Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This horse will save you hours...and pounds
Took me 20 mins to set up. Not difficult at all, but I can imagine a few of the instructions being perhaps misinterpreted or misunderstood. It's the usual case of 'once you know, it's a doddle' sort of thing. Just need to concentrate to save having to restart. Sheer bliss to use, after pretty much writing off my old Workmate by strapping logs to it by various means, then...
Published on 13 Oct 2011 by Yuker

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be the perfect product.
This is almost the perfect tool. Sturdy, well made, no burrs or poorly made parts. However - I can't give it five stars as it has two faults. One small, one massive.

Small fault - it's too short!! After a good session with my chainsaw my lower back was killing, I am now building a platform to put it on. Think I may just have to live with this one as anyone over...
Published 11 months ago by Jason Tait


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be the perfect product., 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull Saw Horse Folding Trestle Galvanised (DIY & Tools)
This is almost the perfect tool. Sturdy, well made, no burrs or poorly made parts. However - I can't give it five stars as it has two faults. One small, one massive.

Small fault - it's too short!! After a good session with my chainsaw my lower back was killing, I am now building a platform to put it on. Think I may just have to live with this one as anyone over 6 foot will.

Large fault - the nuts that hold the bracing parts at the bottom - just standard nuts - no locking washers or anything. Within 20 minutes of use, the vibration shook them undone and off. My log went sideways along with the right hand trestle, and I was left hunting through sawdust for missing bits of metal!!!

After a quick trip to B&Q I upgraded mine with locking nuts (the ones with a plastic ring inside). Problem solved - I can now use it for hours on end without the risk of it collapsing on me. Such a simple and cheap addition - you'd think it would have at least failed a safety test at manufacturing level and they'd have done this upgrade themselves. Perhaps if they read this they will....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This horse will save you hours...and pounds, 13 Oct 2011
This review is from: Faithfull Saw Horse Folding Trestle Galvanised (DIY & Tools)
Took me 20 mins to set up. Not difficult at all, but I can imagine a few of the instructions being perhaps misinterpreted or misunderstood. It's the usual case of 'once you know, it's a doddle' sort of thing. Just need to concentrate to save having to restart. Sheer bliss to use, after pretty much writing off my old Workmate by strapping logs to it by various means, then taking lumps out of it!
All in all great VFM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent value, 5 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull Saw Horse Folding Trestle Galvanised (DIY & Tools)
The product arrived quickly and after assembly does exactly what it should, providing a safe and secure platform for cutting wood. I bought it for less than I would have paid for an inferior design locally and the free delivery to a remote location was a welcome bonus. if you have been taking chances using a chainsaw on logs that are not securely held, this is a vastly better option: safe and faster cutting as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 14 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. P. L. Spearink (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull Saw Horse Folding Trestle Galvanised (DIY & Tools)
This is a surprisingly robust piece of kit. It looks and feels quite flimsy before it is opened out but it certainly does the job I require of it. It is also rather cheap to buy. One point that I would advise people to do is to change the nut and screw fixings for proper nuts and bolts, it makes it much more strong. I had one of the screw types come undone simply because I could not quite get enough tension on the screw head. A simple thing that makes all the difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Safe sawing of logs, 17 April 2012
By 
Alan T. Lovegreen "GM4FLX" (Lochwinnoch, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull Saw Horse Folding Trestle Galvanised (DIY & Tools)
This is a clever well thought out piece of equipment. By the time you have read the very brief instructions enough times to make sure that you have not missed anything you will certainly know how to put the bits together. Having a mate will help enormously because until the last bolt is tight the whole thing is very flexible and it appears to be made of light weight stuff. Don't let that worry you. Keep going, get the thing together finger tight and then stand it on level ground with the legs spread wide. Now go round and tighten everything up. This is when you realise that you have what you were seeking, a good sturdy sawing horse that will fold away and flat pack against a wall. Know where your tools are when you plan to use this tool because something is bound to need to be either loosened a bit or tightened a bit once the cutting work begins. You may also find that you have a preference for different screws, washers and nuts but the supplied ones will certainly do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars efficient horse, 17 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull Saw Horse Folding Trestle Galvanised (DIY & Tools)
The saw horse is light and can easily be moved has serrated teeth which dig into the logs and help them stay secure while cutting which makes it an efficient tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practical Saw Horse with safety issues, 31 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull Saw Horse Folding Trestle Galvanised (DIY & Tools)
This is a sturdy and solid saw horse which does the job of gripping logs for cutting very well. However two points of poor design in safety terms spoil its efficiency.
1. The bolts supplied for the bracing bars are too short and only allow the bars to be fitted back-to-front. The bracing bars are u-shaped - which is good - however the edges need to be flush with the frame when fitted to enable the smooth curve of the u-shape to be outward facing thus not providing a sharp edge to knock your shins against. The bolts provided are too short and only allow fitting of the bracing bars with the curved u-shape flush with the frame. This is ridiculous. I will purchase longer bolts so that I can rectify this poor design issue - but I should not have to do this.
2. The top corners of each of the 6 legs are a danger if you bend down whilst in proximity of the in the course of working to pick up tools or wood etc. They should have rubber protectors to prevent quite harmful facial or eye injury.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faithfull saw horse, 4 Mar 2012
This review is from: Faithfull Saw Horse Folding Trestle Galvanised (DIY & Tools)
Arrived within 2 days undamaged. Like others have noted instructions are not the best but once you've worked out what goes where it all falls into place. Very sturdy once assembled. Need to use two bits of plywood down the lenght to allow shorter timbers to be cut. Holds timber very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faithfull Saw Horse, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull Saw Horse Folding Trestle Galvanised (DIY & Tools)
Faithfull Saw Horse Folding Trestle Galvanised

A bit fiddly to assemble, once I got the hang of it no problems. Proved to be a very useful piece of kit, the serrated edges grip logs well making it safe to use with even the larger logs. Well recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars alright, 21 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull Saw Horse Folding Trestle Galvanised (DIY & Tools)
I needed a trestle for log cutting and wanted something light and possibly portable (not wood).This is portable but very fiddly to set up and fold I have already lost a nut of it and had to tape over the top edges of the trestle with electrical tape as the metal is pretty sharp . In use though it is sturdy enough and will come in handy when logging up, it will save me a backache i hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Faithfull Saw Horse Folding Trestle Galvanised
£29.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews