Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You Either Love It Or You Hate It!
'Scary Movie' is one of those films that you either love or hate and in turn your opinion of it depends on your taste in comedy. If you like dirty, gross humour then this film is perfect and you should get it. However if you are not so keen on this humour, then this is not the film for you.
The storyline is basically about a group of teenages who are still...
Published on 18 Jan. 2004 by no1filmaddict

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly good
Lets face it, a film like 'Scary Movie' is never going to be nominated for any oscars, nor is it going to win any critical acclaim. But to be honest, none of that really matters. For those of you unfamiliar with the film, Scary movie is a comedy that spoofs many other movies (mostly 'Scream) and the emphasis is very much on silly visual gags. This format has been used...
Published on 16 Jan. 2004 by dantesmum


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You Either Love It Or You Hate It!, 18 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Scary Movie [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
'Scary Movie' is one of those films that you either love or hate and in turn your opinion of it depends on your taste in comedy. If you like dirty, gross humour then this film is perfect and you should get it. However if you are not so keen on this humour, then this is not the film for you.
The storyline is basically about a group of teenages who are still guilt-ridden from their car crash where they murdered a man and now, one year later, they are being chased by a crazed masked man with a hook, who seems content on killing them one by one.
If you have seen such films as Scream, I Know What you Did Last Summer, Blair Witch Project and The Sixth Sense then you have a head start in this film and you will understand the jokes much better, because Scary Movie has just taken bits from all of these film, and made them funny.
This film is an absolute treat for anyone who likes 'dirty' comedy because thats basically what most of the jokes are. If you are buying this under the impression that it is scary (i know the title is misleading) then i must just warn you that it is not scary, mainly because you spend half the time laughing and when somthing remotely scary happens, it just isn't believeable. Not that this is at all a bad thing because this film is about laughs. If we wanted to see a scary flick we would watch Scream or The Exorcist and if we wanted to watch somthing amazingly funny, we would watch this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i found it hillarious, 27 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Scary Movie [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
this film very much depends on your taste in humour, personally i love spoofs and found it highly amusing. its taking the mick out of "i know what you did last summer" and "scream," the script follows both films wich the producers join together. if you havent seen both these films first id strongly advice you to do so to appreciate the humour. i watched this film before i actually watched scream and considering most of the film is from scream i didnt fully appreciate the humour as much.all and all a very good comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but a bit crude., 2 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Scary Movie [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
An incredibly funny film, but it only gets four stars, because
1) None of it is original 2) There's hardly any wit-based humour 3) Everyone knows the story already.
That said...
1) The unoriginal stuff is done perfectly 2) It's the most laugh-out loud film I've seen in a long time 3) It has the best ending of any spoof film EVER.
The ending is absolutely SPOT ON. I am a huge fan of spoof films, and have seen loads of them, and this has the best ending of all of them. An all-time classic. And the rest of the film's not bad either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't stop laughing.....ever!, 24 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Scary Movie [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is one of the funniest films I've seen in a long time. It is a complete mickey take of lots of horror movies such as 'Scream' and 'I Know What You Did Last Summer'. Everything in the film is completely over the top and i guarantee that buy the end of this film you'll be laughing so hard your sides hurt and you'll have tears streaming down your face. This is how funny the film is and if you haven't yet seen it, then what are you waiting for, get yourself a copy and get ready for the funniest night of your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly good, 16 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Scary Movie [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Lets face it, a film like 'Scary Movie' is never going to be nominated for any oscars, nor is it going to win any critical acclaim. But to be honest, none of that really matters. For those of you unfamiliar with the film, Scary movie is a comedy that spoofs many other movies (mostly 'Scream) and the emphasis is very much on silly visual gags. This format has been used successfully before on films such as 'Airplane', 'Naked Gun', 'HotShots!' and many more.
I hired this out expecting not to think too much and laugh quite a lot instead. It doesn't disappoint. You could probably watch this film a couple of times and still not pick up on all the gags that are in the film. Some of the jokes however are very predictable and subsequently, not very funny.
The film probably works better if you have seen the films that it spoofs (Scream, I know what you did last summer, Blair Witch Project, The Usual Suspects) as the jokes will become more apparent. In summary, this film is a decent comedy that should provide a few laughs if you give it a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A FUNNY Comedy at last!, 5 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Scary Movie [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Being a fan of the Scream movies, I was keen to see Scary Movie when it was first released. I'm glad I did because it's a very funny film, hilarious at times. How the actors managed to keep straight faces whilst filming is beyond me....worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A laugh-a-minute!!!, 14 Jun. 2001
This review is from: Scary Movie [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Scary movie is an excellent mickey take out of many of the scary movies out there - 'Scream' and 'I know what you did last summer' are just a couple of them. As funny as 'American pie' - even funnier maybe, this film is sure to make you laugh until you almost cry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A laugh-a-minute comedy!, 29 Oct. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scary Movie [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
'Scary Movie' isn't a film that will make everyone laugh, you'll either enjoy it until the very end, or turn it off quite early on. Fortunately, I do enjoy it, and it never fails to make me smile.

If you've seen a lot of horror films in the past, particularly the famous teen horrors like 'Scream', you are much more likely to appreciate it, so I do highly recommend you watch such movies first to understand the references, particularly as the main plot is a direct humorous copy of 'I Know What You Did Last Summer'. But this isn't really a horror at all, it's a comedy, and basically parodies famous films from the mid to late '90s, not just the aforementioned, but also 'The Sixth Sense', 'The Usual Suspects' and 'Dawson's Creek' to name only three. It's good fun, a laugh-a-minute, but only if you appreciate rather rude humour, as there is a lot of that throughout.

As the plot line goes, a group of teenagers including Cindy Campbell and Bobby Prinze, accidentally hit a man whilst driving, and dispose of his body. Now though, they find themselves being stalked by a masked murderer, and as the victim count tallies up, Cindy must then survive the mayhem that has she has seen in many movies before.

'Scary Movie' is isn't high art, it's completely unoriginal and uninspiring, but laugh-out-loud funny. A great one to watch with a group of mates. The ending is brilliant, with a twist at the end that you'll never see coming. The soundtrack is good, including 'Too Cool For School', a song by the band Fountains of Wayne who gave us 'Radiation Vibe', 'Sink To The Bottom', 'Hey Julie', and of course, 'Stacey's Mom'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny Movie, 28 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Scary Movie [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Even a lot of people who liked Scary Movie have come to resent it for starting the wave of truly dreadful "parodies" "written" and "directed" by Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer, who were two of the six writers on this film. Based on their solo work I assume this means that they wrote two or three gags, because Scary Movie is actually a very good film; not a classic, but creative and funny. Three of the Wayans brothers - Keenan Ivory (director), Shawn and Marlon (writers and stars) - were behind it, as well as its sequel, Scary Movie 2. Whatever you think of these films it can be said that they have a distinctive style and approach that even the later Scary Movies, which veered into more mainstream territory, lack. Scary Movie is, in a word, filthy, containing scenes where a character's stabbed through the head by a penis, and another has his own unimpressive member photographed by the malicious killer. The film takes Airplane's shotgun approach to its targets while adding a thick layer of adult humour.
The plot, if there really is one, mixes Scream and I Know What You Did Last Summer, both of which were written by Kevin Williamson. A group of high schoolers run over a fisherman on Halloween, hide his body, then a year later are stalked by a killer who likes scary movies. Leading the cast is Anna Faris as Cindy Campbell (based on Neve Campbell's Sidney Prescott from Scream). Faris, in my opinion, is an excellent comic actress who's the female equivalent of Leslie Nielsen. She really knows how to deliver a joke and is a joy to watch even in the lesser Scary Movies; the franchise, I'd hazard to say, would be a lot different without her. Jon Abrahams plays Bobby, her sex-starved boyfriend; Shawn Wayans is Ray, a jock with some sugar in his tank; Regina Hall is Brenda, Ray's bitchy girlfriend; and Marlon Wayans is Brenda's brother, Shorty, a cheerful stoner.
What's amusing is that these characters, simply by exaggerating the slasher genre's stereotypes, have sharper personalities than those in its lesser entries. I'd argue that they're better distinguished than their counterparts were in I Still Know What You Did Last Summer. Furthermore, what separates it from the Friedberg/Seltzer films is that it bothers to vaguely follow a story arc and stay focused on what it's meant to be parodying. Besides briefly deviating into a Matrix spoof near the end most of its references are to horror films, a genre filled with cliches which Scary Movie notices and makes fun of. If Scream was horror's smart, self-aware satire, Scary Movie's its silly, anarchic parody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SCARY MOVIE, LEGEND!!!, 22 April 2007
This review is from: Scary Movie [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The beginning of the endless franchise of perhaps the most hilarious comedy spoof movie of are generation. The films comedy is practicially infectious involving films that were considered decent intil they were recodnised in this film and unbelievablly used in comedy and hilairity. The characters in this film are mostly unknown and unrecognised, which surpriseinglly makes them better to relate to, I cant describe the unbelievable comedy this film produces so just buy it...

Scary Movie, LEGEND!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scary Movie [Blu-ray]
Scary Movie [Blu-ray] by Keenen Ivory Wayans (Blu-ray - 2011)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews