Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2-D or not 2-D
It seems out of character for a Gorillaz album to materialise so soon after its predecessor. There was a four year gap between the 'self-titled' album and 'Demon Days' and five years between that and 'Plastic Beach'. So many of us are still digesting Plastic Beach and 'pop' there's a new album. The reason being, 'The Fall' is not really a conventional album in the true...
Published on 18 April 2011 by rik wharfe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not Gorillaz
I recently brought this album very hesitantly as after hearing Phoner To Arzona I was not impressed.
The album is a good listen but it is not like other Gorillaz work and is a very experimental album. It sounds more like a movie score that an album, neither the less it was a good album.

Although I was not impressed with the packaging, it comes in a...
Published on 21 July 2012 by Damo Darby


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2-D or not 2-D, 18 April 2011
This review is from: The Fall (Audio CD)
It seems out of character for a Gorillaz album to materialise so soon after its predecessor. There was a four year gap between the 'self-titled' album and 'Demon Days' and five years between that and 'Plastic Beach'. So many of us are still digesting Plastic Beach and 'pop' there's a new album. The reason being, 'The Fall' is not really a conventional album in the true sense of the word. What Albarn has essentially done is produced an almost solo effort "recorded between Montreal and Vancouver over 32 days last autumn in North America". The album has been completely created on an iPad using various applications.

So off the bat this is worlds apart from what was experienced with 'Plastic Beach'. The album is far, far more relaxed and effortless to listen to. It could easily fall into the category of 'easy listening'. It's an interesting concept. The album feels like a stream of musing and influence by a musician, it feels buoyant and unrestrained, there is no over-exertion and no hint of any track being contrived and over thought. It is dream like, you can almost anticipate that curious loneliness, tumble weed-curiosity; being somewhere else intrigued by a different culture. The more you listen to it the more it feels like the album is capturing steps of a journey; effectively a diary. The album is a series of auditory reflections, it feels as if Albarn is using music in the way most people would write a conventional day-to-day diary.

What Albarn has done takes gumption by the barrel load. It will be met with criticism I don't doubt. However looking back the initial intention of forming the Gorillaz as a band was to create something entertaining that cuts through a lot of unnecessary nonsense the music industry is plagued by and Albarn is doing just that. There is no conformation present and he is not bowing with the stress induced weight that success can bring. The album is consistent, solid, humble and a true reflection of how sharp a songwriter Albarn can be.

Don't get me wrong you won't find any 'Clint Eastwood's' or 'Dare's' on the album, that's not the direction the album has taken. But it is solid and it is consistent. The beauty of the album is that its deeper appeal is something set to slow release, it will work its way in slowly. 'Joplin Spider' is brilliant and 'Revolving Doors' is one of the highlights of the album. You will find yourself singing "Revolving door in London to a foggy day in Boston" on loop for a very long time, it's ferociously addictive.

All in all there is far less pressure involved, it is not as epic, it is simply Albarn doing what Albarn does best. Through the guise of 2-D Albarn gives us a pre-cursory hint "the Fall is mostly just me...something more gentle and just...well...it's just me and an iPad really mucking about...trying out some stuff. Just looking at America and then tapping on the screen...I'm not really concentrating too hard on it". And that is exactly how it should be anticipated. Don't over expect and you will be pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laid Back Tour Diary, 27 April 2011
By 
Alistair Peck "Eddie Squidd" (A cosy corner of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fall (Audio CD)
Don't expect this to be the full bells-and-whistles extravaganza of a full Gorillaz album release. It makes more sense to compare it to the D-Sides and G-Sides collections in feel because it is a disparate collection of short songs and musical sketches that are relatively unpolished rather than designed for chart success. It is a mini album really, weighing in at only 43 minutes despite the 15 tracks.

Recorded on iPads as a series of reflections on touring and places visited on the way, it actually makes a surprisingly coherent whole. Even though the order of the tracks was dictated purely by the order that the songs were written and recorded, the sequencing is nevertheless very effective, and often tracks segue into each other seamlessly as the album shifts scenes and moods. The obvious standout tracks for me are Revolving Doors, which is furiously addictive and always leaves you wanting more after it's finished, and Amarillo, a glorious shimmering roman candle of a song. But there are plenty of other standouts: The Joplin Spider, HillBilly Man, Shy-Town, Aspen Forest and many others. In fact only two tracks seem surplus to requirements, The Speak it Mountains and Seattle Yodel, which are perhaps a noodle too far.

Over all then, a collection of mood pieces and scenes interspersed with a some really fine songs, this is a sunny laid back road trip of an album. It's a tribute too to Damon Albarn's inspiration and output, these songs were all written and recorded no more than a couple of days apart in the space of a few weeks, something I can't imagine anyone else doing these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just a road trip, and that's great, 25 April 2011
This review is from: The Fall (MP3 Download)
Hey, stop treating this as a traditional 'album'. It's not just a collection of individual tracks put in some order, it's a road trip. You know road movies? You don't pull out individual scenes (though there may be good ones that stand alone). You relax and sink in to the whole journey. Do that with this album. Relax, listen, switch off criticism for a while, and just soak in the sounds of a journey. It's great! Not the best album ever laid down, but worth listening to many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the bad reviews - this is great, 5 May 2011
By 
John Basham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fall (Audio CD)
I don't know what software Damon has on his iPad, but it's definitely better than mine - and Garageband wasn't out when this was recorded!

It's not the software anyway (just like owning a nice Stratocaster doesn't turn you into a good guitarist) - it's the inventiveness and creativity - in Damon's case, the almost constant stream of it - that floors you. Always has. I'm personally really happy to have been able to hear the audio diary of one of this age's greatest musical talents on a major world tour (which I imagine must be pretty exhausting in itself). Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Fall - Gorillaz, 30 May 2011
This review is from: The Fall (Audio CD)
Really glad I bought this album, but am a big Damon fan so I may be a little biased. I cannot fault its musical content although it perhaps lacks some of the depth of Plastic Beach. Lovely stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not Gorillaz, 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall (Audio CD)
I recently brought this album very hesitantly as after hearing Phoner To Arzona I was not impressed.
The album is a good listen but it is not like other Gorillaz work and is a very experimental album. It sounds more like a movie score that an album, neither the less it was a good album.

Although I was not impressed with the packaging, it comes in a cardboard case which is bent very easily and it does not contain a booklet at all which is very displeasing.

- Music 6/10 Good, but not the Gorillaz we all know and love
- Product 4/10 Enjoyed the artwork but the rest is quite bland and the lack of booklet lets it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tpically good Gorillaz, 14 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: The Fall (Audio CD)
I don't suppose there is much to add that others haven't commented on already. So, to summarise, classic Gorrillaz, both chilled and electic sound with the odd gem.
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so sure about this one, 8 Jun 2011
By 
GDM (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fall (Audio CD)
As a long-standing Gorillaz fan, I felt that this one was not up to the normal standard. Whilst re-invention is a key part of the Gorillaz appeal, this seems to have gone a little too far left-field. It will probably not get much air time in my house or car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a grower, 24 May 2011
By 
I. Le-luan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fall (Audio CD)
I was bitterly disappointed when I first heard this album. However, was it fair of me to expect it to be a carbon copy of albums past? After a few listens, I think it's not a bad album at all, great background music or for in the car. If you're new to the Gorillaz, visit the earlier stuff first, but for anyone else, this album is well worth the price and is another interesting aspect of the Gorillaz' evolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall (Audio CD)
very good thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fall
The Fall by Gorillaz
Buy MP3 Album£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews