Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fit well thought out case
Not a lot to say other than that all the holes are cut in the right places and the case fits the Xoom perfectly. The material has a soft rubbery feel to it and actually feels nice in the hand. Good to note that if you buy this with the standard charging dock the Xoom will fit on the dock even with the case installed. Nice.
Published on 2 May 2011 by Andreas Iacovou

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alright but could fit a little beter around the ports.
I bought this product from Amazon as it was half the price of Carphone Warehouse. It fits well enough but is a little loose around the charging/usb ports where the material is cut away for access. I'm not sure if another unit would be any different as I've found this to be the same with previous Gel/Silicon Cases for phones etc. I only really use it when I'm out & about,...
Published on 12 Jun. 2011 by ManicSeaMonkey


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fit well thought out case, 2 May 2011
By 
Andreas Iacovou (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genuine Motorola Protective Gel Case for Xoom - Black (Personal Computers)
Not a lot to say other than that all the holes are cut in the right places and the case fits the Xoom perfectly. The material has a soft rubbery feel to it and actually feels nice in the hand. Good to note that if you buy this with the standard charging dock the Xoom will fit on the dock even with the case installed. Nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect fit, and (with my advice) you can STILL fit it into the dock!, 10 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genuine Motorola Protective Gel Case for Xoom - Black (Personal Computers)
First of all, the few reviews I have noticed here complaining that the case is not a good fit for the Xoom are either misinformed, or they have not used their brain when fitting it.

The trick to getting this case to fit snugly around your Xoom is to insert the left-hand side (with the volume controls) into the case first, then gradually raise the lips of the top and bottom of the gel case around the Xoom until you reach the other side. A little finesse on the corners will quickly avoid what I've come to call "undertuck" (where the lip tucks under around the corners), and before you know it... one snug fit around your beloved Xoom.

The case does indeed have a rubbery feel to it, which certainly improves the grip.

The elevation it provides between the camera lense and whatever surface you place your Xoom on can provide much-needed protection against scratches (which, of course, would diminish the picture quality)

Now for the part most people don't realize...

HOW TO FIT YOUR XOOM (WITH THE GEL CASE FITTED) INTO THE OFFICIAL DOCK

This really couldn't be more simple...
All you need to do is remove the interchangeable plastic plate (designed to allow you to choose a plate suited to your preferred tilt angle), and your Gel-case fitted Xoom will fit perfectly on the dock.
Obviously you should note that, with the plastic plate removed, the white dot indicating alignment with your Xoom is no longer available, so it does make alignment a little more tricky, but a small price to pay if you wish to dock it whilst in the case.

Of course, this case is remarkably easy to fit and remove, so it is not entirely necessary to want to dock with the case fitted. The one benefit of having the case fitted whilst docked is that, should you wish to quickly remove your Xoom from the dock and take it with you, you don't need to spend the extra ~30 seconds refitting the case.

This is an essential purchase for all Xoom owners, in my humble opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fits the xoom nicely, 16 May 2011
This review is from: Genuine Motorola Protective Gel Case for Xoom - Black (Personal Computers)
This cover fits much better than the third party gel cover I initially bought. It's made of a slightly less flexible plastic so it doesn't slide off, it also covers less of the bezel so looks neater.

In all it makes the device more comfortable to use as it rounds the sharp edges and it's grippy meaning it doesn't feel like the device is going to slip out of your hands. IMO Motorola should include one of these with every tablet surely they can affford to bundle a bit of plastic with a five hundred quid tablet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motorola Xoom case., 20 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genuine Motorola Protective Gel Case for Xoom - Black (Personal Computers)
"Fits like a glove", All the cut outs are in the correct place regarding the camera lens, micro Usb etc. The rubber case makes it that bit easier to hold or prop up but you don't loose that tablet feel like you do with most leather cases, these tend to make tablets alot thicker and heavier. Not to mention it protects the back and sides of the tablet from bumps and scratches which do occur over time.

100% pleased with the case, would I recommend to a friend - Yes.

One review did advise to put the tablet in the case from one side and work your way round, this gives you a good snug fit around the tablet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's ok for a while, 25 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Genuine Motorola Protective Gel Case for Xoom - Black (Personal Computers)
I've had this case on my Xoom for 5 months and carry it around in my bag all the time. It is a good fit, with holes cut in the right place and a nice rubbery finish which means you dont have to worry about where you put it down and its handy for propping it up against things.

However, after 5 months the matte finish is rubbing off the case leaving a slightly tacky feeling shiny finish and the case also stretches over time. So now it is visibly worn at all the edges and no longer fits particularly well. Disappointing for an official case and given the price I would have expected it to last longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fit, good protection for your Xoom, 16 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Genuine Motorola Protective Gel Case for Xoom - Black (Personal Computers)
Bought this to protect the Xoom tablet for use in the house.

It fits snugley and protects the rear and sides of the unit without introducting too much bulk. Great so that you can place on any surface without the worry of scratching your pride and joy.

Doesn't protect the screen, so not really any use if you want to throw into a bag with other sharp/hard items. But its not designed for this.

The only negative thing I could say is the huge amount of packaging Motorola put around the product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alright but could fit a little beter around the ports., 12 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Genuine Motorola Protective Gel Case for Xoom - Black (Personal Computers)
I bought this product from Amazon as it was half the price of Carphone Warehouse. It fits well enough but is a little loose around the charging/usb ports where the material is cut away for access. I'm not sure if another unit would be any different as I've found this to be the same with previous Gel/Silicon Cases for phones etc. I only really use it when I'm out & about, it provides adequate protection from general bumps and knocks. When at home my Xoom is either in it's dock or left on the sofa (when not being used) so the case is not really required. The standard dock has a spare adaptor for use with the case but the loose material around the ports hinders docking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good case - Worth buying!, 8 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genuine Motorola Protective Gel Case for Xoom - Black (Personal Computers)
Had this case for a month or so now.
The case (or cover) is exactly as you would expect.
It wraps around the back of the Xoom perfectly, accounting for the slight curvature along the back of the tablet. All ports are accounted for, as well as the camera, speakers and power button. The volume controls are covered, but raised bumps along the edge of this cover allow you to easily locate and use them.
The overall feel of the case is a grippy rubber - exactly what you imagine when you think "Gel case", and feels really nice and solid in the hand.
My only downside for the case is that it's more of a dust magnet then the Xoom is with fingerprints. Leave it on the side for a few hours, and you could spend hours trying to get the dust off. Thankfully, all you need to do is take the case off, wipe it over with a wet cloth and the dust is gone in seconds; the texture also means it dries as quickly.
Overall this does everything you expect, performs very well and looks great; all at a great price. The case will do enough to prevent scratches and small bumps/drops, but I would suggest that if you're looking for something for traveling around with, then you would be better off looking at something which covers the whole tablet securely.
Well done Motorola!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't quite fit, 30 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genuine Motorola Protective Gel Case for Xoom - Black (Personal Computers)
As this is the genuine Motorola gel case I really expected a better fit. It sits poorly over the volume controls. The case always feels like its going to peel off and needs constant adjustment. Not good enough really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny!, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genuine Motorola Protective Gel Case for Xoom - Black (Personal Computers)
Not an expensive item, and at the price it is excellent value. Works well, fits properly, no problems at all. If you have a Xoom, you most likely do need one of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews