Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars73
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2015
Good films, but the quality of the transfer was terrible. Very bad for bluray, expected a lot more. Why is the transfer to this format so bad ? Disappointed with the box set for this reason.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2011
Having read the previous reviews here I feel I'm probably in the minority in thinking that this boxset is excellent.
I had the original releases of Scream 1 & 2 and, as such, I had no extras on either disc. As much as I have always loved these films I could never justify buying another DVD just for some extras.
Also, on those original DVDs the picture and sound quality were pretty dreadful (especially the fact that neither film was anamorphic). By the time Scream 3 came out lots of extras was the norm so that one was always pretty good.
So, for me, these BD transfers were an absolute revelation. The picture quality was a vast improvement over my DVDs and the sound even more so.
Also, now I have the extras I never had. Subsequently I'm not disappointed that there are no blu-ray exclusive features.

As for the packaging - I like it. I'm not a fan of digipaks so I was really pleased that each film has its own keep case and covers.

All in all, I would recommend this set to anyone who has the DVDs and wants an improvement.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2015
I love it! Very cool box, has the movies in it with some awesome bonus features and looks fantastic on my shelf. I love the artwork on the box that slides out with the DVDs in it. Great buy, very happy :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
Awesome movies these created new directions for horror slasher movies to go. Plus directed by the late great Wes Craven. A must have horror slasher collection master piece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2011
Let me start by saying, this box package rocks, the front side even glows in the dark:-) It really makes sense buying all three movies like this, together as they were always meant to be!

Thank you Amazon.co.uk, the item came really quickly and it's perfect!

Here are some information you might be interested in:

SCREAM:
Runtime: Approx 109 Minutes
Audio: DTS HD Master Audio Surround 5.1
Aspect ratio: HD 2.35:1
Language: English
Subtitles: English and English for the Hearing impaired

Bonus footage: Audio commentary (Wes Craven and Kevin Williamson), production featurette, cast and crew profiles, behind the scenes, Q & A with cast and crew, trailers

SCREAM 2:

Runtime: Approx 118 Minutes
Audio: DTS HD Master Audio Surround 5.1
Aspect ratio: HD 2.35:1
Language: English
Subtitles: English and English for the Hearing impaired

Bonus footage: Outtakes, deleted scenes, featurette, audio commentary (Wes Craven, Marianne Maddalena, Patrick Lussier), music videos - Master P, Kotton Mouth Kings, theatrical trailer

SCREAM 3:

Runtime: Approx 115 Minutes
Audio: DTS HD Master Audio Surround 5.1
Aspect ratio: HD 2.35:1
Language: English
Subtitles: English and English for the Hearing impaired

Bonus footage: Outtakes, behind the scenes montage, deleted scenes, alternate ending, Creed music video »What if«, audio commentary (Wes Craven, Marianne Maddalena, Patrick Lussier, 2 theatrical trailers

Do not forget to search for a SCREAM 4 (SCRE4M) blu-ray in a few months;-)
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
Classic horror movies, perfect for the Halloween season! 1st is my fave, then the 2nd and then the 3rd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2011
For years the horror film genre had been plagued with retreads of slasher films that it became a dire cliche in itself.

That was until the mid-90s and everything changed when Wes Craven and Kevin Williamson teamed up to make arguably the greatest Slasher Film of the 90s....or even one of the greatest HORROR movies of the decade and also manage to boast that its sequel is superior and with that defined the genre forever!

Scream - Here was where the boat kicked into gear. The opening sequence with Drew Barrymore is a tour de force in itself and is one of the most iconic scenes in movie history (thats right...MOVIE) and from then on it keeps on delivering. To this day it feels as refreshing and vibrant when it was first unleashed onto cinemas worldwide and triggered a brand new phenomenon in pop culture and cinema history. The twists the turns and the on screen chemistry between the lead actors is just unmatchable! 10/10

Scream 2 - This is where the pace fastens. Again we are given possibly the equally timeless first sequence in the shape of a cinema bloodbath...and Jada Pinkett Smith, possibly one of the most tensest sequences in the movie saga and I would definitely say up there with the first film in terms of tense and shock value. The chemistry between Courtney, Never and David is there again and as surefire as ever as the pace defintiely fastens. We are given some of the most shocking twists in the franchise up to that point and the wit and humour is definitely on par with the first film. We are given dangerous scenarios and even tense and darker situations (the car crash sequence, the silent glass sequence, the Sarah Michelle gellar rooftop scene and the macabre thrilling climax!) Scream 2 is a masterpiece in its own right. 10/10

Scream 3 - The first trilogy concludes. Okay so this film recieves the most criticism as the lead writer Kevin was replaced with Ehren Kruger and it has a different vibe to the first two movies. But this is still an absolute corker also despite the fact that Neve was not as present as Courtney and David are here. But as ever the direction is superb and while there is possibly less action than the previous two movies it definitely makes up for it in tension and the most explosive scene in the sage to date! And also the final twist is a nice if dark reference to the first film which adds a new spin on things definitely. And here (until recently) was a solid if flawed final part to the trilogy. 7/10

This film series is definitely the Pop Culture masters Horror Frnchise. It is funny, witty, macabre, thrilling and engaging. Lovers of horror will to this day relish in it and it has proven a major influence on the slasher movies of the time that could not touch it (I Know What You Did Last Summer was the closest but still even then not as much) and the spawns of self referencial Horror movies throughout the 00s decade. But none have come close and these beautiful masterpings together for your enjoyment is definitive proof that there is only the one Post-modern Horro Franchise.

Definitely seek these out before unleashing Scream 4 unto you. Which is also surprisingly fantastic! (will review shrotly)

Absolutely fantastic. 10/10
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2016
This trilogy it's brilliant, but definitely scream 3 it's the best one of all.
A must see
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Really great service,
superfast service !

great price,
thank you.
x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2011
NOTE: this is not a review of the movies themselves but of the blu-ray release. Like many SCREAM fans, the main question I had before ordering this set was: is it worth the upgrade from DVD? For comparison, I already had the US Region 1 Collector's Edition DVDs of all three movies.

Picture quality

The first movie shows a definite improvement on blu-ray, but that's as much a reflection of how poor the DVD was than anything else. Basically, picture quality here is akin to a high quality DVD upscale; so while it blows the previous low bitrate, non-anamorphic DVD out of the water, the picture suffers from an overall softness that belies its 1080p resolution. That said, SCREAM has never looked better on home video - so the first movie is a recommended upgrade for fans of the series.

Unfortunately, SCREAMs 2 and 3 also look like high quality DVD upscales -- but, unlike the first movie, they already had impressive DVD transfers. The end result is that I could see little difference between the blu-rays and the DVDs using a Sony S370 and 37" plasma at ten feet. The transfers are simply too soft to make use of the increased resolution available. Sadly, I can't recommend upgrading parts 2 and 3 if you already have the anamorphic DVDs.

Extras

As I knew before ordering the set, there are no exclusive extras on this blu-ray release: all of the commentaries, deleted scenes, featurettes etc were already included on the Region 1 Collectors Edition DVDs. Moreover, the extras have not been given an HD makeover: they are direct SD ports from the US DVDs.

Comparison to other blu-ray releases of the trilogy

As far as I know, the trilogy has previously been released on blu-ray in Germany and Canada. A few observations:

Germany: in the German release, the first movie was heavily cut and the second was cropped from 2.35/1 to 1.78/1. Neither of these problems arise here (although SCREAM is the previously released theatrical cut... it still doesn't include the extra few seconds of gore found in the Japanese laserdisc).

Canada: a very similar release in terms of picture quality (no cuts or crops), though the Canadian set lacked any real extras. If you already own the Canadian set and have the extras on DVD, I don't think you need to upgrade.

Overall

A disappointing blu-ray release, seemingly just a cash-in on the theatrical run of SCREAM 4. I'd recommend buying the first movie on blu-ray as it's a clear improvement over the DVD. The sequels, not so much. 3/5.
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)