Customer Reviews


265 Reviews
5 star:
 (176)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let other pens dwell on guilt and misery
Jane Austen. Her name is practically synonymous with classic, understated romance, as well as comedies of manners with a subtle, sly sense of humor.

And Austen's "The Complete Novels" brings together the full complement of Austen's finished novels, from the little-known "Lady Susan" to the classic bestseller "Pride and Prejudice" (and everything in between)...
Published on 16 May 2010 by E. A Solinas

versus
22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable
I love these Jane Austen books and do not fault the stories at all. However the book is very big and difficult to carry around, The pages are extremly thin. For all these novels the cost is unbelievably low. However I wish I had bought all the stories as individual books
Published on 29 April 2009 by Mazda


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Novels of Jane Austen, 16 April 2009
I bought this book to introduce my daughter to the classics, in this type of book sometimes the print can be on the small size,the print is of a good size and the overall look and feel of the book is good quality, very good price, I would highly recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jane Austen complete works., 16 Mar 2012
I am reading this book on my Kindle in small doses, it is interesting to read her early work and to re-read her more popular ones. Kindle is ideal for this as you can easily go back to where you were reading but still read other books in between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 29 April 2009
By 
Mazda (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
I love these Jane Austen books and do not fault the stories at all. However the book is very big and difficult to carry around, The pages are extremly thin. For all these novels the cost is unbelievably low. However I wish I had bought all the stories as individual books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the best of Jane Austen in one book!, 4 Mar 2001
By A Customer
Each Jane Austen book is a masterpiece of literature and this book includes all her completed works. This book makes a very accessible mobile library of her novels that you can take anywhere.The only problem I have with the book is that when you finish one it is very hard to stop your self moving on to the next novel especially when exams are on their way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor electronic presentation, 6 Aug 2010
By 
Supposedly a £20 edition of the complete works, I downloaded the trial version and compared it with the original. It is unformatted, i.e. text italicized in the original work is not italicized in this. Whilst that might be acceptable in a Project Gutenberg free download, it is thoroughly objectionable in a download that costs more than many print editions. Otherwise is looks fine, with good navigation options, but I would avoid this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All of Austen's witty, charming novels in one volume., 1 April 1998
By A Customer
Jane Austen's piercingly accurate yet genteely witty observations on English society are as fresh and funny today as they were in Austen's own time. Here, collected in one volume, are all of her charming, vibrant and facinating characters from the arrogant yet lovable Mr. Darcy in "Pride and Prejudice" to the adorably misguided but well meaning Emma in "Emma" There are no clunkers in this collection. Each of these novels is a joy to read and re-read. Austen's prose and character development are superior and her plots never disappoint. Villains are punished, heroines and heroes eventually triumph and romances work themselves out in humorous yet realistic fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love It, What else could one say!, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jane Austen Collection: The Complete Works (Includes Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, Mansfield Park, Emma, Northanger Abbey, Persuasion, Lady Susan & more. Plus Audiobooks) (Kindle Edition)
I now have a Kindle loaded with the very best of English Classical writing. It'll take me until I die to read it all but hay, who cares!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars There are soooooo many typos, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jane Austen Collection: The Complete Works (Includes Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, Mansfield Park, Emma, Northanger Abbey, Persuasion, Lady Susan & more. Plus Audiobooks) (Kindle Edition)
Really, if I had not read these books so many times before I would not have understood them at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Readings of Jane Austen's novels, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The three readers are excellent, especially Juliet Stephenson. The readings are straightforward, intelligent and Ideal for lovers of Jane Austen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jane Austen Collection, The complete Works., 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jane Austen Collection: The Complete Works (Includes Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, Mansfield Park, Emma, Northanger Abbey, Persuasion, Lady Susan & more. Plus Audiobooks) (Kindle Edition)
Very compact and excellent value. Perfect for leisurely reading and invaluable for taking on holiday. I would definitely recommend this to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews