Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than The Original!
I thought that this was better than the original but the ending was not as good. The killer's back but as in most good horror movies the killer is a different person. The killer's out to get Sydney Prescott(Neve Campbell) again after escaping the Killer last time. It again stars Courtney Cox as Gale Weathers and David Arquette as Duey Riley. This one also stars Sarah...
Published on 23 Mar 2001

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very good, exciting film. As good as the original.....?
Although Scream 2 was full of excitment, it didn't live up to the original. But with Courteney Cox, David Arquette and Neve Campbell acting, they certainly didn't disappoint. I didnt find the ending on Scream 2 as good as it was on Scream. To watch this movie, I would recommend you see Scream first, as the main plot generates from that movie. It all revolves around a...
Published on 26 Jun 2000 by danieldude@talk21.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very good, exciting film. As good as the original.....?, 26 Jun 2000
By 
danieldude@talk21.com (Wales, United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scream 2 [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
Although Scream 2 was full of excitment, it didn't live up to the original. But with Courteney Cox, David Arquette and Neve Campbell acting, they certainly didn't disappoint. I didnt find the ending on Scream 2 as good as it was on Scream. To watch this movie, I would recommend you see Scream first, as the main plot generates from that movie. It all revolves around a girl, Sidney Prescott (Neve Campbell). Her mother was raped and murdered, a year before the setting of Scream took place. Sidney accused a man, Coton Weary (Liev Schreiber), but was it really him who killed her? Gale Weathers (Courteney Cox Arquette), a journalist, is out to prove Coton's innocence, and also find "the real" killer. With Deputy Duey (David Arquette), Woodsboro's policeman, Gale, Sidney, and the rest of the gang, will they frame the killer, or will he get away? This is the main plot of Scream 1. In Scream 2, the funny phonecalls, and the taunting all come back again, as Sidney and her friends are now attending college. Quite a few suspecting killers in this one, certainly a shock when you see who the killer really is! Hats off to Wes Craven, the director, as the film was well co-ordinated. I certainly cant wait to see Scream 3. This is definately one to add to your video library. - Daniel Shanahan. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than The Original!, 23 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Scream 2 [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
I thought that this was better than the original but the ending was not as good. The killer's back but as in most good horror movies the killer is a different person. The killer's out to get Sydney Prescott(Neve Campbell) again after escaping the Killer last time. It again stars Courtney Cox as Gale Weathers and David Arquette as Duey Riley. This one also stars Sarah Michelle Gellar as Casey. Who's the killer this time? If you want to find out then you'll have to watch it. I would recommend that you watch the original first as the plot is all explained in the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced shocks and surprises, 17 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Scream 2 [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
I used to think that nothing could compare to the original, but I have to take my hat off to Kevin Williamson for his brilliant sequel! Once again we are joined by old pals Sidney Prescott, Gale Weathers, and Dewy Riley as a copy cat killer goes on the rampage. Our old favourites are joined by a great new hip young cast including Jerry O'connell, Sarah Michelle Gellar, Heather Graham, and Jada Pinkett. A must see movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's time to scream again!, 2 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Scream 2 [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
It's hardly suprising that a sequel was made to the smash-hit 'Scream', but what is suprising is the fact that this sequel is a brilliant horror flick and almost surpasses the original. Wes Craven jumps aboard once more to deliver another helping of blood-splattered mayhem. This time around, the survivors from the first film come under attack when a movie based on their experiences is made, unleashing a slew of copy-cat murders. Sidney (Neve Campbell) returns alongside Officer Dewey (David Arquette), as the body count begins to increase. The gore factor, as well as the body count, also increases since the first movie, and this sequel also has its own brand of humour. Craven literally exposes sequels for what they are - but makes fun of sequels in general, making this instalment highly entertaining. Kevin Williamson returns to write the screenplay, and it's as witty and as funny as it's predoccessor. As sequels go, this is truly superior work, except it never gets quite as tense as 'Scream'. Anyone who loved the first, is gonna' love this! It's rather a pity, that it was followed by the reasonably poor 'Scream 3', the final chapter in the series.
David James Nock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great buy!, 12 Sep 2011
By 
Mark Gilmore (Deganwy, Conwy United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scream 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Works perfectly. The film is of a good quality. I can't complain at all with the purchase of this order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good. 25th january 2004., 25 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Scream 2 [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
Good film, not as good as the first. I thought their could of been more action in it,and not has much talking. It was a little bit disapointing in parts, and not has good as i expected. The first and the last always tend to be the best, HIRE IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as good, 16 Nov 2000
This review is from: Scream 2 [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
I liked this movie, but I don't think it was as good as the first. Although the plot was thicker, I don't think that the ending was as good, and you have to have see the first one in order to unerstand this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific sequel that lacks the punch of the first film, 21 Dec 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scream 2 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
As a whole, ignoring the conclusion for a moment, I judge Scream 2 to be the best film in the Scream trilogy. The opening scene is quite brilliant in design, setting the backdrop as a movie theatre premiering the movie Stab (based on Gale Weathers’ book about the killing spree documented in the original movie); basically, we watch enthusiastic audience members raucously enjoy a dramatization of the opening scene of Scream, and the first murders take place in this theatre full of masked, knife-wielding audience members—it’s a perfect backdrop (but Jada Pinckett’s death swoon is incredibly prolonged). Rather than shirk criticism about this just being another rehashed sequel, Scream 2 is built around the very idea of recreating the events of the first movie. We are on familiar ground from the very start of the action, feeling quite comfortable with the main characters from the original film: Sidney, Dewey, Randy, Gale, and—in a manner of speaking—the killer. The introduction of Cotton Weary, the man who was wrongfully sentenced to prison for the murder of Sidney’s mother, is a very effective addition that does much to increase both the suspense and mystery of the film as well as the list of possible suspects. New cast members I took special note of include Heather Graham, Sarah Michelle Gellar (in a definite non-Buffy role), Portia de Rossi, and the singular Rebecca Gayheart, and I am happy to report at least one of these most attractive women does not succumb to the killer’s knife.
The original Scream was a pretty original take on slasher films, and I was a little surprised to find the plot of this sequel equaling if not bettering that of the original film throughout the first two-thirds of the drama. To some extent, we have seen all of this before—the killer calling his victims on the phone and then jumping out of nowhere with that familiar mask and sharp knife, individuals trying to escape the killer’s grasp and usually failing to do so; Sydney facing up to her fears and trying to survive. It all works well here, though. The killings are not quite as violent or gory this time around, but the suspense is palpable throughout the entire movie. The killer even made me twinge a time or two, and that rarely happens. The only criticism I would have of Scream 2 is the ending. It is much too long and drawn-out, for one thing. It is also somewhat weakened by the fact that we know what kind of revelation to expect; it was well nigh impossible, even for as talented a script writer as Kevin Williamson, to top the power and surprise of Scream’s final moments. Even though I was unsure who the bad guys were in the first movie, in retrospect I could go back and analyze the clues to see that it made sense. While the identity of the killer(s) did surprise me somewhat in this sequel, this was largely because the evidence I needed to figure out the mystery was not there for the most part; too much of the truth is hidden from us until the climaxing moments of the movie.
Scream 2 is a remarkably good sequel, one that does not fall victim to the curse of progressively bad follow-up films the horror genre is rife with. Its additional comedic element, such as can be found in the interaction between Dewey and Gale as well as in Randy’s theories on horror sequels, does help to offset any disappointment to be found in the film’s ultimate revelations. Of course, it is all but impossible for it to achieve the same effect on the viewer as the original Scream did because, while you may not know exactly what is coming, you can be reasonably sure that you know the form in which it will appear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FOLLOW UP TO SCREAM!, 20 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Scream 2 [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
This is a great follow up to scream with lots of killing and the return of all the your favourite people plus more! YOU HAVE TO BUY IT! You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Betta Than The 1st, 5 Oct 2003
This review is from: Scream 2 [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
After finding all the flaws of the first movie this sequel over wrote most of them. The opening sequence is not as scary as the first but is on it's way, and once the movie starts long gone are the days of the high school comedy/horror flick. The movie now takes place at a collegewhen after a movie is made about the scream 1 murders, a copy cat begins the woodborough killings. Sydney is no longer a timid Plain Jane character but a lot more mature and confident than the weak lanky haired girl we grew to love in the orginal. Also it isn't half as predictable even though the body count and gore isn't as high and it more focusses on who the killer is than who's having there intestines spilled. Sarah Michelle Gellar makes a nice appearence as a Drew Barrymore 2 and Randy returns with his movie knowledge along with the limping David Arquette and short haired Courtney Cox (as evil as ever.) There are new characters as well. Sydney's love interest Derek, Cotton, Maureen Prescot's supposed killer, Sydney's new best friend Hallie, the movie obsessed Mickey and a Gale Winters fan Miss Salt. This film is a must see, a rare sequel that bettas the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scream 2 [Blu-ray]
Scream 2 [Blu-ray] by Wes Craven (Blu-ray - 2011)
8.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews