Customer Reviews


243 Reviews
5 star:
 (163)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully nostalgic, magical read- not just for children!
They just don't write children's books like this any more, do they? That's such a shame, because this for me was like taking a journey back to my childhood when my primary school teacher read this aloud to us. I can also remember watching the television show of the same name on Children's BBC and being fascinated (and freaked out) by the psammead!

The magical...
Published on 15 Dec 2011 by Nicola F (Nic)

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars gift
Gift
Published 14 days ago by Tina


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully nostalgic, magical read- not just for children!, 15 Dec 2011
By 
Nicola F (Nic) (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Children and It (Kindle Edition)
They just don't write children's books like this any more, do they? That's such a shame, because this for me was like taking a journey back to my childhood when my primary school teacher read this aloud to us. I can also remember watching the television show of the same name on Children's BBC and being fascinated (and freaked out) by the psammead!

The magical story unfolds with a family moving to a big white house in the countryside; the children are exploring a gravel pit one day when they encounter a Psammead (pronounced sammyadd)- a sand-fairy. The sand-fairy is a strange little creature but of course the children are intrigued and are soon chatting away with it like they have known him forever- and its even more interesting when they find out he can grant wishes...

Though this is a lovely old-fashioned book and very imaginative, the author creates such vivid scene-setting that as a reader you are able to envisage the sights and surroundings so clearly, without the prose being too overly descriptive or pretentious. One of my very favourite descriptive paragraphs is near the beginning; "...the valley looked as if it was filled with golden mist, and the limekilns and hop-drying houses glimmered and glittered till they were like an enchanted city out of the Arabian Nights." Just lovely. That's only one wonderful description of many in this charming book. The author also addresses the reader as `you' so really pulls you into the story alongside the mischievous children and their adventures. I can remember being curled up on the reading rug at school and listening to my teacher read this aloud to us and how mesmerised everyone was. I really hope to read this to my own (future) children one day!

A beautiful, whimsical tale for adults and children alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catching up with childhood reading, 24 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Children and It (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the books every child should read, I'm about 55 years late!
Excellent story, the only downside is there are no pictures in the Kindle edition, so probably should be 4.5 stars, but it was free, after all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic :), 1 July 2012
This review is from: Five Children and It (Kindle Edition)
Just as I remember - a true classic. Now I need to find the Kindle edition of the Phoenix and the Carpet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Children and It (Kindle Edition)
Etsftdfyurxfucvxvxdhchvlhbjnjbgcgchbjnjnkjgyfrdexr err cgvjbjnkmknjvhvgcgvhbknhv g xfcgvhbhcfrdxrxgchvhbjnjnkmomomoninubugyyctxrxezwzWzexxtctvhvhbjbjbkjijljujv Merseyside the people who are not allowed to die for girls makeup static void main pie die for girls makeup static void main pie die for girls makeup static void main article is a cloud computing and the wind up and dressup the wind up to watch the wind and dressup to the geeky the talking to a cloud and Spencer's to die for a cure for girls are the wind southerly lyrics and the talking about a cloud and dressup free
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Children and It (Kindle Edition)
There is nothing to dislike about this story it is and always will be one of my favourites . Love story, adventure, magic and mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Children and It (Kindle Edition)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars gift, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Children and It (Kindle Edition)
Gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic children's tale, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Children and It (Kindle Edition)
Great story which stands the test of time. I read it as a child and have really enjoyed reading it to my 7 year old daughter who loved it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. J. Bailey "j bailey" (united kingdom.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Children and It (Kindle Edition)
Sad but an excellent story of poverty and child neglect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Children and It (Kindle Edition)
It was a great book and well worth reading
I would like to have more books like that on my kindle and I would read it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Five Children and It
Five Children and It by E. (Edith) Nesbit
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews