Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great live bonus disc, 5 Dec 2006
By 
Macca "Macca" (Swindon, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of The Blues (Audio CD)
This is a superior "best of" album, and you should get it for the bonus Live disc 2, capturing Gary on the Still Got the Blues and After Hours tours in the early 90s.

The live disc features a tremendous performance of Stormy Monday with Albert King, and the performances of Texas Strut, Moving On, Still Got the Blues and Midnight Blues are superior to the original album versions.

Great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth getting for the bonus CD, 6 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of The Blues (Audio CD)
This compilation of Gary Moore's blues albums from the 90s (excluding the recent Back to the Blues) offers a good reflection of his output over this period. It is therefore a perfectly good introduction to his blues work.
For those who have already bought these albums, the main reason to buy is the bonus CD of live material. The collaborations with BBK and Albert King and Albert Collins have been taken from two live videos Moore released in the 90s and, as such, emphasise the development in his playing over 3-4 years. The earlier work with Albert King and Collins shows Moore struggling to free himself from some hard rock excesses (don't get me wrong - these are still fine performances). The later and excellent Thrill is Gone with BB King illustrates how far Moore developed over a few years with much greater restraint being shown (while still being an extremely enjoyable performance).
My recommendation is therefore to buy purely on the strength of the bonus disk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gary at his Blues Best, 24 Mar 2003
This review is from: The Best of The Blues (Audio CD)
Generally I'm not a compilation fan, but this is an excellent album for sticking in the car and driving with it at a good volume. Definitely not a chill out album!
Gary Moore consistently shows excellent technique and mastery of his chosen axe... Disc 1 is predominantly a studio CD with excellent track selections and coalitions with the blues greats along with Gary's own blues classics and the prerequisite hommage to the great Peter Green, The Supernatural. Disc 2 is labelled a Bonus Disc, and should be viewed as such. The stand out track for me, out of the mainly live track selection, is the Freddie King/ Peter Green popularised classic, The Stumble. Some of the other tracks make up for in atmosphere for what they slightly lack in 'tightness'. This is the only reason it lost a star in this reviewers opinion.
All in all I thoroughly recommend this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational blues guitar playing, 21 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of The Blues (Audio CD)
This is probably his finest album yet. It has more depth to it than previous albums because he has taken the energy from the rock albums and the feelings of the blues albums to produce a masterpiece. There's nothing better than jamming along with Movin' On (if you play the guitar!) and Stop Messin' Around. There's a brilliant version of the Thrill Is Gone with BB King and an extended lead guitar solo on the live Still Got The Blues track that re-defines the term 'blues guitar solo'.
I can't stop listening to this album, so I say go ahead and listen to it too, as much as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gary Moore is at his best, 7 Feb 2002
By 
Mr. Ron D. Innes "rinnes1" (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of The Blues (Audio CD)
This album is Gary Moore at his very best. The variety of tracks from the raunchy to the chilled out are superbly played. This is what Blues is all about, tight, crisp, great guitar riffs. Now if only we could get Gary and Clapton together......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blues is best, 3 Oct 2003
This review is from: The Best of The Blues (Audio CD)
This cd covers some great aggresive playing, as we would expect from Gary, The old Les Paul really does the job. All guitar addicts will appreciate the fabulous tone, particularly on the rework of Fleetwood Mac's 'Stop Messin' Around' - complete with the stand alone tone of Peter Green's old Les Paul, It's got to be for Gary to produce 'that' tone. To be brief, this is Gary Moor playing blues as only he can, there's too many tracks to review individually. But if you like guitar playing with an edge, and your into the blues, this is one that can't be missed. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Blues Rock Album, 18 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of The Blues (Audio CD)
Back in the early 1990s Gary Moore shook off the heavy metal rock jacket he wore on albums like Wild Frontier, Run For Cover, After the War etc and embarked on a journey into the blues genre. I was lucky enough to see the opening live concert he gave with the Midnight Blues Band at the Apollo(then Odeon) Hammersmith.Guest artists included the great Albert King and Albert Collins.I will never forget how much I enjoyed the vigour and excitement of this wondeful concert performance. Thankfully these London concerts and others on the tour spawned some great VHS recordings which sadly never reached DVD format but we live in hope they will be re released in this format soon.If you have never heard Gary Moore as a guitarist then you are in for an absolute treat. This double CD album at a real budget price makes compulsive listening and you will wonder why you never got more into Gary Moore before.It captures Moore at the absolute peak of his vocal and guitar playing powers. It does not come much better than this and this CD issue sets a very high standard in blues rock music...the studio recordings are tight as a drum amd the live performances especially with King and Collins are to die for. The quality of lead guitar playing is truly exceptional. Whatever your girlfriend or wife says to you..ignore it...and just play this album as loud as you can!! This is definitely a great CD set for those long journeys in the car BUT please no air guitar while you are driving!!!Enjoy enjoy enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars electric blues at its best, 18 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've never been a particular fan of Gary Moore.Familiar with only his more well known work & liking it.His albums have always seemed patchy at best to me. So I'm delighted to have come across this collection which which is surely the best it could be. A real treat for lovers of electric blues.Not a dud track on the album, & some tracks worth the very reasonable album price on their own.Buy a copy;what's to loose? Only one tiny complaint, 'Red House' isn't on the album (see it live on the 'Strat Pack' DVD. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All wheat, no chaff,, 5 July 2010
This review is from: The Best of The Blues (Audio CD)
Thunder, lightning and calmer passages: The virtuoso guitarist turns his back on rock guitar and returns to his true love, the blues. Based around his 4 early-90s albums (Still Got The Blues, After Hours, Blues Alive and Blues For Greeny) this is the killer Moore blues album that you need. All wheat, no chaff, there are guest-spots by Albert King, B.B. King and Albert Collins, plus the essential Still Got The Blues and the definitive live recording of "Parisienne Walkways" which has one of the all time great solos in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Catching up, 24 Dec 2009
By 
Terence Bowen (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of The Blues (Audio CD)
Typical me, only 20 years behind the times. I have only just realised just how fine a guitarist Gary Moore is. This album is absolutely brilliant both for Gary's solo playing and for the tracks which he shares with other artists.
Why are you wasting your time reading this drivel, just buy this album and listen to it and you'll understand what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of The Blues
The Best Of The Blues by Gary Moore
Buy MP3 Album£10.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews