Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars550
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 19 October 2011
At last, the legend arrives (with little promotion for some reason) that got me into Tarantino in the first place. The quirky Pulp Fiction that I remember the first time I saw it at the cinema had me wanting to leave after the first 30mins because I didn't have a clue what was going on! So happy I stayed and since then the movie has seated itself firmly in my top 20. It's another of those movies that the dialogue and scenes have firmly lodged themselves in my crazy mind. When I see chips with mayonaise, I think of Pulp; when I someone mentions a magic marker, I think of Pulp; if someone asks me for a pair of pliers, I respond with 'And a blowtorch?'. I could go on. Yes, watching Pulp Fiction could damage your mind but I so advise you to do so - over and over again! It is bad language; it is violent; it's also epic!

Ok, the transfer: With the blu-ray edition we get one of those wonderful cardboard sleeves slipped over the BD box (that I remove and place in the bin). On that sleeve, some kind sole has placed a sticker that says 'DIRECTOR APPROVED' and Quentin has even signed it - bless! I found this strange but when I fired up the movie, I 'd like to put my sticker on it too. The picture is amazing! We are talking crystal clear. Hairs on Tim Roths arms, stubble on JT's face that he probably didn't expect us to see and BAMF's hair looks super shiny. The legendary soundtrack comes out in DTS-HD master straight into our living rooms that I guarantee will have your limbs making unprovoked moves.

Transfer score is 9/10

The extras are plentiful. It takes the extras from the DVD Collectors edition and adds some up-to-date interviews with the cast.

Languages: English and ....English

Subs: English

Region locked
1212 comments|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2011
Outrageously violent, time-twisting, and in love with language, you don't need me to tell you that Pulp Fiction was widely considered the most influential American movie of the 1990s. Director Quentin Tarantino merged amazingly complex yet casual dialogue with the serious violence of American gangster movies and films noirs mixed up with the wacky violence of cartoons and video games.

The fragmented story-telling structure keeps you watching to see how it all fits together. The script intertwines three stories, featuring Samuel L. Jackson and John Travolta, as hit men who have philosophical interchanges on such topics as the French names for American fast food products; Bruce Willis as a boxer; and Uma Thurman, whose dance sequence with Travolta proved an instant classic.

The moments of shocking violence are simultaneously humorous and ghastly. The surreal yet realistic atmosphere, long takes, and wittily literate non-stop dialogue engage me in the characters' experience.

I'm sure I could dissect this film to no end, commenting on the pop culture references and influences, I could comment on how I enjoyed Samuel L Jackson's furiously philosophical character and the mysterious item that was in that brief case, but I won't. I won't because I don't need to, it won't change the fact that this film is an absolute classic, everybody knows it and it will always be remembered when people think of 90's cinema, plus It's so nice to watch a film that is a critical sensation and a box-office hit, as you feel clever and entertained.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2011
I received this today and can confirm that this blu ray disk is region free and plays on UK blu ray players.

There is no point in reviewing the film as if you are reading this then you already know its quality but this is the review of the disk and can confirm that the picture quality and detail is amazing as is the sound, can't imagine the film looking and sounding any better.

Picture Quality 5/5
Sound 4.5/5

Enjoy!
44 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2002
The best film ever made is here included in a truly wonderful box set. This has everything a fan could ever want.
Pulp Fiction is a brilliantly told film about gangster life in L.A. It is a compilation of four interlocking stories about a gangster's life innvolving drugs violence and a whole lot of humour. The main thing that makes this film extra special, and why I love it so, is the incredible dialogue by Quentin Tarantino. Any one who has seen his films will know what talent he has for casual conversation and dark humour, and this is superbly displayed in Pulp Fiction. Not only does it have the perfect screenplay and diection (both by Tarantino), it has perfect acting. John Travolta and Samuel L Jackson have incredible chemistry acting out Pulp Fiction's stylish and funny situations. The brilliance of the film is also continued on disc 2 of the DVD. There are interviews with the cast, and 25 minutes of very interesting deleted scenes.
The film is also renowned for its excellent soundtrack, and this is blissfully included in this set. You don't have to have any particular taste for this soundtrack to like it, as it has a variety of music from Chuck Berry to surfing music. Also, there are a couple more tracks added on from the original soundtrack, including a very enjoyable interview with Tarantino.
Just when you think this already perfect box set couldn't get any better, you discover that you also get a behind the scenes booklet, and a very precious cell from the film, which any fan should cherish for the rest of their life. The set also contains the theatrical poster, which is excellent just to have up as a shrine to this excellent film.
I loved Pulp Fiction, and getting this set just made me over the moon. I strongly reccomend it. Enjoy!
22 comments|57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
It's actually quite hard to know what to expect from this film. The concept behind it is as original as it gets, and all you see on the poster for it is a lady smoking a cannabis joint. Well, to be frank, this movie is hard to define, as it's in a total league of it's own. I'd say that it's much more a drama than an action film, but its tone does vary wildly, so it really is that rare find: a total standalone that you can't really classify. Well, at any rate, it well and truly kicks butt! It's EXTREMELY multi-dimensional, with plot twists being thrown at you from every angle, and more or less at every turn. It's quite back-to-front, actually, the film's narrative. The story doesn't really follow on chronologically. Instead, Tarantino breaks through the time flow barrier and presents the story in "metaphorical flashbacks", as it were. It's as if Tarantino is trying to make it seem as though you're seeing the recollections of some higher divine being who's seen - or perhaps even planned - the events that the film features, (divine intervention is one of this film's main themes, after all). It's very well acted too. L. Jackson and Travolta are both performing at the top of their games, and Willis is as knock-out awesome as always. The drama present in this film could well rank as some of the most poignant...ever, in film history. There are very few movies I can think of that have delivered drama as sharp as that present in this masterpiece. Pulp Fiction is right up there with the likes of Forrest Gump and The Wolf of Wall Street in terms of how necessary its drama is. I mean, Jackson's recital of that biblical passage before he shoots that guy; and again, when he says it near the end of the film, is just CLASSIC cinema. Well, what ON EARTH, out of the MANY featured in it, is this film's main theme? Well, I'd guess that this film is discussing the matter of the different types of criminal out there. It's showing you that there isn't necessarily a "clean-cut" line between good and bad in this complicated, complicated world in which we live. All of the main characters it features are criminals, but they are criminals for various different reasons. Some are just plain bad and sick; others are merely desperate; and yet others - (including Jackson's character) - are just naive and weak, but want to become better people. In fact, I quote, at one point, Jackson says, "I'm trying very hard to be the shepherd".
Tarantino is one bright spark, who has here created a richly rewarding masterwork. This is a total, TOTAL must-see.
Reviewed by Arron S. Munro.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
It may have lost a little of its lustre with age, but the most quotable movie of all time still comes up with the goods way more often than it doesn't.

The holes are a little more obvious now- Quentins self indulgent cameo being the most glaring,-but the great bits are still really really REALLY great bits.

Almost any scene with both John Travolta and Samuel L Jackson in it lights the screen up. They crackle with chemistry and their interaction is just absorbing. The much vaunted dialogue verges on the wonderful at times. Foot massages, eating pork,the exchange whilst cleaning the car, all these are well known, but hit the bullseye every time.
Uma Thurman's Mia is brilliantly played. The brief appears to be "look good with a cigarette, and dance really badly" but there is more to it. The hedonist, pampered gangsters wife looked like a lot of fun to play, and she was perfect for the role.
Harvey Keitel's Wolf is simply the character we would all invent for ourselves were we to write a screenplay. Ultra Cool is not the word. Ving Rhames' Marcellus likewise. His verdict on the events in the shop are equally familiar, but the delivery is just sensational.

Bruce Willis is just a little too Bruce Willis for me, and the Christopher Walken thing is where contrivance just crosses the line (would a young child really interrupt watching cartoons for a ten minuite History lesson about a watch?) but there are enough laugh out loud moments even during these sequences to get away with it.That and a sense of wonder at how CW kept a straight face during a particularly preposterous piece of dialogue. Not every line is quotable, but I defy you not to want to spout any number of passages after seeing this. QT was supposed to be the Johnny Rotten of the film world. Wrong wrong wrong by a long chalk. But a great movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
Quentin Tarantino's second film is certainly one of the greatest of all time. Everything about the film is simply amazing. The stylish characters, the incredible dialogue and the inspired ideas make this a true tour de force of filmmaking.

The plot is non-linear and features a number of bizarre stories that connect the main characters. These all involve two hitmen Vincent and Jules, crime lord Marsellus Wallace and boxer Butch Coolidge. The main stories include Vincent taking Wallace's wife out and the trouble it leads too, `The Gold Watch' which sees Butch having to throw a fight and find his watch with some serve consequences, and `The Bonnie Situation' (my favourite) where Vincent and Jules must dispose of their bloody car. In between these we get a robbery at a diner and a number of preludes. All the stories mix wonderfully and are packed with hilarious lines, intense drama and downright weird circumstances.

Despite the massive cast, the acting is phenomenal. John Travolta re-launched his career as the super cool Vincent and Samuel L Jackson is amazing too, with some of the best lines in film history. Bruce Willis is great and Ving Rhames is utterly convincing with Uma Thurman hanging loose as his wife. Tim Roth and Amanda Plummer have great chemistry and brilliant lines, while Harvey Keitel is wonderful as the problem solving Wolf. The small supporting roles are excellent. Eric Stoltz is hilarious as drug dealer Lance, equally funny is Christopher Walken and Peter Greene is creepy as can be as sadist Zed.

The script can't be praised enough. There are some absolutely hysterical lines and ingenious pop culture references. Lines like `'Royale with cheese'', `'Zed's dead baby, Zed's dead'' and `'I love you Pumpkin, I love you Honey Bunny'' are all as quotable as movie lines get. Tarantino uses music expertly again, `'Jungle Boogie'' and `'Son Of A Preacher Man'' are great. The films main power is that fact that it manages to mix so many diverse genres together so effectively, there are elements of drama, thriller, comedy and satire along with the powerful characters and complex plot which transform Pulp Fiction into one of the all-time greats.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
After `Reservoir Dogs', `Pulp Fiction' is the film that cemented Tarantino's place in the film world as a director/writer of distinction. On repeated viewings you can see why and I still marvel at the style of this film.

This is made up of a series of vignettes around LA and with a core of the same characters, until everything comes full circle and ties up at the end. This delivers a fast paced, gritty storyline and whilst the humour is certainly dark, it can't help but make you laugh. The cast is outstanding and Travolta, Samuel L Jackson and Bruce Willis all turn out stellar performances.

It goes some way to show how enduring a film is if lines or scenes from it are still quoted many years after it was made and this is definitely one of those film. The amount of times I have seen a pastiche of this or heard lines from it on TV or from friends is incredible. The direction is amazing, with a few scenes standing out (like Willis leaning against a wall in close up, with Ving Rhames character chasing him down an alley in the distance),simple perfection. The plot is excellent too with the non-chronological vignettes unweaving the story as it goes. The soundtrack, as in most Tarantino film, is a key element and each song matches the scene perfectly and the interaction between the music and actors is a sight to behold (again I`m thinking of the now iconic scene where Uma Thurman dances the twist with Travolta).

This is highly lauded and beloved by many fans for good reason and if you haven't seen this yet then snap it up and if you have seen it, then add this to your discerning film collection.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
This film is best described as Tarantino's ode to Americana and pop culture, shown through three intertwining crime stories.

What can I say, this is an excellent film. I rank it as Tarantino's second best film after Res Dogs. I know for a lot of people it is the other way around, with Pulp Fiction being their fave. I will say that Tarantino's dialogue is at it's very best here. The dialogue isn't, however, as realistic and naturalistic as people give him credit for. The things the characters talk about are realistic in subject matter, in that they often have little or nothing to do with the plot, but the way they talk isn't realistic in the slightest, but hey, it works so well for movies. Samuel L. Jacksons character talks just like Calvin candie does in Django, not the accent, but it just sounds the same, the timing etc. That is one thing about QT's characters, they all sound the same, they have the same 'voice', but all is forgiven as this voice is often funny, rythmic and very intelligent, albeit sometimes a tad long-winded.

Anyway, onto the product itself, the picture quality is simply pristine! They have done an amzing job transferring it to HD and it makes the film all the more enjoyable for it. You need to be able to say you have seen this film, if you haven't done so already, and for those who have seen it, please upgrade to the Blu-ray version, its well worth it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2012
This is a gangster movie with a difference, Tarantino is the master of taking a genre and making it his own!! Gangsters in the form of hit men in this case all working for the big underworld boss Marsellus Wallace played brilliantly by Ving Rhames, the hit men Vincent and Jules are amazingly cast by Sam Jackson and John Travolta, great characters that have incredibly sharp and witty dialogue that really drives the movie through every incredible situation they get involved with, the pace keeps going and going and always changing throughout the 2 and a half hours run time making it so much fun, the rest of the cast is perfect too with the amazing Uma Thurman and Bruce Willis plus many others, this has action, shootouts, crime, drugs, guns, girls, and so much character and on top of that one of the coolest soundtracks ever! one of the best gangster movies ever made, this needs to be seen, fantastic movie! Tarantino will always be remembered for this classic!!!

This review is for the German Blu-ray black steelbook, looks awesome and very unique! It has all the special features on it and they are all in the English language too as is the film, amazing picture quality, bargain that's a must have!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.