Customer Reviews


308 Reviews
5 star:
 (195)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic action film, with brains.
What a very very good film this is. In `Rise of The Planet of the Apes', English director Rupert Wyatt has a stab at doing what Tim Burton failed spectacularly to do in 2001 - resurrecting the Planet of the Apes franchise. What Wyatt has created, against all the odds, is a thoughtful, intelligent and stirring piece which provides the perfect antidote to all the silly,...
Published on 21 Aug 2011 by Rob Payne

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars And you thought the swine flu was bad
As with all presentations there are promoters as distracters.

The product has a sound story. The story stands alone; or if you will can be a prequel to the ape series. There was very little preaching of ideologies and they stuck to the poor pitiful ape finally can get his revenge theme. Someone joker could not help himself and hand to write in the line "Get...
Published 11 months ago by bernie


‹ Previous | 125 26 2731 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 17 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Rise of the Planet of the Apes - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
simply a must see movie ,i cannot wait for the follow up films best reboot ever,
great drama and action superb showcase for modern film making faster paced than original movies but does not suffer for it, probably more plausible than we would like to think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Benchmark, 17 Dec 2011
Like many, I nearly didn't watch it and thought about the previous fiasco with Mark Walberg. However thank God I did. The cgi effects are plenty - but they blend in well and work. The script with "Humans" is not the greatest, but they ain't the star, Caesar is. At times the movie is very touching and will pull your emotional strings, and in a peculiar way makes you think regarding how your are treating your innocent loved ones, who are more real than a movie.
Hail Caesar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monkeytastic, 17 Dec 2011
By 
Ward-Minter (British Virgin Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very exciting and, at times, quite a moving film. Whilst the effects are brilliant, this film puts "Greystoke, The Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes" into perspective as to just how good that film was for their monkey effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the Danny review, 16 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. Dj Ballinger "the danny" (Southport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't have much faith in cinema these days..........my goodness, this is special. Well done to all those involved. I've heard the director is English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a prequel?, 14 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Planet of the Apes - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
already reviewed this, so this is more a debate or question?
but many consider this as a prequel to the original movies,
but if you follow the mythology of planet of the apes,
the story goes that the pets started to die, and the apes became surrogate pets trained to do odd jobs, then one ape caesar said no and the ape rebellion began. so where does this film fit it? so really i think this film is more of a reboot rather than a prequal much like smallville did for superman a re-telling of the story, to which making its own rules.
but then again the movie is brilliant so maybe shouldnt bother questioning its releveance to the series.
so in alone this film is brilliantly directed (not a huge fan of cgi orientated movies) but this film has a plot, Andy Serkis is amazing as always, and well with a the last installment well not a installment really with Tim Burtons planet of the apes, which was horrid and pointless and easily forgotten, so is this the start of other sequals? hope so as long as they keep rupert wyatt as the director and andy serkis. this could mark a good few movies to come. well thank you for reading or ignoring this review or rant or whatever you would like to call it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 13 Dec 2011
By 
I. A. Wright "Ian Wright" (Didcot, Oxon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having seen the other films in "The Planet of the Apes" series, I sort of shrugged and expected "The Rise..." to warrant perhaps 3 to 3.5 stars. How wrong I was! "The Rise..." is far superior to any of those other films. There are perhaps a couple of technical glitches, but they don't amount to a full star deduction. The storyline is strong; the apes look realistic (well, mostly). I noticed echoes of another sci-fi tale that I read decades a go but whose title I don't remember. That in no way detracts from the quality of the film.

Long ago, I gave away the other DVDs in "The Planet of the Apes" series, but I'll certainly put "The Rise..." on my "Eetain" shelf. I heartily recommend it.

The film ends at a point that invites at least one further story in the series, perhaps more. Something to look forward to, perhaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slick, with a bit of monkeying around., 1 Dec 2011
By 
T. BROOKES "Brookey" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A surprising blockbuster hit, which entertains with its leading ape effects.

First off, the film is praisable for its effects and ending (on San Francisco bridge) and it is entertaining as a modern big blockbuster movie.

James Franco (127 Hours) is a scientist testing a new breakthrough alzheimer drug on apes. One day, Franco ends up adopting a baby ape, Caesar, who is super clever. When Caesar is jailed he goes on to lead a zoo like charge of all the apes.

I wasn't totally convinced with the CGI but the film is a recommendable watch, with ok acting, plot and delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hat off to the guys that made the adverts, 13 Jan 2013
By 
Dave March "ls_dave" (Durham, United Kindom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Planet of the Apes - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
When I first saw the advert to this movie I remember leaning over to a friend and joking this looked like some Planet of the Apes remake. Partially right. It has a similar title and has smart monkeys in it.

Unfortunately it really is an awful movie with every single one of the limited good bits featuring heavily in every advert I saw.

I found the lead “monkey” so annoying that I actually found myself routing for the humans pretty much from the outset and was more than happy seeing him put in his place in the ape centre. Though this may in part be due to the fact that he bit off Rodney McKays finger (apologies for the Stargate: Atlantis reference there everybody).

Anyway one to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good, 5 Feb 2012
The human acting is terrible, as well as cliché. There is literally about forty minutes in to total where nothing is said, and you are looking at a monkey reading his expressions. All this is building up for the final scene. The film draws you through emotions of sympathy and understanding, then you praise the monkey for his courageous and valiant efforts of mercy.

There is actually no substance to this film. It relies heavily on the idea that it wishes to present. That idea being, the magnificent transformation from monkey to brainy monkey! Running you through all the emotions that humans go through, without actually presenting them in any manner that is genuinely felt by the viewer. The character and viewer relationship is shallow, and you are are just meant to care about the monkey from the start - No questions asked!

It might be the fact that it is very easy to tell that the monkey is CGI. Either way, I felt nothing for the monkey's endeavour. And the monkey seems to be the main focus of this film and therefore it is a bad film. In my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rise of the Planet of the Apes Blue Ray, 3 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Planet of the Apes - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Excellent. DVD arrived promptly and was well packaged. I was kept informed throughout each stage of the transaction and would definitley order again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 125 26 2731 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rise of the Planet of the Apes - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) [Region Free]
7.50
Usually dispatched within 6 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews