Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much of a muchness ....
It's difficult to gauge how effective this book is. Being ex-forces their way and style of leadership is taught in a completely different manner. I've done a number of 'civilian' leadership courses as well and perhaps the most obvious differences in all thecourses I've done and in all of the industries I've worked in, seems to be ignored by and large by this book...
Published on 12 Sep 2011 by A. Cresswell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More management than leadership
There are some good points in this book such as the fact that you really need to know yourself before being a good leader; that leadership is about vision; and that leadership is not about you, but about others.

However, I tended to find that the book centred more around being a good manager in the work place rather than being a good leader. The one is not...
Published on 17 Oct 2012 by C. C. Chivers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much of a muchness ...., 12 Sep 2011
By 
A. Cresswell "Bubblefish777 - Born again Diver" (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's difficult to gauge how effective this book is. Being ex-forces their way and style of leadership is taught in a completely different manner. I've done a number of 'civilian' leadership courses as well and perhaps the most obvious differences in all thecourses I've done and in all of the industries I've worked in, seems to be ignored by and large by this book. Leadership, managrment, Authority can only be imparted and inherited depending on the context of the environment you are in. For example in the forces the authority and 'leadership' is validated and enforced by the military authority of punishment and jail for failing to carry out an order. In Civilian life in Investment Banking the constraint and whip is money. In Central Government the motivation are different again. In all cases certain leaders and styles will be more successful or not depending on the industry and environment and context you are working in. The book seems to address this well. It covers all the classic cases but often the examples are too basic and life is not as clear cut as this book would have you believe. That said it's not a bad primer but then if leadership could be so easily taught we'd never struggle to build global conquering companies, armies, sports teams or anything else. Incompetance as well as potential is rife in all walks of life. However it's worth reading the book if only to give yoursef some insight in to what OTHER leaders might be managing to and understanding how your competitiioon thinks is worth persuing. Please remember to vote to help keep the Amazon review process working. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More management than leadership, 17 Oct 2012
By 
C. C. Chivers "ccchivers" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There are some good points in this book such as the fact that you really need to know yourself before being a good leader; that leadership is about vision; and that leadership is not about you, but about others.

However, I tended to find that the book centred more around being a good manager in the work place rather than being a good leader. The one is not necessarily synonymous with the other. There are good managers that are terrible leaders and equally there are good leaders who are terrible managers. There are also people who are incapable of being either, though they think they are great.

Admittedly, it is difficult to write about leadership during a time of peace, without including the managerial role in some way, as that is where a lot of leaders end up. Consequently, most of the 'true story' boxes tend to be about the author's own experience as a manager in an office environment and in my opinion some of these stories have nothing to do with leadership. This book would have been better titled as 'Leadership and Management'.

Personally, I would have liked to read more about leadership beyond the four walls of a buliding in order to get away from the managerial side of things and really get into leadership, such as leadership during a crisis situation and how such leaders come about, or leadership in sports and hobbies or leadership in politics and the world.

Basically, if you are looking for a book to help you be a better leader and manager in an office, this is the book for you, but if, like me, you are more interested in the wider implications of leadership, choose something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of useful information and not just for Dummies!, 22 Sep 2011
By 
RJP the Book Boy "Book boy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I read this book to see if I am doing things right in my working life, apparantly I am, phew!!! This book written by one of the leaders on the topic is well written and structured. It is not the sort of book you can read from cover to cover but very useful to dip into. One of the most useful chapters was on managing chnage in a company and I found lots of tips to carry out this function without causing a riot with the staff. The book is well thought out and presented and would complement many management text books. There are lots of bullet points to help remeber the theories and methods of change which are useful. I am used to using the Dummies range of computer books which can be hard going because they seem to be for an American audience but this one is clearly written and structured for us in the UK. However, I am not going to leave it on my shelf in my office as seeing a 'Leadership for Dummies' book on it would not look good to staff or clients, I think another reviwer has already pointed this out! However, I am glad I read the book and learned quite alot from it and found comfort that I have been doing the leadership thing right all these years. All in all useful for students and curious managers in a leadership position -shame about the title!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars easy to read, 18 April 2013
This review is from: Leadership For Dummies® (Kindle Edition)
this book is so easy to read. you can dip in and out at the parts that are most relevant and there are hints tips and real stories throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars just what I was looking for, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leadership For Dummies® (Kindle Edition)
Having just taken on a superviser position at work after a bad experince in the past this book gave me some good tips for dealing with some issues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good guide, 24 Aug 2011
By 
All of them Witches (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It can sometimes be easy to become a bit sniffy about lifestyle or skill development guides of one type or another and this is the first of the 'Dummies' guides I had ever perused and I thought it was really quite well thought out and presented nicely.
The sheer volume itself is a little bit much at first ut it is all broken down into handy chapters and associated sub-sections. The book is divided into six main parts and has 21 chapters within this (the parts can be viewed if you click on the 'look inside' tab at the top of the page showing the front cover of the book)
Some of it works particularly well within the context of a book whereas other points possibly have more or quicker benefits if relayed as part of a seminar/talking environment. There are a lot of exercises to try again some of them work better than others in this format but at least the theory is available and one could actually garner this knowledge and use these exercises themselves within a team enviroment.
This guide has a very positive management style and promotes heavily the effectiveness of good person centred management skills. It has good sections on confidence building, delving into effective CBT techniques at times. It's worth a purchase definately for re-honing skills or practicing new ones; there is some repetition at times and variations on the same few pivotal points but it's good as a beginners and probably even an intermediate level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!, 17 Aug 2011
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is so accessible and easy to read. There are clear sections which deal with various leadership topics concisely and in an entertaining manner. I am a senior manager with an organisation, however this book still gave me some serious things to think about. There is a lot of good guidance in this book and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone who is in a leadership role, or anyone who wants to be in a leadership role. I loved this book and will be keeping it to go through in more depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for 1st Time Leaders, 7 Aug 2011
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As with all of the 'Dummies' range of books, this is a great guide for new starters/first timers. For anyone entering into their first leadership role who wants to have a collection of handy hints and tips to remember, this can't really be faulted. If you've been around the block a few times then you might be looking for something a bit more in-depth, but if you do have a few years of experience under your belt then you probably wouldn't call yourself a dummy either. One of the constant themes is that leadership is not just about giving orders and telling people how to do their jobs, but about reflection and self assessment. As such, there is a lot of practical advice here that many junior managers will find helpful. Overall, the tone of the book is generally serious, but with light hearted comments throughout. This helps to make what could be patronising or ponderous an enjoyable and accessible read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for the junior manager with career aspirations, 1 Aug 2011
By 
Keith Lawson (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
For me, I've been there, done that, and now teach this at a college. But I wish this book had been around 40 years ago. (Incidently, it was only 20 years ago when Leadership started to be discussed in depth for managers - Peter Drucker's THE EFFECTIVE MANAGER - does not discuss leadership at all). 21 chapters of good advice: the collection of easily set sections, real anecdotes and activities to complete will help grow the awareness and knowledge of the junior manager who wants to drive a successful career. Reading this book and interacting with it will provide evidence towards any Professional Development requirements (e.g. Chartered Management Institute membership). I say "knowledge" because ultimately one has to "walk the walk" and that is the real truth of leadership. It will help hone the generic ability and attitude (the unpolished diamond) to managing a group of people but it cannot help the person who does not have the right traits to start with (a lump of coal). For the more advanced manager, they are better directed towards the books of John Adair. Last word - study Leadership but don't been seen to do it - people still think leaders are born not made. You will look like a political animal if caught studying this subject rather than the genuine person seeking to be best at what they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dummies don't lead, 31 July 2011
By 
Donald Lush "lushd" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As this book acknowledges in its early pages, leadership is neither simple nor easy, despite what is said on the cover about the "For Dummies" series making everything easier.

Inside, you find a lot of good advice, some theory, case studies and exercises that are all designed to assist anyone who finds themselves leading. There's very little fluff here. All the material draws heavily on examples and is put over in a plain, dispassionate and accessible way. If you read it through carefully, try the exercises and the suggestions, then I am sure your leadership will improve.

It is a little repetitive but then being clear about your message and communicating it at every opportunity is a great leadership technique. I specially enjoyed the section that makes the differences between leadership and management crystal clear while encouraging you to see yourself as both a leader and a manager.

I also really appreciated the focus on being engaging and appropriately self-critical as a way of improving ones own leadership.

For those using this book as a resource in working with others, there's plenty to pass on and lots of tools to help you do it.

The only reason it's four instead of five stars is the "dummies" label. It doesn't sit well with me - there are too many dummies in leadership positions and I wouldn't want to encourage them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leadership For Dummies®
£9.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews