine taken by slave traders and rescued thanks to the machinations of her mysterious nurse. There is fantastic scenery, an amazing idol, a giant crocodile and an amazing escape on a stone bobsleigh. Good boy's own adventure stuff. Dated, of course, in its attitude to race but a fun read. If you enjoyed other H Rider Haggard books like Allan Quatermain you will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The People of the Mist, 14 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I haven't read this author for many years but have suddenly realized how descriptive his writings are of Africa. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and can't wait to re-read some of his others. It makes me realize that some of the authors of the past have more umph in them that some of the modern novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walton's Classic, 4 May 2005
By A Customer
Walton uses the perspective of an enthusiastic angler to promote a lifestyle of reflectiveness, gentle humor, and appreciation for nature. The book is easy to read, despite being first published in the 1600s.
The Coachwhip Publications reprint edition (ISBN 1930585209) is inexpensive and contains Cotton's "Part 2," written at Walton's request for the fifth published edition of "The Compleat Angler."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars people of the mist, 3 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first Henry rider Haggard book i have read and it had me gripped within its clutches from the very first moment i picked it up! I was sorry to come to the end and will certainly be reading the rest of the authors works. I can see this title sitting on the family bookshelf for years to come, to be devoured by my children when they grow and eventually by my granchildren. An absolutely AWESOME read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ancient fish for modern anglers, 22 May 2006
By 
Arthur Crown (Heathrow, England) - See all my reviews
This is surely one of the earliest books available to the modern angler. But it's worth distinguishing 'anglers' from 'fishermen'. I take 'anglers' to be people who go after fish for fun or sport or pleasure and 'fishermen' to be people who go after fish for work.

The first thing to be said about Izaak Walton's book, is that it is a play followed by a text book. The second thing, is that it's in a foreign language even to the English, because it was first published in 1653 when the author was 60. A ripe old age in England in those days.

Walton was essentially a biographer. He got paid for it - often commissioned as a good artist might. He wrote 'The Life of Donne' - a poet who even I've heard of. He's alleged to have been a prosperous merchant, but it doesn't really matter. Great angling writers like Richard Walker were engineers. Old school writers like George Skues, were public school educated solicitors in London practices who took the train to the chalk streams of Winchester in Hampshire at weekends, tying flies as they went.

The play concerns three people who meet by chance and get into conversation about their interests. They're travelling at a walk, and so they lighten their journey with convoluted conversation. Before long, it develops into a bit of a competition. Walton is the angler (Piscator). Another gentleman is keen on falconry (Venator) and yet another is keen on hunting (Auceps).

If you tire of 17th century banter, skip forward to the chapters on each particular species of fish, which will ring true immediately. To me it's a revelation that these friendly old fish will still fall for the same tricks as Walton was playing on their ancestors over 350 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At Last, 16 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Isaak Walton's "the Compleat Angler" is one of those books often referred to but seldom found on a home bookshelf. It's taken many years to adorn mine.
It takes the form of a discourse between the Angler and a 'student' where the angler describes everything at need. While this could cause a certain confusion in the reader (it's like reading a script), it is marvellously detailed. Predictably, it is in the language of the 17th century, but this can make for an interesting read.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the people of the mist, 3 Jan. 2011
fantastically exciting story. didnt know what to expect and nearly gave up a third of the way through but so glad i stuck with it. will find out more about this author. a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Compleat Angler
The Compleat Angler by Izaak Walton
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews