Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TGIF, not
It's very interesting comparing the (mainly US) reviews of this book on GoodReads, with the (presumably British) reviews on amazon.co.uk. The GoodReads average rating is brought down by a cluster of one-star scores, and most of the one-star raters appear to be objecting to the colonialist behaviour of the fictional character Robinson Crusoe, and his (peripheral)...
Published on 20 Nov 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Just to prove that junk isn't the sole preserve of contemporary writing
I got about halfway through this classic before giving up. I know it's of its time, but Defoe's constant bland assertions, with nothing but his prejudices to support them, that people from primitive societies are cannibalistic savages gets on your nerves after a while. He also makes little attempt to give a real feel for the passage of 26 years, other than simply stating...
Published 1 month ago by Mr. D. Hazel


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TGIF, not, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robinson Crusoe (Kindle Edition)
It's very interesting comparing the (mainly US) reviews of this book on GoodReads, with the (presumably British) reviews on amazon.co.uk. The GoodReads average rating is brought down by a cluster of one-star scores, and most of the one-star raters appear to be objecting to the colonialist behaviour of the fictional character Robinson Crusoe, and his (peripheral) involvement in the slave trade. To me, this seems absurd - firstly, for Robinson, a colonialist and merchant, to have judged the contemporary slave trade through modern sensibilities would be bizarrely anachronistic. And secondly, Robinson Crusoe is a fictional character. You do not have to like, 'identify with', or agree with fictional characters to enjoy a book. I would argue that a character whose behaviour or outlook challenges your sensibilities makes for a more interesting read.

Having said that, with my modern sensibilities it was difficult to read about Robinson's interactions with his 'faithful manservant' Friday without cringing. There's no doubt that the book becomes a lot less interesting after Friday arrives on the scene. In fact, paradoxically, I found the action-packed final quarter of the book to be a bit tedious in comparison to the earlier parts and the bulk of the narrative, which deals with Robinson's solitary survival on the desert island.

I was captivated by the minutiae of Robinson's struggle to survive. How he made shelter, grew food, fashioned his own cookware....I was reminded of great post-apocalyptic science fiction like Earth Abides, where a lot of the fascination comes from projecting yourself into the position of a survivor, forced to make do without any of the everyday conveniences we take for granted. But the main interest of the book, for me, was Robinson's spiritual development, as he learned to cope with (and eventually appreciate) his solitude. That he achieves a state of acceptance and inner peace through his Christian faith is another reflection of the time in which the book was written. But the means of his spiritual deliverance is irrelevant - it is beautifully and convincingly described, and I imagine it is this that has ensured the enduring popularity of a novel written almost 300 years ago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime., 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robinson Crusoe (Kindle Edition)
It's really a bit of a cheek having someone like me review something like Robinson Crusoe! It's a well deserved classic in somewhat archaic but wonderful prose. Interestingly, one of the characters in Wilkie Collins "The Moonstone" swears by Robinson Crusoe and always has a copy to hand because it seems to be the answer to so many worldly problems. I'm taking a leaf out of that book and hoping that for me Robinson Crusoe will also supply all of life's answers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 2 Nov 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Robinson Crusoe (Kindle Edition)
Daniel Defoe [born Daniel Foe] is most famous for this novel, though he had many other strings to his bow - trader, writer, journalist, political activist and pamphleteer and even a spy. He was also one of Britain's earliest novelists. He wrote more than five hundred books and pamphlets, on politics, crime, religion, marriage, psychology, economics and the supernatural. Quite a man! He lived in turbulent times, sometimes backed the wrong side and was in danger of being tried before the infamous Judge Jeffreys; he experienced and wrote about the Great Plague and the Great Fire of London and, though often in debt, was a fairly succesful trader. One wonders whether any work of fiction he wrote could be as interesting as his own life!
However, Robinson Crusoe has captured the imaginations of generations of people. It is surprisingly readable and thought-provoking. It was written and published [in 1719]as if it were the autobiography of Crusoe, leading many people of Defoe's own time to believe that Crusoe was a real person. The story is realistic, but Crusoe is also sometimes thought to be a kind of everyman who sets sail on the sea of life, finds a place of salvation [the island on which he is shipwrecked] and learns to understand God and life's meaning as he faces his struggles, before entering the promised land when he escapes the island. There are a lot of other thought-provoking ideas, too, yet the story remains enjoyable and readable.
Of course, the book reflects the attitudes and prejudices of Defoe's own time, particularly towards slavery. Man Friday, a native whom Crusoe rescues from cannibals, is not treated as Crusoe's equal, though Crusoe loves and values him. It makes uncomfortable reading today. Nevertheless, this is a real and important classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere Between Ray Mears and Bear Grills., 23 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robinson Crusoe (Kindle Edition)
I was a bit skeptical about tackling one of the classics, but given Robin Crusoe's reputation as timeless one, I varied from my tried and tested sci-fi/fantasy genre for something new. And I must say I am glad I did. The story was enjoyable, and it was easy to invest my interest in Crusoe's plight, particular when marooned on his deserted tropical island. It was also striking at how the book's content (it was published in 1719) was relevant to some of my personal 'modern' hopes and fears in today's society, especially so when Crusoe finds solitude on the island. However, I am not totally convinced the author, Defoe, has attempted to dissect the human soul to give the reader such universal 'nuggets' of knowledge of man's psyche. He may have overreached his intentions for the book by happy coincidence, although I may well be mistaken. But nonetheless, I found myself reflecting about my place is society and within my network of family, friends and peers. And it was good fun as well, with his escapades to pursue survival extremely entertaining and also believable. So a bit of a thinker, fun and if you ever get stranded on a island it may well come in handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The stuff legends are made of!!, 26 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robinson Crusoe (Kindle Edition)
An all time classic, although it was written a long time ago and the construction of some sentences is strange to us now, it still reads well. A ripping story we all know, but when reading the book its great to follow his thought process with regards to planning on his island for the future years. There is also a fair amount of script to Robinsons spiritual thoughts along the years and his concern and troubled mind for Provenence is regularly stated.
There is a Robinson Crusoe Island which is now inhabited. The island is where in real life a man was shipwrecked for a few years on his own and it is thought this is where Defoe got his inspiration from.
One thing I do find hard to believe is that throughout the 25 years plus Robinson was shipwrecked alone he didn't manage to finish off all the ships rum which he salvaged from the ship!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Just to prove that junk isn't the sole preserve of contemporary writing, 8 Nov 2014
By 
Mr. D. Hazel "davidhazel" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robinson Crusoe (Kindle Edition)
I got about halfway through this classic before giving up. I know it's of its time, but Defoe's constant bland assertions, with nothing but his prejudices to support them, that people from primitive societies are cannibalistic savages gets on your nerves after a while. He also makes little attempt to give a real feel for the passage of 26 years, other than simply stating that X number of years have passed as we go through the various stages of the castaway's existence.

I honestly don't see what the appeal is of this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 Sep 2011
This review is from: Robinson Crusoe (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this it was like going back to school reading it. a Top read and for free a real classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a Treasure, 29 Nov 2014
This review is from: Robinson Crusoe (Kindle Edition)
I love this book it's inspirational. I love the way he shows `providence.` at work. This is a good read especially if your a b it low and felt like an island! An easy read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robinson Crusoe (Kindle Edition)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robinson Crusoe (Kindle Edition)
Having read a child's version many years ago decided that I needed to refresh my memory of the story. Found it to be a good read and more involved than I can remember. Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robinson Crusoe
Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews